General
-
Biographie Universelle, Ancienne et Moderne. 85 vols. in 69.
Paris: Michaud Frères, 1811-62.
- SML Reference CT143 B56 1811 (LC)
- Usually cited as Michaud after its compiler. A venerable dictionary of universal biography containing meaty, signed articles on individuals of all countries, ages, and walks of life. French literary figures are well represented. Vols. 53-55 cover mythological characters; vols. 56-85 constitute a supplement to the main list.
-
Biography Index. New York: 1947 - .
- SML Reference Z5301 B56 (LC)
- Indexes individual and collective biographies, and biographical material in otherwise non-biographical books and in a variety of journals. The main list, which is alphabetical by biographee, is supplemented by an Index to Professions and Occupations including (e.g. Authors, French, Poets, French Literary Critics). Issued quarterly with annual and 3-year cumulations.
-
Dictionnaire de Biographie Française. Paris: Letouzey
et Ané, 1933 - (in progress).
- SML Reference CT143 +D53
- Designed as an authoritative source of biographical information on prominent French people no longer living. Articles are signed and most include generous bibliographies.
-
Nouvelle Biographie Générale Depuis les Temps les
Plus Reculés jusqu'à Nos Jours. 46 vols. in 24. Paris: Firmin
Didot, 1853-66.
- SML Reference CT103 N68 (LC)
- Usually cited as Hoefer, after its compiler. A comprehensive biographical encyclopedia, similar in scope to Michaud (no. 105 above), although its entries tend to be shorter and less exacting. Covers more minor and contemporary figures than Michaud, particularly in the first half of the alphabet, and includes clearer bibliographic information.
Biography of Literary Figures
Continued by:
----------. Twentieth Century Authors: A Biographical Dictionary of
Modern Literature. New York: Wilson, 1942.
Subject Specialist |
Jeffry LarsonOffice
Research Services and Collections
226 SML
130 Wall Street (side entrance)
120 High Street (front entrance)
Sterling Memorial Library, Yale University,
P.O. Box 208240, New Haven, CT 06520-8240
Send Email
Subjects:
Romance Languages and Literatures, Linguistics, Classics
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait