Bibliography
-
Godefroy, Frédéric. Dictionnaire de L'Ancienne Langue
Française et de Tous ses Dialectes du IXe au XVe
Siècle. 10 vols. Paris: Librarie des Sciences et des Arts, 1937-38.
- SML Reference PC2889 +G635 1937
- The classical Old French dictionary, giving the grammatical category, variant forms, and range of meanings for each word listed, including ample citations from Old French texts to support the definitions.
-
Grand Larousse de la Langue Française en Six Volumes.
Paris: Larousse, 1971 -.
- SML Reference PC2625 G73
- An up-to-date general dictionary of modern (i.e. 19th and 20 century) French including a considerable amount of specialized vocabulary. The entry for each word includes its transcription in the International Phonetic Alphabet; grammatical category; etymology and date of first appearance; definitions, with illustrative citations for each meaning; synonyms and antonyms.
-
Harrap's New Standard French and English Dictionary. New York:
Scribner's, 1972 - .
- SML Reference PC2640 +H42 1970
Part 1: French-English (2 vols.)- A revised and greatly enlarged version of Part 1 of no. 117 below, including many new technical terms.
-
Harrap's Standard French and English Dictionary. 2 vols. New
York: Scribner's, 1970. (First published 1934-39).
- SML Reference PC2640 +H42 1970
Part 1: French-English, with supplement (1962)
Part 2: English-French, with supplement (1962)- A standard, comprehensive bilingual dictionary designed for a general reader of catholic tastes. Many entries illustrate the words' use in phrases and idioms. Part 1 has been superseded by no. 116 above.
-
Huguet, Edmond Eugène. Dictionnaire de la Langue Française
du Seizième Siècle. 7 vols. Paris: E. Champion, 1925-67.
- SML Reference PC2650 +H84
- A comprehensive lexicon of sixteenth-century French, which restores many obsolete words and connotations for modern readers. Entries include quotations from contemporary texts.
-
Imbs, Paul. Trésor de la Langue Française: Dictionnaire
de la Langue du XIXe du XXe Siècle (1789-1960).
Paris: Editions du Centre National de la Reserche Scientifique, 1971 - (in
progress).
- SML Reference PC2625 +I46
- See ARTFL, at http://humanities.uchicago.edu/ARTFL/ARTFL.html
- Envisioned as a definitive historical, semantic and syntactical anatomy of the French language, to be issued as a series of separate dictionaries covering various periods. The volume for the modern era (1789-1960) are appearing first. The entry for each term gives copious information about its meaning and history with exhaustive illustrations, frequency of occurrence, a phonetic transcription, and references to other discussions of the word. Because their original plans were enormously expensive, the editors have been forced to streamline the volumes from no. 30 on, but without threatening the dictionary's preeminence.
-
Littré, Emile. Dictionnaire de la Langue Française.
Ed. intégrale. 7 v. Paris: Gallimard/Hachette, 1962-63.
- SML Reference PC2625 L57 1962
- A re-issue of a venerable historical dictionary, albeit dated. Each entry includes pronunciation; grammatical category; the current (i.e. late 19th-century) meanings of the word, illustrated with quotes; its meanings in earlier countries; and its etymology. The original edition was published in 4 volumes and a supplement between 1873 and 1878. This reprint incorporates the supplementary material into the main alphabet.
-
Robert, Paul. Dictionnaire Alphabetique et Analogique de la Langue
Française: Les Mots et les Associations d'Idées. 6 vols.
Casablanca: Société du Nouveau Littré, 1953-64.
- SML Reference PC2625 +R63 (LC)
- New edition (1989): PC2625 +R63 1989 (LC)
- Designed both as a conventional alphabetical dictionary and as a thesaurus. In addition to grammatical categories, etymologies, and definitions the entries supply synonyms, antonyms, and references to words which are related conceptually. Generous quotes from French authors illustrate each definition.
-
Tobler, Adolf. Tobler-Lommatzsch, Altfranzösisches Wörterbuch.
Berlin: Weidemann, 1925 - (in progress).
- SML Reference Pc2893 T63
- An ambitious dictionary which undertakes to account for all French words of the 12th to the 14th century giving for each its modern German equivalent, its etymology, illustrative quotations, and references to its treatment by other lexicographers. Particularly useful for literary vocabulary.
-
Wartburg, Walther von. Französisches Etymologisches Wörterbuch:
Eine Darstellung des Galloromanischen Sprachsatzes. Bonn: Fritz Klopp,
1928 - (in progress).
- SML Reference PC2580 W37
- A vast etymological dictionary of the French language and its dialects, which lists root words from various linguistic stocks (Latin, Greek, German, etc.) and gives historical accounts of their French descendants.
Subject Specialist |
Jeffry LarsonContact Info:
Office
Research Services and Collections
226 SML
130 Wall Street (side entrance)
120 High Street (front entrance)
Sterling Memorial Library, Yale University,
P.O. Box 208240, New Haven, CT 06520-8240
Send Email
Subjects:
Romance Languages and Literatures, Linguistics, Classics
Office
Research Services and Collections
226 SML
130 Wall Street (side entrance)
120 High Street (front entrance)
Sterling Memorial Library, Yale University,
P.O. Box 208240, New Haven, CT 06520-8240
Send Email
Subjects:
Romance Languages and Literatures, Linguistics, Classics
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait