Bibliographies of the 16th, 17th, and 18th centuriesBibliographies of the 19th and 20th centuriesBibliographies of the Middle AgesBiographyDissertationsGeneral Bibliographies of French LiteratureGuides to Archives and Manuscript CollectionsGuides to Reference Works and BibliographiesLanguage DidctionariesLiterary Encyclopedias and HandbooksLiterary HistoriesPeriodical Indexes
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

French Language and Literature 

Internet Resources for French Language and Literature
Last update: Oct 20th, 2008 URL: http://guides.library.yale.edu/french  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Dissertations             Print Page
  
 

Dissertations

  1. Comprehensive Dissertation Index, 1861-1972. Ann Arbor: Xerox Univeristy Microfilms, 1973.
    SML Reference Z5055 U49 +D57 Index 2 1861-1972 (LC)

    __________. Supplement. Ann Arbor: 1973 - .


    Provides author and keyword subject indexing to virtually all dissertations accepted for academic doctoral degrees in the U.S. from 1861 to 1972, and a fair number of Canadian and European theses approved during the same period. Volumes 1-16 (kept at Kline Science Library) contain keyword indexes to the titles of scientific dissertations; volumes 17-32 provides a similar indexing to the titles of theses in the social sciences and the humanities, with two full volumes (29-30) devoted to language and literature. Volumes 33-37 comprise an author index to the set. Annual supplements for 1973-1975 have appeared to date and will be issued regularly. Each entry gives full title of the thesis, author's name, date, university, pagination, the source of the reference, and order numbers for dissertations available through University Microfilms. Among its other functions, CDI serves as a cumulative index of Dissertation Abstracts International (no. 82 below).

  2. Dissertation Abstracts International. Ann Arbor: vol. 1 (1938 - ).
    SML Reference Z5055 U49 +D57 (LC)
    Also available online at telnet://pancake.cis.yale.edu:30009
    A monthly offering of abstracts of dissertations recently submitted to University Microfilms International by the institutions participating in its cooperative microfilming program. Beginning with volume 27 (1966-67) each month's number has been issued in two separately bound part; (A) Humanities and Social Sciences and (B) Sciences and Engineering. Within each part, abstracts are arranged under broad subject rubrics displayed in the introductory pages of each issue (the list of headings for the humanities includes a general category for "Literature" with a subsection for "Literature, Romance" where most theses on French authors are entered). Each entry includes title, author, degree awarded, university, date, supervisor's name, abstract, pagination, and the order number of the full text. Beginning with volume 37 (1976) a third section; Part (c) European Abstracts covering dissertations on all disciplines successfully submitted for doctoral and post-doctoral degrees in Europe will be published quarterly. Part C uses the same subject headings as Parts A and B. Each separate issue of DAI includes an author and a subject index. From volume 22 (1961-62) through volume 33 (1972-73) cumulative author and subject indexes were also issued for each volume. Cumulative author and subject indexing is provided by Comprehensive Dissertation Index (no. 81 above).

  3. "Dissertation in Progress" in The French Review. Champaign: vol. 1 (1927/28 - ).
    SML: Hf3.200 - Current issues in Periodical Room
    Since 1963 The French Review has published an annual classified list of doctoral dissertations on French language and literature in progress at many American universities. Dissertations on literature are arranged by period, with subheadings for papers on individual authors. Each entry gives the full title and the name of the author, sponsoring university, and thesis director. Altered and abandoned projects are noted at the beginning of each section. Since 1970 the "Dissertations in Progress" section has included a separate list of theses completed and defended during the preceding year.

  4. France. Direction des Bibliothèques de France. Catalogue des Thèses de Doctorat Soutenues devant les Universités Françaises. Paris: 1884/89 - .
    SML Reference Z5055 F79 F73 (LC)
    The official annual listing of doctoral degrees awarded by French universities. Since 1914 the catalog has been organized by faculté (e.g. "Droit," "Théologie." or "Lettres," where most literary topics appear) and subarranged by individual university. Each entry gives author's name, full title, place of publication, publisher, date, size and pagination. Volumes from 1957 on include author indexes.

  5. Gabel, Gernot U. Répertoire bibliographique des thèses françaises (1885-1975) concernant la littérature française des origines à nos jours. Köln: Edition Gemini, 1984.
    SML: Z2172 G25 1984 (LC)
    4,100 entries grouped chronologically by century; within each period a general section is followed by an alphabetical arrangement of authors treated. Indexes of authors of the theses and of subjects. [Balay BE1145]
  6.  

 

Subject Specialist

Profile ImageJeffry Larson
Contact Info:
Office
Research Services and Collections
226 SML
130 Wall Street (side entrance)
120 High Street (front entrance)
Sterling Memorial Library, Yale University,
P.O. Box 208240, New Haven, CT 06520-8240
Send Email

Subjects:
Romance Languages and Literatures, Linguistics, Classics

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait