Bibliographies of the 16th, 17th, and 18th centuriesBibliographies of the 19th and 20th centuriesBibliographies of the Middle AgesBiographyDissertationsGeneral Bibliographies of French LiteratureGuides to Archives and Manuscript CollectionsGuides to Reference Works and BibliographiesLanguage DidctionariesLiterary Encyclopedias and HandbooksLiterary HistoriesPeriodical Indexes
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

French Language and Literature 

Internet Resources for French Language and Literature
Last update: Oct 20th, 2008 URL: http://guides.library.yale.edu/french  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Guides to Reference Works and Bibliographies             Print Page
  
 

General Guides

  1. Besterman, Theodore. A World Bibliography of Bibliographies... 4th ed. 5 vols. Lausanne: Societas Bibliographica, 1965-66.
    SML Reference Z1002 +B47 1965 (LC)
    A comprehensive, international catalog of separately published bibliographies on a vast array of topics, arranged alphabetically by subject. The index (Volume 5) includes additional subjects not used as entry-terms, authors, and some titles. Bibliographies on French literature in general are listed in Volume 2, and those for individual French authors appear throughout the set.

  2. Bibliographic Index: A Cumulative Bibliography of Bibliographies. New York: Vol. 1 - (1937/42 - ).
    SML Reference Z1002 B53 (LC)
    An ongoing subject index to bibliographies published separately or appended to books and journal articles. Includes entries for French literature in general, for its various genres, for specific literary movements, and for individual authors. Appears quarterly and cumulates annually (and occasionally at longer intervals).

  3. Gray, Richard A. and Villmow, Dorothy. Serial Bibliographies in the Humanities and Social Sciences. Ann Arbor: Pierian Press, 1969.
    SML Reference Z1002 G73 (LC)
    A classified catalog of selected, serially published bibliographies in a variety of fields, including many elusive lists which appear regularly in scholarly journals. Entries are arranged by Dewey class number are indexed by author, title, sponsoring body and subject/key-word-in-context. Includes a respectable number of bibliographies devoted to French language and literature.

  4. Guide to Reference Books. 11th ed. Chicago: American Library Association, 1996.
    SML Reference Z1035 G85 (LC) - Latest edition at reference desk.
    A selective, annotated bibliography of reference books in many languages, arranged in five broad categories: (1) General Reference Works; (2) The Humanities (including French literature); (3) Social Sciences; (4) History and Area Studies; (5) Pure and Applied Sciences. The section for French literature lists guides, bibliographies for various periods, literary and biographical dictionaries, literary histories, and reference tools for specific genres and authors. The index includes authors, subjects, and titles.

  5. Malclès, Louise Noelle. Les Sources du Travail Bibliographique. 3 vols. in 4. Geneva: E. Droz, 1950-58.
    SML Reference Z1002 M35 (LC)
    A painstaking guide to the major categories of reference tools and their principal exemplars, with introductory notes for each chapter and full annotations for most entries. Emphasizes French and other European sources. Volume 1 covers general reference books (bibliographies, library catalogs, encyclopedias, etc.), Volume 2 the specialized tools for the humanities and social sciences, and Volume 3 those for exact science and technology. Volume 2 includes a generous chapter devoted to "Langue et Littérature Française."
 

Guides to French Studies

  1. Bassan, Fernande et al. An Annotated Bibliography of French Language and Literature. New York: Garland, 1989.
    SML Reference Z2175 A2 B39X 1989 (LC)
    An overstuffed catalog of research tools for French studies. Part 1 presents a barrage of general bibliographies and reference works, including encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographical sources, and reprint series. Part 2 lists linguistic reference tools and general studies of the French language. Part 3 covers literature, describing bibliographies, anthologies, surveys, reference books, genre studies, and background works for the major periods of French literature proper and for numerous literatures of French expression outside France. Annotations are generous in Part 1 and sketchier in Parts 2 and 3. The index includes authors and titles, and the detailed table of contents provides access to specific subjects.

  2. Beugnot, Bernard. Manuel bibliographique des études littéraires: les bases de l'histoire littéraire, les voies nouvelles d'analyse critique. [Paris]: Nathan, c1982.
    SML Reference Z6511 B48 1982 (LC)
    A bibliographic guide for the graduate student of French literature. Treats the basic tools of literary research, the principal areas of research (including the relationships of literature and the arts, psychoanalysis, sociology, etc.), and new trends in literary research (including French literature outside France). [Balay BE1128]

  3. Cordiè, Carlo. Avviamento allo Studio della Lingua e della Letteratura Francese. Milan: C. Marzorati, 1955.
    SML Reference Z2171 C67 (LC)
    An ample guide to the older scholarship and tools for scholarship, useful for the running commentary in which the references are embedded. Part 1 covers general bibliographies and reference works, and linguistics. Part 2 contains chapters for each period of French literature, with subsections for individual authors, including many minor figures. The index includes authors, critics, characters, themes, and some titles.

  4. Langlois, Pierre. Guide Bibliographique des Études Littéraires, 3rd ed. Paris: Hachette, 1965.
    SML Reference Z2171 L35 1965 (LC)
    A basic bibliographic survey for teachers and students. Part 1 contains chapters on the various periods of French literature from the Middle Ages to the nineteenth century and an introductory background section on classical antiquity. Each chapter lists some standard works on the history, culture, language, and literary theory of the period covered and the principal editions, bibliographies, and secondary studies of its major authors. Part 2 lists and describes tools for linguistic studies, general bibliographies, literary histories, series of standard literary texts, literary recordings, and specialized periodicals. An appendix lists major non-French contributions to the topics covered in Part 1. Indexed by name, title, and subject.

  5. Mahaffey, Denis. A Concise Bibliography of French Literature. London: Bowker, 1975.
    SML Reference Z2171 M33 (LC)
    An unadorned introductory bibliography of French literature and literary scholarship. The first section lists major bibliographies, reference books, background and critical studies, and anthologies for French literature as a whole and for each of its periods. The second section treats individual authors, grouped chronologically, listing for each bibliographies, collected and selected works in French and in English translation, individual works, journals and letters, and selected critical studies.

  6. Osburn, Charles B., comp. The Present State of French Studies: A Collection of Research Reviews. Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow, 1971.
    SML Reference: PQ51 O82
    A collection of essays by specialists surveying research on some forty important topics in French literature from medieval to modern times. Appendix I contains supplementary bibliographic essays by the compiler, which update many of those in the body of the work. Appendix II provides a bibliography of additional research reviews. A useful introduction describes the network of basic bibliographic tools fro French literary studies.

  7. Osburn, Charles B. Research and Reference Guide to French Studies. 2nd Edition. Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow, 1981.
    SML Reference Z2175 A2 O82 1981 (LC)
    An unannotated, wide-ranging outline of research aids for French studies and related fields. Limited to bibliographies, reviews of research, reference works, and books and articles which include substantial bibliographies. Core sections on the principal periods of French literature have subdivisions for individual genres, themes, and authors and for background topics. Includes chapters on French philology, French literature outside France, allied disciplines like comparative literature and the performing arts, and general reference tools.

  8. Kempton, Richard. French literature: an annotated guide to selected bibliographies. New York, N.Y. : Modern Language Association of America, 1981.
    SML Reference Z2171 A1 C34 1981 (LC)
    An annotated "selected listing of major bibliographies on French literature, most of which can be found in the libraries of institutions where graduate instruction in French is offered." Introd. Indexed. [Balay BE1136.]

  9. Ronge, Peter. Studienbibliographie Französisch; Beitrage zur Bibliographischen Erschiessung der Franzö-sischen Philologie. 2 vols. Frankfurt: Anthenaum, 1971.
    SML Reference Z2175 A2 R65 (LC)
    An extremely thorough, annotated guide to reference books and basic scholarly works on French philology and literature. An introductory chapter contains a convenient table of the essential bibliographies for French studies. Chapter 1 lists introductions to French philology, research methods, and documentation; Chapter 2, general and specialized bibliographies; Chapter 3, reference books; Chapter 4, language dictionaries; Chapter 5 covers linguistics in general, Chapter 6, French linguistics in particular; Chapter 7, literary criticism and theory; Chapter 8, the teaching of language and literature; Chapter 9, anthologies and collections of texts; Chapter 1, series and periodicals. The intricate table of contents serves as a subject index.
 

Subject Specialist

Profile ImageJeffry Larson
Contact Info:
Office
Research Services and Collections
226 SML
130 Wall Street (side entrance)
120 High Street (front entrance)
Sterling Memorial Library, Yale University,
P.O. Box 208240, New Haven, CT 06520-8240
Send Email

Subjects:
Romance Languages and Literatures, Linguistics, Classics

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait