Retrospective Bibliographies
- A Critical Bibliography of French Literature. ed. by David Clark
Cabeen. 4 vols. + suppl. to Vol 4. Syracuse: Syracuse University Press, 1947-68.
- SML Reference Z2171 C33 (LC)
- v. 1. The medieval period / edited by Urban T. Holmes, Jr. -- v. 2. The sixteenth century / edited by Alexander H. Schutz -- v. 3. The seventeenth century / edited by Nathan Edelman -- v. 3A. The seventeenth century: supplement / edited by H. Gaston Hall -- v. 4. The eighteenth century / edited by George R. Havens, Donald F. Bond -- v. 4A. The eighteenth century: supplement / edited by Richard A. Brooks -- v. 5. The nineteenth century / edited by David Baguley. (2 v.) -- v. 6. The twentieth century / edited by Douglas W. Alden and Richard A. Brooks (3 v. A selective list of important editions and secondary studies, designed for students and scholars. Entries, which include books, articles, and dissertations, are graced with critical annotations by specialists and with references to reviews.
- Gelfand, Elissa D. French feminist criticism: women, language, and literature: an annotated bibliography. New York: Garland Pub., 1985.
- SML: HQ1386 G44 1985 (LC)
- Presents 555 items in two mains sections: (1) General problematics of feminist criticism, which includes comparative studies and works on feminist criticism in general; (2) French and Francophone voices, which lists works by and about individual critics. An appendix gives contents of special issues of journals; title and subject indexes. [Balay BE1133]
- Golden, Herbert Hershel and Simches, Seymour O. Modern French Literature and Language: A Bibliography of Homage Studies. Cambridge: Harvard University Press, 1953.
- SML: X566 953G
- A thorough index to the contents of 309 Festschriften devoted to French philology and literature from 1500 to the present. Section 1 provides a numbered catalogue of the collections analyzed; Section 2 lists articles in literary topics, arranged by century and subarranged topically; Section 3 indexes articles on France's intellectual and literary relations with other countries; Section 4 covers linguistic studies. The entry for each item cites the parent collection by number.
Superseded and extended by:
Griffin, Lloyd W. Modern French literature and language: a bibliography of homage studies. Madison: University of Wisconsin Press; Ann Arbor, Mich.: produced and distributed on demand by Xerox University Microfilms, 1976.- SML Reference Z2175 F45 G74 1976 (LC)
- Includes references to articles on French language and literature in some 588 homage volumes; a listing of the Festschriften is followed by a classified listing of the relevant contributions. Cutoff date is 1974 with some 1975 items. Name index with reference of authors of the articles analyzed and of literary authors. [Balay BE1134]
- Harvard University. Library. French Literature. 2 vols. Cambridge: Harvard University Press, 1973.
- SML Reference Z2189 +H37 (LC)
- A classified catalog of a rich French literature collection, listing primary and secondary works in the order in which they are arranged on the shelves of Widener Library. It includes an outline of the classification scheme; the shelf-list itself; a relisting of the items on the shelf-list in chronological order by publication date; and an author/title index. It provides a synopsis of the core texts for the various eras of French literary history and of the major books produced in any give year from 1500 to 1972.
- Lanson, Gustave. Bibliographie de la Littérature Française Moderne, XVIe, XVIIe, et XIXe Siècles. Nouv. ed. Paris: Hachette, 1921.
- SML Reference Z2171 L354 1921 (LC)
- An unannotated student's bibliography of primary and secondary materials, including many periodical articles. Contains substantial chapters on "Généralités" (bibliography and reference books) and on each century enumerated in the title, and a short section on the early twentieth century and the literature of World War I. The sub-divisions, clearly displayed in the table of contents, provide access to materials on the cultural milieu, genres, movements, and writers of each period covered. The index includes names of authors and critics.
Current Bibliographies
-
"Bibliographie" in Revue d'Histoire Littéraire de la France.
Paris: vol. 1 (1984- ).
SML: Hf3 80 (Current issues in Periodical Room) - Each issue of the Revue includes an unannotated bibliography of recent books and articles compiled by René Rancoeur, with separate sections for general works and for each century from the sixteenth to the present. The quarterly lists are incorporated into Rancoeur's Bibliographie de la Littérature Française du Moyen Âge à Nos Jours (no. 18 below).
-
- Bibliographie de la Littérature Française du Moyen Âge à Nos Jours. Paris: 1966 - . ed. By René Rancoeur. Supersedes Bibliographie de la Littérature Française Moderne (XVIe-XXe Siècles).
- SML Reference Z2171 B552 (LC)
- An annual bibliography which expands and cumulates the lists published throughout the year in the Revue d'Histoire Littéraire de la France (no. 17 above). The first chapter covers bibliographies, the second, general topics, and subsequent sections are devoted to the major periods of French literature from the 10th century to the 20th. Bold-faced subheadings highlight materials on particular subjects and authors within each period. A useful appendix provides full titles and addresses of the journals analyzed. It includes an index for authors' names and another for themes and subjects.
-
- Bibliographie der Französischen Literaturwissenschaft. ed. By Otto Klapp. Frankfurt au Main: vol. 1 (1956/58 - ).
- SML Reference Z2171 B53 (LC)
- Each portly annual volume lists books, articles, and dissertations published in many countries during the year. An introductory section on "Généralités" is followed by chapters on the various eras of French literature from the Middle Ages to the present, and on French literature outside France. The introductory chapter includes material on many interesting ancillary topics (e.g. comic strips, popular fiction, science fiction, sociology and literature), and on particular critical schools. The central chapters have subheadings for specific genres, movements, themes and motifs for the individual authors. Includes name and subject indexes.
-
- Current research in French studies at universities and university colleges in the United Kingdom. London. 1969/70-
- SML Reference Z2175 A2 C87 (LC)
- A subject list, in three sections, of theses submitted for a variety of degrees: (1) Linguistic studies and stylistics; (2) Literary, historical, and sociological studies not referring to a specific writer, historical figure, or anonymous; (3) Alphabetical list of writers, historical figures, and anonymous works. [Balay BE1142]
-
- Modern Language Association of America. MLA International Bibliography of Books and Articles on the Modern Languages and Literatures. New York: 1963 - . (continues the Association's Annual Bibliography).
- SML Reference Z7006 M63 (LC)
- Also available on CD-ROM opposite the SML Reference Desk and on the World Wide Web (access restricted to Yale IP addresses). A tutorial is available online.
- The most ambitious annual bibliography in its field, tackling monographs, collections, pamphlets, journal articles, and theses published throughout the world. Issued in three volumes: Volume 1 covers General Literature and Related Topics (e.g. literary criticism and theory, comparative literature, themes and types), English Literature, American Literature, Medieval and Neo-Latin Literature, Celtic Literatures, and Folklore; Volume 2 takes on the modern African, Oriental, and European literatures, including French; Volume 3 is devoted to linguistics. The French literature section in Volume 2 is subdivided by period and then by specific genres and authors. The general and theoretical sections of Volume 1 often list materials relevant to French studies. Each volume includes an index of critics, but none for primary authors or subjects.
-
- "Rassegna Bibliografica" in Studi Francesi. Turin: vol. 1 (1957 - ).
- SML: Hf3 St94 (current issues in Periodical Room)
- Each quarterly issue of Studi Francesi includes a selective, international bibliography covering noteworthy books and articles on all periods of French literature. Every entry is generously annotated by a specialist.
- Romanische Bibliographie. Tübingen: 1961/62 - . (continues Zeitschrift für romanische Philologie. Bibliographie).
- SML: Hb5 114
- An extremely comprehensive, classified bibliography of books, articles and dissertations on Romance philology and literature. Each issue from 1965/66 on occupies three hefty volumes. Volume 1 includes an outline of the intricate classification system used in volumes 2 and 3, a bibliography of journals indexed, sections on reports of research institutes, congress proceedings, and collections, a list of abbreviations, and name and subject indexes. Volume 2 covers Romance languages, and Volume 3 covers Romance literatures. The French literature chapter is organizes chronologically, with subsections for particular topics, forms, motifs, and author. Many entries cite reviews.
- The Year's Work in Modern Language Studies. London: vol. 1 (1929/30 - ).
- SML Reference PB1 Y32
- A critical survey of each year's outstanding scholarship on the various Romance, Celtic, Germanic and Slavic languages and literatures. The chapter on French studies includes subsections by specialists on the French language and on each literary era from the early Middle Ages to the present. A running commentary relates the individual citations to general scholarly trends.
- Wortman, William A. A guide to serial bibliographies for modern literatures. New York, N.Y.: Modern Language Association of America, 1982.
- SML Reference Z6519 W67 1995 (LC)
- Lists and annotates about 950 "current bibliographies in modern literatures of use to students of literature." --Preface. Classed arrangement; author/title/subject index. [Balay BE34]
Subject Specialist |
Jeffry LarsonOffice
Research Services and Collections
226 SML
130 Wall Street (side entrance)
120 High Street (front entrance)
Sterling Memorial Library, Yale University,
P.O. Box 208240, New Haven, CT 06520-8240
Send Email
Subjects:
Romance Languages and Literatures, Linguistics, Classics
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait