General
-
"Current Bibliography" in Twentieth Century Literature. Denver:
v. 1 (1955 - ).
- SML: Ia105 T914 - Current issues in Periodal Room
- An alphabetical subject bibliography of recent articles on twentieth century writers of various nationalities appears in each quarterly issue of Twentieth Century Literature. Headings include authors' names (e.g. "Camus"), and subjects (e.g. "French Drama," "Structuralism"). Each entry is briefly annotated. See also Pownell (no. 68 below).
- French VII Bibiliography: Critical and Biographical References for
the Study of Contemporary French Literature. New York: vol. 1-4 (1940-1968).
- SML Reference Z2173 F74 (LC)
- A comprehensive account of the work done between 1940 and 1968 on French literature of the present century, including books, book reviews, and journal articles. Part 1 covers General Subjects (e.g. Bibliography; literary genres, aesthetics, stylistics, themes; literary history, philosophy and religion; surrealism). Part 2 particular authors; Part 3 the cinema.
Continued by:
- French XX Bibliography: Critical and Biographical References for French Literature since 1885. New York: vol. 5 (1969/73 - ).
- SML Reference Z2171 F74 (LC)
- Continues no. 64 above and assumes its numbering.
- French XX Bibliography. Provençal Supplement. New York:
vol. 1 (1976 - ).
- SML Reference Z7033 P8 F74 (LC)
- A special bibliography of books and articles published since 1940 on Provençal literature of the 19th and 20th centuries, which closely resembles its parent in scope and design. Part 1 includes General Subjects (Bibliography; Collected articles; Felibrige; Literary History; Miscellaneous; Poetry; Theatre and Cinema); Part 2 covers individual authors.
The previous items are indexed by:
Tussing, Ruth-Elaine. French XX bibliography: critical and biographical references for French literature since 1885 : index to volume VI (nos. 26-30) and to Provençal Supplement no. 1. New York: French Institute-Alliance Française, 1981.- SML Reference Z2171 F74 6 Index (LC)
- Modern Language Association of America. French VI Bibliography Committee.
French VI Bibliography: Critical and Biographical References for the Study
of Nineteenth-Century French Literature. New York: nos. 1-7 (1954/55 -
1966/67).
- SML Reference Z2173 F73 (LC)
- A very useful index to books, articles, book reviews and some theses on 19th-century French literature, which grew increasingly comprehensive and elegant during its brief life. Part 1 of each issue covers general subjects (e.g. Bibliography; Criticism; Literary genres and themes; Novel; Realism; Theatre). Part 2 covers work on individual 19th-century authors.
- Pownall, David E. Articles on Twentieth Century Literature: An Annotated
Bibliography, 1954-1970. New York: Kraus-Thomson, 1973 -1980. 7 v.
- SML Reference Z6519 P68 (LC)
- An expanded and reorganized compilation of the "Current Bibliography" sections of Twentieth Century Literature (see no. 63 above), vols. 1-16, 1955-1970. The first volumes of the set list articles on individual authors; the later volumes cover material on general literary topics.
- Talvert, Hector and Place, Joseph. Bibliographie des Auteurs Modernes
de Langue Française (1801- ). Paris: Ed. de la Chronique Lettres
Françaises, 1928 - (in progress).
- SML Reference Z2171 T16 (LC)
- An imposing bibliographical dictionary of French authors of the 19th and 20th centuries. Twenty-two volumes have appeared to date covering A - Morgan, C. The entry for each figure includes a brief biography; a chornolgical list of his more substantial works and their various editions, inlcuding full biographical information; a chronoligcal list of his lesser efforts (e.g. prefaces, editorial projects, addresses); an arrayof secondary books and articles to consult. Coverage expands as the alphabet advances, since each volume includes material issued up to its date of publication (e.g. vol. 1, A-Bertrand, covers 1801-1927; vol. 22, Moreau-Morgan, C. covers 1801-1975). Volumes 16-17 constitute a title and author index to volumes 1-15. Volume 22 contains an index of illustrators of the works described in volumes 1-22.
- Thieme, Hugo Paul. Bibliographie de la Littérature Française
de 1800 à 1930. 3 vols. Paris: E. Droz, 1933.
- SML Reference Z2171 T45 1933 (LC)
- An extensive reference bibliography of primary and secondary materials. Volumes 1-2 constitute an alphabetical author catalog including many minor writers, "men of letters," and figures not strictly literary. The entires offer year-by-year inventories of the authors' own publications, followed by chronological lists of writing about them, which are particularly useful for their references to reviews and contemporary reactions. Volume 3 covers general books and articles on French literary and cultural history; although outdated, it uncovers some welcome studies on narrow and elusive topics, (e.g. "La Littérature et le Paysan," "poésie et industrie," "roman de femme et féminisme." An explicit "table de matière" provides subject access to the bibliography.
Continued by:
Dreher, Silpelitt and Rolli, Madeline. Bibliographie de la Littérature Française, 1930-1939. Complément à la Bibliographie de H.P. Thieme. Geneva: Droz, 1948-49.- SML Reference Z2171 D735 (LC)
- Includes material published 1930-39 on the authors treated by Thieme.
Drevet, Marguerite L. Bibliographie de la Littérature Française, 1940-49. Complément à la Biblgiographie de H.P. Thieme. Geneva: Droz, 1954-55.- SML Reference Z2171 D74 (LC)
- Updates Dreher for materials published during the 1940s.
Lyric Poetry
-
Lachèvre, Frédéric. Bibliographie Sommaire
des Keepsakes, et Autres Recueils Collectifs de la Période Romantique
1823-1848. 2 vols. Paris: Giraud-Badin, 1929.
- SML: Xf361 A4 929
- Catalogs and analysis of a variety of anthologies of the Romantic period, many of which contain early and otherwise unindexed works by its major authors. Volume 1 provides a chronological list of notable giftbooks, keepsakes, anthologies of prose and verse, and a few periodicals, and gives for each basic bibliographic data, the names of the contributors, the number of their contributions, and in some important cases their titles or first lines. Volume 2 performs the same operations on the major "Almanachs" of the period, and provides detailed analysis of two preeminent collections -- Les Annales Romantiques and La Psyche. Indexed by author and title.
Drama
-
Adelman, Irving and Dworkin, Rita, comps. Modern Drama: A Checklist
of Critical Literature on 20th-Century Plays. Metuchen: Scarecrow Press,
1964.
- SML Reference Z5781 A33 (LC)
- A selective bibliography of substantive criticism on 20th-century dramtists, including periodical articles and chapters in books. Covers a respectable number of modern French authors.
-
Beach, Cecilia. French women playwrights of the twentieth century
: a checklist. Westport, CT. : Greenwood Press, c1996.
- SML: Z2174 D7 B44X 1996 (LC)
- Continues no. 28a above.
-
Breed, Paul Francis and Sniderman, Florence M. Dramatic Criticism
Index: A Bibliography of Commentaries on Playwrights from Ibsen to the Avant-Garde.
Detroit: Gale Research, 1972.
- SML Reference Z5781 B74(LC)
- Lists English language criticism on some 300 late 19th and 20th-century playwrights from many centuries, France included. Arranged alphabetically by author with subsections for general criticism and for studies of individual plays. Indexed by title and by critics' names.
-
Wicks, Charles Beaumont. The Parisian Stage: Alphabetical Indexes
of Plays and Authors. Alabama: University of Alabama Press, 1950- .
- SML: Hag46 950w
- Designed as a definitive list of plays presented in Paris in the nineteenth century, based primarily on theatrical announcements in contemporary newspapers. Part 1 covers 1800-1815; Part 2 1816-1830; Part 3 1831-1850; Part 4 1851-1875, with a cumulative index of authors for 1800-1875. Each part contains (1) an alpahabetical list of plays by title, including as amny of the following facts as could be ascertained: subtitle, type of play, number of acts, whether in prose or verse, real names of authors, theatre of first performance in Paris, date of first performance in Paris; (2) an author index.
Schools and Movements
- Anderson, David L. Symbolism: A Bibliography of Symbolism as an
International and Multi-Disciplinary Movement. New York: New York University
Press, 1975.
- SML Reference Z5936 S9 A52 (LC)
- An exemplary interdisciplinary bibliography of books and articles written on Symbolism in European languages from 1880 to 1973. Four chapters: (1) General and Misccellaneous; (2) National and International Movements (including a subsection for "Romance"); (3) Forms and Genres, including "Art," "Dance," "Drama and Theater," "Folklore," "Journals," "Music," "Poetry," "Prose Fiction," "Stylistics," "Themes, Motifs and Types,"; (4) Individual Figures. There are plentiful cross-references connecting related items. Indexed by author.
-
"Bibliographie" in Association Internationale pour l'Étude de
Dada et du Surréalisme. Cahiers. Paris: no. 1 (1966 - ).
- SML: N6494 D3 A88 (LC)
- Each cahier includes a brief but meticulous annotaed bibliography of works by and about Dadaist and surrealist writers and artists.
- Escoffier, Maurice. Le Movement Romantique 1788-1850: Essai de Bibliographie
Synchronique et Méthodique. Paris: Maison du Bibliophile, 1934.
- SML Reference Z2174 R65 E82 (LC)
- A catalog of a collection of choice Romantic texts, whose chief virtue lies on its synoptic organization; works are listed in a year-by-year chronological arrangement and are sub-arranged within each year by type, (e.g. "Histoire Littéraire," "Poésie," "Romans," "Histoire et Politique," "Théâtre," "Lettres et Mémoires"). The annotations accompanying most entries are primarly descriptive and bibliographic. Includes indexes of authors, anonymous titles, collections and keepsakes, periodical titles, and binders.
-
Gershman, Herbert S. A Bibliography of the Surrealist Revolution
in France. Ann Arbor: University of Michigan Press, 1969.
- SML: Xj54 969G
- Offers a substantial list of books and articles on the French surrealist movement by its proponents and studens; a selected bibliography of periodicals which published the work of the French surrealists and parasurrealists; and a selected list of surrealist tracts and manifestos.
- Krawitz, Henry. A Post-Symbolist Bibliography. Metuchen: Scarecrow
Press, 1973.
- SML Reference Z6520 S9 K73 (LC)
- A four-part bibliography of books and articles on the post-Symbolists, emphasizing recent publications in Western European languages. Section 1 lists studies of the Post-Symbolist movement as a whole; Section 2 lists studies of its manifestations in particular countries; Section 3 discusses comparative studies; Section 4 studies the 19 prominent post-Symbolists. Indexed by author.
-
"The Romantic Movement: A Selective and Critical Bibliography" in English
Language Notes. Boulder: vol. 1 (1963 - ).
- SML: Ia105 En42 - Current issues in Periodical Room
- Each September issue of ELN includes a solid bibliographic supplement which attempts to list all the books and articles of substantial interest to scholars of English and Continental Romanticism produced during the previous year. A general section is followed by separate chapters for English, French, German, and Spanish Romanticism, each of which includes sub-sections for general studies and for studies of individual authors. Many entries are annotated and provide references to reviews. From 1936-1948 the Romantic Movement bibliography was issued in English Literary History; Philological Quarterly took it on from 1949 to 1965, when it moved to its present home in ELN. Bibliographies from all three journals for 1936-1970 have been reprinted and provided with cumulative author and subject indexes in: The Romantic Movement Bibliography, 1936-1970. 7 vols. Ann Arbor: Pierian Press, 1973. (SML Reference Z6514 R6 R65 (LC)).
Subject Specialist |
Jeffry LarsonContact Info:
Office
Research Services and Collections
226 SML
130 Wall Street (side entrance)
120 High Street (front entrance)
Sterling Memorial Library, Yale University,
P.O. Box 208240, New Haven, CT 06520-8240
Send Email
Subjects:
Romance Languages and Literatures, Linguistics, Classics
Office
Research Services and Collections
226 SML
130 Wall Street (side entrance)
120 High Street (front entrance)
Sterling Memorial Library, Yale University,
P.O. Box 208240, New Haven, CT 06520-8240
Send Email
Subjects:
Romance Languages and Literatures, Linguistics, Classics
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait