NewspapersArchives & ManuscriptsBooks & Other SourcesImagesFilms & AudioGovernment Publications
Journal Articles in databasesBooks in Library catalogsDissertationsBook Reviews
StatisticsMapsBibliographiesHistories & ChronologiesDictionariesEncyclopediasBiographical Sources
About Searching by SubjectHistorical List of Archives and Microfilm Collections
This is the "Home" page of the "European History" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

European History  

A guide to researching European History topics.
Last Updated: Jun 3, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.yale.edu/europeanhistory Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Primary Sources

Newspapers

Tools to find European newspapers from the late 17th century through the present, including original print copies and electronic versions.

Archives & Manuscripts

Archival collections at Yale and directions for finding them at other institutions. Includes tips for locating them in their original format, as well as microfilm and digitized formats.

Books & Other Printed Sources

How to find books, pamphlets, posters, magazines and other printed primary sources in European history.

Images

How to find images including photographs, illustrations and artwork.

Films & Audio

Ways to locate films, archival footage, radio programs, music and other audio-visual sources.

Government Documents

Publications of European governments from the early modern period to the present.

 

Secondary Sources

Journal Articles
How to find journal articles related to European History.

Books

Tips for finding books related to European History (including electronic versions) at Yale and in other libraries around the world.

Dissertations

How to find dissertations.

Book Reviews

Where to find book reviews, both for academic books and for general literature published from 1900-present.

 

Statistics, Maps, Reference, etc.

Statistics

Sources of demographic, economic and other statistics related to European history.

Maps

Historical and modern sources for European maps.

Bibliographies

Where to find in-depth listings of sources within specific genres or on particular topics, e.g., popular novels of the 19th century, books on the coffee or tea trade, or books about America published in Europe.

Chronologies & General Histories
Timelines, day-by-day or year-by-year chronologies, and general histories related to Europe.

Dictionaries

How to find standard, slang, business, etc. dictionaries.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedias of short articles related to topics in European history.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Michael Printy
Contact Info
Office Location:
SML Room 226
(203) 436-9215
Sterling Memorial Library
Send Email
 

Research Handbooks

Cover Art
The Craft of Research - Booth, Colomb, Williams
ISBN: 0226065669
This book walks you through all the steps for writing research papers in the humanities. Chapter 3 gives advice on how formulate a research topic (ie. turn an interest into a problem/question). The link above takes you to an e-book version of the 2nd edition.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip