Books for Senior Essayists
Courtesy of Greg Eow's Senior Essay Guide.
The Craft of Research - Booth, Colomb, Williams
ISBN/ISSN: 0226065669
Attention Senior Essayists! Run (do not walk) to the library to get this book! Pitched at the perfect level of sophistication for Yale seniors, this book walks you through all the steps of a research project. Especially helpful, I think, is chapter 3, in which the authors discuss how to formulate a research topic (ie. turn an interest into a problem/question). This is a crucial step in any research project and it's exactly the step that I see senior essayists missing time and time again. The link above takes you to an e-book version of the 2nd edition.
The Chicago Manual of Style
ISBN/ISSN: 0226104036
This is the book that senior essayists ought to consult in terms of citation formats. The library subscribes to an online version, which you can access at the link above. The section you're probably looking for begins as 17.210
Clueless in Academe: How Schooling Obscures the Life of the Mind - Gerald Graff
ISBN/ISSN: 0300105142
Chapters 8, 9, and 10 are exceedingly helpful, especially in regard to identifying the scholarly conversation in which you will place your senior essay. The link above takes you to an e-book version.
How to Write a BA Thesis: A Practical Guide from Your First Ideas to Your Finished Paper - Lipson, Charles
ISBN/ISSN: 0226481263
The Yale University Library makes this available as an e-book, available through the link above. There is much helpful advice in this book, but I *much* prefer The Craft of Research.
A Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses, and Dissertations - Kate L. Turabian
ISBN/ISSN: 0226816273
A standard reference work, but in my opinion not as helpful as the other books on this list. The citation styles listed are probably not extensive enough for many senior essayists. In such a case, students ought to use the full-blown Chicago Manual of Style, to which I refer above.
Helpful Resources
The following are some of the most common databases and reference works dealing with Latin American Studies. These provide an excellent starting point for your research projects.
- Handbook of Latin American Studies - An annotated bibliography of works on Latin America covering various fields in both the humanities and social sciences. Volumes have been published annually since 1936, by Harvard University Press, the University of Florida Press, and the University of Texas Press. HLAS is edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress. The printed version and the online database covers from 1936 to the present.
- Hispanic-American Periodical Index - HAPI is the largest index of journal information from and about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. From analyses of current political, economic, and social issues to unique coverage of Latin American arts and letters, HAPI contains complete bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other materials. The printed volumes and the online version of HAPI cover from 1970 to the present.
- JSTOR - a project of The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation for development of a digital library in support of the arts and sciences on the World Wide Web. It will eventually consist of over one hundred journal titles in the areas of anthropology, asian studies, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, and sociology and will already contains over two million journal page images. These journals are fully searchable. For strict focus on Latin American journals, make sure to select Latin American Studies in the Limit by Discipline drop down menu.
- Index to Latin American Periodical Literature, 1929-1960 - This is a hardcover publication that Indexes articles from more than 3,000 periodicals, most of which are published in Latin America (1,600 titles listed, although more are indexed). Two supplements cover 1961-1970. Invaluable source for locating articles published on a subject between 1929-1970.
- Latin American Newsletters - This has been the leading independent source of political, strategic, economic, and business intelligence on Latin America for over forty years. Since 1967 it provides analysis and insight into key political and economic events across Latin America. The paper version of these newsletters are available in the Social Science Library. Check Orbis for their locations. (Access by IP recognition: Yale/other subscribing institutions)
- NACLA Digital Archive - NACLA Report of the Americas (Access by IP recognition: Yale/other subscribing institutions)
General Reference Bibliographies for Latin America
- Latin America and the Caribbean: a critical guide to research sources - Paula H. Covington, David Block...[et al.] eds.
Call Number: SML, Starr Main Reference Room Z1601 L3225X 1992 (LC)+ Oversize
ISBN/ISSN: 0313264031
An important sourcebook that identifies reference and bibliographic works central to Latin American research. Contains 15 chapters, each providing an introductory essay and a bibliographic section. Coverage includes the social sciences and humanities. Indispensable source for Latin Americanists. - The Cambridge History of Latin America - Leslie Bethell, ed.
Call Number: ML, Starr Main Reference Rm F1410 C1834 1984 (LC)
ISBN/ISSN: 0521232236
A benchmark publication for the 1980s and 1990s. Each volume features the writing of established scholars in their fields. Each chapter is accompanied by a significant bibliographic essay. v.1-2. Colonial Latin America -- v.3. From Independence to c. 1870 -- v.4-5. c.1870 to 1930 -- v.6. Latin America since 1930 : Economy, society and politics -- v.7. Latin America since 1930: Mexico, Central America, and the Caribbean -- v. 8. Latin America since 1930: Spanish South America -- v.10. Latin America since 1930: ideas, culture, and society -- v.11. Bibliographic essays. - Index to Latin American Periodical Literature, 1929-1960 - Columbus Memorial Library
Call Number: SML, Starr Main Reference Room, Z1601 P35 1929-60 (LC)+ Oversize
This is a hardcover publication that Indexes articles from more than 3,000 periodicals, most of which are published in Latin America (1,600 titles listed, although more are indexed). Two supplements cover 1961-1970. Invaluable source for locating articles published on a subject between 1929-1970. - Latin American Studies: a basic guide to sources - Robert A. McNeil, editor; Barbara G. Valk, associate editor.
Call Number: SML Starr Reference Room Z1601 L324 1990 (LC) - Latin American Studies: an annotated bibliography of core works - Ana Maria Cobos and Ana Lya Sater.
Call Number: Bass Library, Stacks, Z1601 .C536X 2002 (LC) - Research Tools for Latin American historians: a select, annotated bibliography - David P. Werlich
Call Number: SML , Starr Reference Room, Z1601 W47 (LC) - Reference Materials on Latin America in English: the humanities - Richard D. Woods
Call Number: SML , Starr Reference Room, Z1601 W75 (LC)
Curator for Latin America |
Contact Info:
Office: Sterling Memorial Library, Rm. 316
Hours: Monday-Friday, 8:30am -5:00pm EST
Tel: (203) 432-1835
Fax: (203) 432-7231
Send Email
Office: Sterling Memorial Library, Rm. 316
Hours: Monday-Friday, 8:30am -5:00pm EST
Tel: (203) 432-1835
Fax: (203) 432-7231
Send Email
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait