Collection Highlights
Ben Nicholson, 1938 (Composition), 1938, Gouache on board, Yale Center for British Art, Paul Mellon Collection
Walter Sickert, Camden Town Murder, ca. 1908, oil on canvas, Yale Center for British Art, Paul Mellon Fund
YCBA Paintings and Sculpture Department
The Department of Paintings and Sculpture is responsible for a collection of approximately 2,000 paintings and 200 sculptures. Particularly strong in the period from 1700–1850, the collection ranges from a medieval Nottingham alabaster to works by contemporary artists. Thanks to the special interests of founder Paul Mellon, the Center also has one of the greatest collections of British sporting and animal paintings in the world.
The Center's entire collection of paintings and sculpture is now searchable on the Center's website. The online catalogue provides standard object information, as well as unrestricted access to publication-quality images for all objects in the public domain. Additionally, a growing number of object records also provide specific bibliographies for individual objects and are featured in the Publications section of each object record. Object bibliographies will provide users with list of references that can be accessed directly from resources found throughout Yale.
Contact the Department
Department of Paintings and Sculpture
Yale Center for British Art
1080 Chapel Street
P.O. Box 208280
New Haven, CT 06520-8280
+1 203 432 2844
+1 203 432 4538 fax
ycba.paintings@yale.edu
+1 203 432 4538 fax
ycba.paintings@yale.edu
To find information about Objects in the Paintings and Sculpture Collection
YCBA Paintings and Sculpture Collection online: Browsable online database that includes basic information on each object in the collection.
YCBA Object Bibliographies: The YCBA Reference Library has created bibliographies for many of the works in the collection, which are now accessible through the online database. For further information, inquire at the YCBA Reference desk (203) 432-2818, or ycba.reference@yale.edu
YCBA Paintings and Sculpture Collection online: Browsable online database that includes basic information on each object in the collection.
YCBA Object Bibliographies: The YCBA Reference Library has created bibliographies for many of the works in the collection, which are now accessible through the online database. For further information, inquire at the YCBA Reference desk (203) 432-2818, or ycba.reference@yale.edu
YCBA Printed publications: The YCBA Reference Library holds a complete collection of the Center's exhibition and collection catalogues dating from 1977 to today. Most of these publications include objects from YCBA collections. To see a listing of these publications in ORBIS, search for "Yale Center for British Art" as a keyword phrase in the "Publisher" field.
Examples:
McCaughey, Patrick. George Stubbs in the collection of Paul Mellon : A Memorial Exhibition , YCBA, 1999.
Warner, Malcolm. This Other Eden: Paintings from the Yale Center for British Art, YCBA, 1998.
Egerton, Judy. British Sporting and Animal Paintings: The Paul Mellon Collection, Tate Gallery, 1978.
McCaughey, Patrick. George Stubbs in the collection of Paul Mellon : A Memorial Exhibition , YCBA, 1999.
Warner, Malcolm. This Other Eden: Paintings from the Yale Center for British Art, YCBA, 1998.
Egerton, Judy. British Sporting and Animal Paintings: The Paul Mellon Collection, Tate Gallery, 1978.
Catalogue Raisonnés: The YCBA Reference Library collects catalogue raisonnés and exhibition catalogues devoted to artists in the Center's collections. Many of the objects in the YCBA collections can be found in these publications.