Bibliography
-
Gallet-Guerne, Danielle. Les Sources de l'Histoire Littéraire
aux Archives Nationales. Paris: Imprimerie Nationale, 1961.
- SML: X565 961G
- Surveys materials relevant to the study of French literary history in various "series" at the French National Archives. The author index is a great gift to researchers hunting for letters, records, literary manuscripts, etc., of particular figures.
-
The National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections. Hamden:
1959/61 - .
- SML Reference Z6620 U5 +N37 (LC)
- An ongoing inventory of manuscript materials in all fields held by reporting repositories throughout the country. Entries describe sets of papers rather than individual manuscripts, giving the name of the person, family, or institution around which the location and accessibility, and references to finding tools. Since the entries are arranged in do discernible order the set's usefulness depends on the indexes. The subject index includes topics (e.g. "France-Literature and literary affairs") and personal names (e.g. "Baudelaire, Charles Pierre"). Indexes have cumulated as follows: indexes for 1959-62 published as a separate volume; for 1963-66 in 1966 volume; for 1967-69 in 1969 volume; for 1970-74 in 1974 volume. From 1975 on indexes will be bound separately and will cumulate over a five-year period.
-
Paris. Bibliothèque Nationale. Répertoire des Bibliothèques
et Organismes de Documentation. Paris: Bibliothèque Nationale,
1971.
- SML Reference Z797 A1 +P37 1971 (LC)
- Supplément 1973. Paris: Bibliothèque Nationale, 1973.
- SML Reference Z797 A1 +P37 suppl. (LC)
- A comprehensive directory of libraries and archives in France. Entries describe subject strengths, publications, catalogs and other finding tools, hours, privileges, etc. Part 1 covers Paris and environs, Part 2 the other départements. Part 3 is a detailed index, including subject terms (e.g. "Symbolisme") and personal names, which identify special collections on specific topics and figures.
-
Paris. Bibliothèque Nationale. Départment des Manuscrits.
Les Catalogues du Départment des Manuscrits: Manuscrits Occidentaux.
Paris: Bibliothéque Nationale, 1974.
- SML Reference Z6621 P1994 (LC)
- An extremely clear and comprehensive guide to the various published and unpublished catalogs of Western manuscripts in the French national library. Catalogs of manuscrits français are listed and described on pp. 25-43.
-
Welsch, Erwin K. Libraries and Archives in France: A Handbook.
Pittsburgh: Council for European Studies, 1973.
- SML Reference Z797 A1 +W44 (LC)
- An introductory guide to major libraries in Paris, and to important national and regional archives, designed for American students with overseas projects. Full of useful, practical information on hours, cataloging procedures, and the accessibility or inaccessibility of each collection.
Updated by:
Welsch, Erwin K. Libraries and archives in France: with 1991 supplement. New York: Council for European Studies, 1991, c1979.- SML Reference Z797 A1 +W44 1991 (LC)
Subject Specialist |
Jeffry LarsonContact Info:
Office
Research Services and Collections
226 SML
130 Wall Street (side entrance)
120 High Street (front entrance)
Sterling Memorial Library, Yale University,
P.O. Box 208240, New Haven, CT 06520-8240
Send Email
Subjects:
Romance Languages and Literatures, Linguistics, Classics
Office
Research Services and Collections
226 SML
130 Wall Street (side entrance)
120 High Street (front entrance)
Sterling Memorial Library, Yale University,
P.O. Box 208240, New Haven, CT 06520-8240
Send Email
Subjects:
Romance Languages and Literatures, Linguistics, Classics
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait