Rare Books and ManuscriptsPrints and DrawingsWatercolorsWatermarksPhotography
Artists' MaterialsNew Media
HSAR 403HSAR 466ART 524
Stone, Ceramics, Metals, Glass and PlasticsFurniture and FramesTextiles
This is the "Introduction" page of the "Technical Art History and Conservation Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Technical Art History and Conservation Research   Tags: art, art conservation, art_history, artists materials, conservation, technical art history  

Last Updated: Mar 26, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.yale.edu/conservation Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Introduction Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

New Acquisitions

Cover Art
Practical Building Conservation - English Heritage Staff
Call Number: NA105 .P73 2013, Conservation
ISBN: 9780754645511
Publication Date: 2013

Cover Art
Climate for Collections - Jonathan Ashley-Smith (Editor); Andreas Burmester (Editor); Melanie Eibl (Editor)
Call Number: TH6057.M87 C55 2013, Conservation
ISBN: 9781909492004
Publication Date: 2013

Cover Art
Adhesives and Consolidants in Painting Conservation
Call Number: ND1640 A28 2012, Conservation
ISBN: 9781904982883
Publication Date: 2013



 

About This Guide


Tilly Kettle, Dancing Girl 1772, and X-Ray of painting

Looking for Research on... ?  

Paper and Photography Objects Databases and Articles
Rare Books and Manuscripts Stone, Ceramics, Metals, Glass and Plastics Print Resources
Prints and Drawings Furniture and Frames Online Resources
Watercolors Textiles Research Strategies
Watermarks Special Materials Courses
Photography

Artists' Materials

Painting New Media

This guide has been created to assist with research in the fields of art conservation and technical art history. It has been organized according to material type and resource type, with more specific materials and resources provided in sub-pages. Additional pages feature selected online and print resources, databases, and research strategies that are useful when conducting research in this field. It is important to remember that art conservation and technical art history often require cross-disciplinary approaches to research, so many resources provided on one page will also be relevant for mediums and topics found throughout this guide. 

 

Who We Are

Kraig Binkowski
Chief Librarian, Reference Library and Archives

Beth Morris
Assistant Librarian, Reference Library and Archives

The Reference Library and Archives are located on the second floor of the Center, 1080 Chapel Street. We are open to the public and an appointment is not needed to use the collections. The Library is non-circulating and holds materials in a variety of formats supporting the study of British art and culture, with a focus on British art of the 17th century to the present and is ideally positioned to facilitate research in British history of art.

The Reference Collections are now accessible alongside the art collections of the Center. From the Center's newly designed website, the all collection search function brings relevant reference materials together with works of art from the collection. Additionally, the entire holdings of the Reference Library are represented in Orbis, Yale's online catalogue. In this manner, the Reference Library collections can be accessed in relation to the wide breadth of all the library collections at Yale.

The Yale Center for British Art Reference Library has developed a specialized group of resources focused specifically on technical art history and conservation. The Conservation Collection is housed on the second floor (ranges 19-21) of the Reference Library and Archives and consists of monographs and serials related to art conservation, technical art history, preservation and museum studies. Orbis records will indicate materials are in Conservation within the location field [ex. BRITISH ART CENTER, Reference Lib., Conservation (Non-Circ)]. All materials listed in this guide that are located in the conservation section include 'Conservation' at the end of the call number. All resources provided can be located at the YCBA Reference Library and Archives, unless otherwise noted.  

 

AIC News Blog

Loading Loading...
blank padding

Hello!

Profile Image
Yale Center for British Art YCBA
Contact Info
Reference Library and Archives
1080 Chapel Street
(203) 432-2818
Send Email

Assistant Librarian

Chief Librarian

Profile Image
Kraig Binkowski
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip