General
-
Bibliographie Internationale de l'Humanisme et de la Renaissance.
Geneva: vol 1. (1965- ).
- SML Reference Z6207 R4 B53 (LC)
- An international, interdisciplinary annual bibliography of books and articles on all facets of Renaissance civilization. Part 1, Personnages, lists works by and about individual Renaissance figures. Part 2, Matières, covers six broad subject categories (generalities, history, religion, philosophy, literature, education, bibliography, the arts, science and technology), each of which is subdivided geographically. Provides direct access to material on French Renaissance literature, and on many related subjects.
- British Museum. Department of Printed Books. Short-Title Catalogue
of Books Printed in France and of French Books Printed in Other Countries
from 1470 to 1600 Now in the British Museum. London: Printed by order
of the Trustees, 1924.
- SML Reference Z2162 B86 (LC)
- A concise author bibliography of an important collection of French Renaissance books, whose scope is succinctly outlined in its title.
Supplemented by:
British Museum. Department of Printed Books. Short-title catalogue of books printed in France and books printed in other countries from 1470 to 1600 in the British Library. Supplement. London : British Library, 1986.- SML Reference Z2162 B86 Suppl (LC)
-
British Museum. Department of Printed Books. A Short-Title Catalogue
of French Books 1601-1700 in the Library of the British Museum. 1 vol.
in 2. London: Dawsons, 1969-73.
- SML:Reference Z2162 +B752 (LC)
- A companion volume to no. 38 above, covering seventeenth-century imports. Includes indexes of alternative forms of the names used as headings; of translators, editors, and annotators; of printers and publishers; of places in imprints; and of some titles.
-
Cioranescu, Alexandre. Bibliographie de la Littérature Française
du Seizième Siècle. Paris: Klincksieck, 1959.
- SML Reference Z2172 C56 (LC)
- ----------. Bibliographie de la Littérature Française du Dix-Septième Siècle. 3 vols. Paris: Centre National de la Recherce Scientifique, 1956-66.
- SML Reference Z2172 +C563 (LC)
- ----------. Bibliographie de la Littérature Française du Dix-Huitième Siècle. 3 vols. Paris: Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique, 1969.
- SML Reference Z2172 +C564(LC)
- A monumental set of tools for the study of early modern French literature. The bibliography for each country is divided into two major sections (1) Generalities, which subdivides into general literary history, specific themes and genres, and various facets of the intellectual milieu of the period; (2) an alphabetical catalog of authors, both prominent and obscure, listing works by and about each. The volume for the 16th century includes several extra-literary categories (e.g. legal, scientific, and theological works) excluded from the later bibliographies. Indexed by authors and subjects.
-
"Comptes Rendus" in XVIIe (i.e.Dix-Septième)
Siècle. Paris: no. 1 (1949 - ).
- SML: A27 D64
- Each quarterly issue of this bulletin of the Société d'études du XVIIe siècle ends with a collection of meaty, signed reviews of new editions of seventeenth-century French texts and of significant books on seventeenth-century literature and culture.
- Conlon, Pierre M. Prélude au Siècle de Lumières
en France; Répertoire Chronlogique de 1680 à 1715. 6 vols.
Geneva: Droz, 1967-75.
- SML: X569 970C
- A year-by-year inventory of literary, theological, philosophical and scientific works published by Frenchmen during an important transitional epoch of French intellectual history. Includes a limited number of reissues, translations, administrative documents, and polemic works of particular interest to historians of ideas. Many entries include references to advertisements and reviews in contemporary periodicals. The listings for each year are preceded by brief chronologies including major public events, opening dates of plays of operas, births and deaths of writers, etc. Helps the reader relate literary texts to broad cultural trends.
Continued by:
Conlon, Pierre M. Le siècle des lumières: bibliographie chronologique. Genève: Librairie Droz, 1983-<1996>- SML Reference Z2162 C65 (LC)
-
"The Eighteenth Century: A Current Bibliography" in Philological
Quarterly. Iowa City: vol. 1 (1922 - ).
- SML Periodical Room P1 P45 (LC)
- From 1971 through 1975 each annual volume of Philological Quarterly included a selective, annotated catalog of books, articles, and reviews on eighteenth-century topics published during the preceding year. The bibliographies are international in coverage and comprehensive in scope, including printing and bibliographical studies; historical, social and economic studies; philosophy, science and religion; the fine arts; literary studies; and individual authors. French writers and subjects are liberally represented. The bibliographies for 1970-1989 have been reissued in hard cover as The Eighteenth Century: A Current Bibliography (SML Reference - Z2012 E33 (LC)).
-
Giraud, Jeanne. Manuel de Bibliographie Littéraire pour les
XVIe, XVIIe, XVIIIe Siècles Français,
1921-1935. Paris: J. Vrin, 1939.
- SML Reference Z2171 G57 (LC)
- ----------. ... 1936-1945. Paris: Nizet, 1956.
- SML Reference Z2171 G573 (LC)
- ----------. ... 1946-1955. Paris: Nizet, 1970.
- SML Reference Z2171 G574 (LC)
- An orderly inventory of scholarship on the three "Siècles Classiques," designed to update the corresponding sections of Lanson (no. 16 above) through 1955. An introductory section, Généralités, lists work on the early modern period as a whole, studies of specific genres, themes and motifs, et al. Each of the three centuries occupies a separate chapter covering both general studies and studies of particular authors. Indexes include names, subjects, themes, and some titles.
-
Harvard University. Library. Department of Printing and Graphic Arts.
Harvard College Library Department of Printing and Graphic Arts: Catalogue
of Books and Manuscripts. Part 1: French 16th Century Books. Comp. By
Ruth Mortimer. 2 vols. Cambridge: Belknap Press of Harvard University Press,
1964.
- SML Reference Z881 +H347 1964 (LC)
- A learned and beautifully illustrated author bibliography of a prominent collection of finely printed and illustrated books published in sixteenth-century France. The various works of each author are listed chronologically by publication date. Entries include full physical descriptions of the books, considerable bibliographic/historical information, and suggestions for further reading. Volume 2 contains a general index, a year-by-year chronological index, and indexes for artists, printers and publishers, and subjects.
-
Répertoire Bibliographique des Livres Imprimés en France
au Seizième Siècle. Baden-Baden: Koerner, 1968 - (in progress).
- SML Reference Z2162 R46 (LC)
- A geographical inventory of books published in France in the sixteenth century. Each fascicle covers one particular town, listing each of its printers and his imprints, in chronological order. The entry for each item transcribes its title-page and locates copies in European and American libraries.
Continued by:
- Répertoire bibliographique des livres imprimés en France au XVIIe siècle. Baden-Baden: V. Koerner, 1978-<1996>
- SML Reference Z2162 R461 (LC)
Desgraves, Louis. Répertoire bibliographique des livres imprimés en France au XVIIIe siècle. Baden-Baden; Bouxwiller: V. Koerner, 1988- 1992.- SML Reference Z2162 D47 (LC)
-
- Will, Samuel Frederic. A Bibliography of American Studies on the French Renaissance (1500-1600). Illinois Studies in Language and Literature, vol. 26, no. 2. Urbana: University of Illinois Press, 1940.
- SML: F15 +IZ6 v.26
- A useful guide to the older American scholarship on sixteenth-century French culture. Emphasizes belles-letters but includes material on many ancillary topics, arranged under the following headings: Authors; Anthologies; Bibliographies; Histories of Literature; Language; Theatre; Influence of Sixteenth-Century French Literature on Other Literatures; Influence of Other Literatures on French in the Sixteenth Century; History and Civilization; Sixteenth-Century French Navigations and Discoveries in the New World; Religious History; Calvin, Calvinism; General and Miscellaneous. Covers periodical articles as well as monographs and annotates items with nondescript titles. Includes an index of authors and critics.
Lyric Poetry
-
Lachèvre, Frédéric. Bibliographie des Recueils
Collectifs de Poésies du XVIe Siècle. Paris:
Champion, 1922.
- SML Reference Z2174 P7 +L32 (LC)
Lists French verse anthologies of the 16th century, describes their contents, and identifies many of the anonymous items they include. Lachèvre planned the work on the grand scale of his earlier catalog of seventeenth-century miscellanies (see no. 49 below) but was forced by lack of funds to omit the bibliographies of individual poets.
-
----------. Bibliographie des Recueils Collectifs de Poésies
Publiés de 1597 à 1700. 4 vols. Paris: Leclerc, 1901-05.
- SML Reference Z2174 P7 +L2 (LC)
- A detailed bibliography of French poetical miscellanies of the seventeenth century and an index to their contents. Volume 1 covers anthologies published from 1597 to 1635; Volume 2 1636-1661; Volume 3 1662-1700. Volume 4 includes additions , corrections, and general indexes. Each of the three main volumes contains: (1) a bibliography of the anthologies themselves, entered under their editors' names, including lists of the authors represented in each and the texts of their prefaces; (2) an alphabetical catalog of the individual poets, providing biographical information on each and a bibliography of his anthologized poems; (3) a table of anonymous poets in the miscellanies, which identifies the authors of many; (4) an appendix which prints the full texts of the previously unedited poems of various authors, unearthed in the course of the project.
- ----------. Les Recueils Collectifs de Poésies Libres et Satiriques
Publiés Depuis 1600 jusqu'à la Mort de Théophile (1626).
Paris: Champion, 1914. ----------. ... Supplément. Additions et
Corrections. Paris: Champion, 1922.
- SML Reference Z2174 P7 +L33 (LC)
- A guide to early 17th-century collections of libertine and satiric verse, which complements no. 49 above and follows its pattern.
Drama
-
- "Appendice: Liste Bibliographique des Tragédies Françaises Composées Avant 1640." In Forsyth, Elliott. La Tragédie Française de Jodelle à Corneille (1553-1640); Le Théâtre de la Vengeance. Paris: Nizet, 1962, pp. 425-472.
- SML: Hf63 F77
- A year-by-year chronology of French tragedies first published in the 16th and early 17th centuries. Notes later editions of many items listed. Provides a reasonably comprehensive inventory of the primary sources for the study of French Renaissance tragedy.
- Brenner, Clarence Dietz. A Bibliographical List of Plays in the French
Language, 1700-1789. Berkeley: Assocated Students' Store, 1947.
- SML Reference Z2174 D7 +B74 (LC)
- Catalogs over 11,000 dramatic pieces composed in French between 1700 and 1789, including amateur theatricals, college dramas, and other elusive genres. The main listing is alphabetical by author and notes the place and date of the first performance of each play and its first appearance in print.
- Lancaster, Henry Carrington. History of French Dramatic Literature
in the Seventeenth Century. 5 vols. in 9. Baltimore: Johns Hopkins Press,
1929-42.
- CCL: PQ526 L35
- Although not primarily a bibliography, this thorough account includes a wealth of bibliographic information. Part 1 covers the preclassical period (1610-1634); Part 2 the period of Corneille (1635-1651); Part 3 the period of Molière (1652-1672); Part 4 the period of Racine (1673-1700). Part 5 is a summary volume, including a review of general conclusions, subject and general indexes to parts 1-4, a finding list of plays. Each of the first four parts ends with a chronological checklists of plays written or first performed during the period covered.
- ----------. Sunset, a History of Parisian Drama in the Last Years
of Louis XIV, 1701-1715. Baltimore: John Hopkins Press, 1945.
- SML: Hf56 190
- A sequel to no. 53 above. Includes a chronological list of plays acted at the Comédie Française 1701 - September 1715.
Continued by:
- ----------. French Tragedy in the Time of Louis XV and Voltaire, 1715-1774. 2 vols. Baltimore: Johns Hopkins Press, 1950.
- CCL: Pq563 L3
- Includes a chronological list of tragedies at the Comédie Française Nov. 1715 - May 1774 and additions and corrections to earlier volumes in the series.
- ----------. French Tragedy in the Reign of Louis XVI and the Early Years of the French Revolution, 1774-1792. Baltimore: Johns Hopkins Press, 1953.
- SML: Hf56 953L
- Includes a chronology a new tragedies in Parisian theaters August 1774 - November 1792 and additions and corrections to earlier volumes in the series.
- Mélèse, Pierre. Répertoire Analytique des Documents
Contemporains d'Information et de Critique Concernant le Théâtre
à Paris sous Louis XIV, 1659-1715. Paris: Droz, 1934.
- SML: X565 D934m
- Identifies a host of contemporary documents -- books, diaries, edicts, etc. -- which comment of various aspects of the Parisian stage during its first efflorescence. Part 1 covers general theatrical topics; Part 2 particular authors; Part 3 actors; Part 4 directors and stage designers; Part 5 individual plays. A true boon to students of contemporary views on particular works and on general aesthetic, ethical, and administrative questions bearing on the theater. References under each entry are listed chronologically and many summarize or reprint the relevant commentary. For full bibliographic data on the documents cited, see pp. 435-446 of the author's Le Théâtre et le Publique à Paris sous Louis XIV, 1659-1715, (CCL: PN2636 P3 M45), of which the Répertoire is an outgrowth.
Prose
-
- Bibliographie du Genre Romanesque Français 1751-1800. Ed. by Angus Martin, Vivienne G Mylne, et al.
- SML Reference Z2174 F5 +M37 (LC)
- The publisher's announcement promises that this catalog will list and describe all French works of fiction, including translations, which were issued in book form from 1751-1800.
-
DeJongh, William Frederick Jekel. A Bibliography of the Novel and
Short Story in French from the Beginning of Printing till 1600. Albuquerque:
University of New Mexico Press, 1944.
- SML: X565 F944d
- A checklist of first editions of French fictional works published during the Renaissance. The catalog is chronological by publication date, with indexes of anonymous titles, authors, and translators. Many entries include references to earlier bibliographies and bibliographic studies.
- Godenne, René. "Répertoire par Année des Titres
des Nouvelles aux XVIIe et XVIIIe Siècle" in
his Histoire de la Nouvelle Française aux XVIIe et XVIIIe
Siècles. Geneva: Droz, 1970 (pp. 247-98).
- SML: Hb4 125 108
- A year-by-year inventory of French nouvelles published between 1623 and 1799, based on the first-hand examination of their earliest known editions. The seventeenth century selection is intended to correct the imperfect Williams/Baldner bibliographies (see no. 62 below) for this sub-genre of the novel. Entries provide references to subsequent editions and to such modern critical texts as exist. Includes an index of authors and anonymous titles.
- Jones, Silas Paul. A List of French Prose Fiction from 1700 to 1750.
New York: Wilson, 1939.
- SML: X565 F939
- A chronological catalog of the works of French prose fiction published each year from 1700 to 1750. Includes imaginary voyages, fictitious memoirs, collections of spurious letters, fairy tales, etc., as well as bona fide romans and nouvelles. Entries for many items indicate dates of later editions, offer information on the history of the text and its relation to other works, and locate copies in various libraries, particularly the Bibliothèque nationale, the Bibliothèque de l'Arsenal , the British Museum. A detailed index includes authors, titles, pseudonyms, initials, etc.
-
Williams, Ralph Coplestone. Bibliography of the Seventeenth Century
Novel in France. New York: Century, 1931.
- SML Reference Z2174 F4 W55 (LC)
- A three-part catalog of romans and nouvelles published from 1600 to 1699. Part 1 lists the novels alphabetically by author; Part 2 includes anonymous titles and is a year-by-year chronological checklists; Part 3 is an alphabetical title list which serves as an index to Parts 1 and 2. Entries in the first two sections include bibliographic descriptions and locate copies in the Bibliothèque nationale, the Bibliothèque de l'Arsenal, and the British Museum. Although the compiler has taken pains to omit novelistic travel accounts, memoirs and histories and nouvelles too short to qualify as romans, he has included a few borderline cases in an appendix. Williams' work has been revised by Ralph Willis Baldner in his Bibliography of Seventeenth-Century French Prose Fiction (SML: Z2174 F5 B35 (LC). Although both bibliographies are standard works, they are roundly denounced for sloppiness and inaccuracy by René Godenne in his "Répertoire par Année des Titres de Nouvelles..." (see no. 60 above, p. 249).
Subject Specialist |
Jeffry LarsonContact Info:
Office
Research Services and Collections
226 SML
130 Wall Street (side entrance)
120 High Street (front entrance)
Sterling Memorial Library, Yale University,
P.O. Box 208240, New Haven, CT 06520-8240
Send Email
Subjects:
Romance Languages and Literatures, Linguistics, Classics
Office
Research Services and Collections
226 SML
130 Wall Street (side entrance)
120 High Street (front entrance)
Sterling Memorial Library, Yale University,
P.O. Box 208240, New Haven, CT 06520-8240
Send Email
Subjects:
Romance Languages and Literatures, Linguistics, Classics
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait