Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

RefWorks 

Last update: Sep 03rd, 2008 URL: http://guides.library.yale.edu/refworks  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Importing Citations             Print Page
  
 

Building your RefWorks library

You can easily move citations from research databases to RefWorks with save or direct export. This is true for popular databases:

 

  • JSTOR
  • Academic Search
  • WorldCat
  • Orbis and Yufind (no direct export) 
  • Scopus 
  • Web of Science ((no direct export))

 

 
 

Importing References from Research Databases

There are four ways to import references into your RefWorks personal library:

  1. Use a Direct Export from the research database. This will automatically launch RefWorks and store the citations in your Last Imported folder. Direct export functionality is available from several database providers, specifically ABC-CLIO, CSA, EBSCOhost, OCLC, and LexisNexis Academic.

  2. Save the citations to import later into RefWorks. You must save the citations in the correct format in a text file, and later import the citations into RefWorks. This option is available from most research databases.

  3. Launch a Direct Connection from within RefWorks to the research database. Available only for Orbis (Yale University Library catalog) and PubMed.

  4. Create the RefWorks citation by cutting and pasting or typing text by hand. This is labor intensive and prone to error. Only recommended for those citations and databases where the options above are not available to you.
 

Importing Records from Orbis

  1. In Orbis, do a search and go to Save Options at the bottom of the screen.

  2. Select the download format "Full Format" from the pull down menu and click on Print/Save.

  3. From your Web browser's File menu, select Save As... and save the file.

  4. Within RefWorks: From the References menu, select Import.

  5. Use the following settings: for Import Filter/Data Source choose "Yale University"; for Database choose "Yale Library Orbis". Browse for the saved file from Orbis. For Encoding choose "UTF-8."

  6. Click the Import button.

 

Usability and Assessment Research Assistant

Profile ImageAlice Peterson-Hart
Contact Info:
SML 609
(203) 432-8376
Send Email

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait