Finding Primary Sources
An overview of the types of tools to find primary source material, both at Yale and beyond, is found on this Primary Sources at Yale website. All of the sources listed have their relative strengths and weaknesses. Below are the most popular:
- Orbis is the best tool for finding materials at Yale, though it's not a complete catalog for archival holdings at Yale.
- Worldcat is the most complete source for finding collections around the world.
Another excellent source of primary source material at Yale can be found in the Microfilm Reading Room in the basement of Sterling Memorial Library. This link brings you to a list of major microfilm collections available in the Microfilm Reading Room.
Archival Collections
Manuscripts collections
This is a sampling of the collections held in the Manuscripts and Archives Dept. in Sterling Memorial Library:
The Percival Farquhar Papers reveal the expansion of United States business interests into Latin America and the economic development of Brazil in the early twentieth century. The papers provide insight to Farquhar's (1864-1953) career in Latin American railroad building from 1898 to 1941, when his massive Brazilian railroad project ended due to unyielding Brazilian nationalist opposition.
The De Forest Family Papers chronicle the movemments of David Curtis de Forest (1774-1825), a Yankee merchant and privateer. He lived in the Rio de la Plata area from 1801 to 1817, Argentina's late colonial and revolutionary periods, and then served as the new nation's first consul to the United States from 1817 to 1822. De Forest's papers depict the Rio de la Plata's commercial and political history during his years there, as well as the mechanics and diplomatic implications of United States' privateering during Latin American wars of independence.
The James Watson Webb Papers documents the intersection of the history of the United States civil war with Latin American history Webb served as the American minister to Pedro II's Court in Brazil from 1861 to 1869. His personal letters sketch life at the Brazilian court, and his correspondence with Secretary of State William H. Seward documents Webb's efforts to protect American interests in the Paraguayan War, fight aid extended to Confederate privateers, and handle incidents between Confederate and Union ships in Brazilian waters. There is also correspondence on his role securing French withdrawal from Mexico in 1865.
The Henry Hill Papers documents the efforst of a Yankee merchant to sell arms and ammunition to South American revolutionaries in 1817, and his service as the United States vice-consul to Valparaiso, Chile.
The Southern Cone Collection ia a collection of correspondence; government documents; printed material; and writings from the Southern Cone region of Latin America (Argentina, Paraguay, Uruguay) on civil, military, economic and social topics.
Latin American pamphlet collection, 1568-1949. (Microform)
MS 1350
This is a microfiche collection of pamphlets from Mexico, Peru, Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Cuba, Ecuador, Guatemala, Haiti, Honduras, Martinique, Panama, Paraguay, Puerto Rico, El Salvador, Uruguay, Venezuela, the West Indies, and other Latin American and South American countries. The pamphlets document the agricultural, economic, legal, military, political, religious, and social activities in these countries. Consult the Guide to Latin American Pamphlets from the
Arranged in three series:
Microform Collections
Collections Held in Microform Reading
Room:
The Microform Reading Room is located in the
basement of Sterling Memorial Library, room 20.
Adolf
Augustus Berle papers, 1937-1971 (inclusive)
FILM MISC 842
A
diary record, 1937-1971, of Adolf Berle. Interspersed among the diary entries,
are letters, memoranda of conversations, observations, speech drafts, opinions,
and clippings related to American foreign policy, economic policy in the 1930s,
World War II, and Latin American affairs. Also included is material on personal
and family affairs,
Alfonsin,
Raul. Mensajes
presidenciales.
4 microfilm
reels.
Film B18196
A collection of speeches
of the president of
Argentine
political parties
[microform] : pamphlets.
Film B14557 Includes portraits, broadsides, posters, newspaper articles.
A collection of materials issued by socio-political,
religious, labor, and minority grass-roots organizations in
*
Chile, actividades de movimientos
politicos, sociales y culturales, 1985-1986. [microform]
FILM B13711
Includes newspaper articles, broadsides, posters. Also listed
under: Valdés Gabriel, 1919-: Partido para el futuro. Jara Paz, Hector:
Discurso del Secretario General de la Juventud a la Militancia Radical.
Gonzales, Eugenio, 1902-: Fundamentacion teorica del programa del Partido
Socialista (1947). Federacion Democratica (Chile). Izquierda Cristiana de
Chile: Estrategia de conquista democratica. Movimiento Democrático Popular
(Chile). Partido Comunista de Chile. Partido Demócrata-Cristiano (Chile).
Partido Humanista (Chile). Partido Nacional (Chile). Partido Radical (Chile).
Juventud Radical Revolucionaria (Chile). Partido Socialista (Chile). Ampuero
Diaz, Raul. Socialismo, entre ayer y manana. Acuerdo Nacional para la
Transicion a la Democracia Plena (Organization : Chile). Bases de sustentacion
del regimen democratico. Frente Patriotico Manuel Rodriguez (Chile). MAPU
(Organization : Chile). Comité de Derechos Humanos Cardenal Caro. Asociacion
Capitulos Medicos (Chile). Consejo Regional Santiago. Tendencia Proletaria
Insurreccional (Chile) Estrategia militar y tesis sobre la insurreccion obrera
y popular en hile. Comando Nacional de Trabajadores (Chile). Coordinadora Caro
Ochagavia movimiento de Autodefensa Vecinal (Santiago, Chile). Union Demócrata
Independiente (Chile). Variant and related titles: EL Estado de Sitio y las
tareas del Movimiento Popular. El MDP y la Asamblea de la civilidad. Principios
(Santiago, Chile) no. 34, 40. Por Chile (Santiago, Chile) no. 18. Agitacion y
lucha de masa. Basta (Santiago, Chile). no. 63-64, 68-69, extra. Rebelion en la
Armada de Chile. Lircay (Santiago, Chile) no. 42. El Humanista (Santiago,
Chile) Marzo-Abril, 1986. Dialogos para el Socialismo Democratico. La no violencia
evangelica, fuerza de liberacion. Zona Sur. no. 40, no. 6 separata. Alamoneda.
no. 4, 7, 9-10, 12-13. Chile se une "Por la vida y la democracia".
Chile vencer a (Cambridge, Ma.) junio 1986. El Sindical (Santiago, Chile) no.
9-10. El pueblo rebelde vencer a. no. 14-15. De frente al pueblo (Santiago,
Chile) no. 3-4.
Chile, movimiento de oposición y
actividades de protesta, 1984-1986.
FILM B13713
Includes pamphlets, broadsides, posters, protest
advertisements.
Chilean
political party and opposition literature, 1985-1987.
FILM B13709
Includes newspaper articles, broadsides, posters. Also listed
under: Izquierda Cristiana de Chile. Catholic Church. Archdiocese of Santiago
(Chile). Vicaría de la Solidaridad. Informe preliminar sobre la Ley Orgánica
Constitucional de Estados de Excepción. MAPU (Organization : Chile). Movimiento
Democrático Popular (Chile). Comité Ejecutivo. Informe del Comité Ejecutivo al
Encuentro Nacional del Movimiento Juvenil Democrático Popular. Movimiento
Juvenil Lautaro. Partido Demócrata-Cristiano (Chile). Agrupación Nacional de
Familiares de Detenidos-Desaparecidos (Chile). Comité Pro-Retorno de Exiliados
Chilenos. Partido Socialista Histórico (Chile) Frente Nacional del Trabajo
(Chile). Unión Demócrata Independiente (Chile). Partido Humanista (Chile).
Partido Radical (Chile). Partido Comunista de Chile. Partido Liberal (Chile).
Unión Nacional (Chile). Renovación Nacional (Political party : Chile).
Movimiento Poblacional Solidaridad (Chile). Grupo de Estudios Constitucionales
(Chile). Organización del poder político local. Grupo de Estudios Constitucionales
(Chile). Estatuto de la ciudadanía, inscripciones y sistema electoral. Colegio
de Profesores de Chile.
Comintern
Archives [microform] : files of the Communist Party of Mexico.
LSF- click
"Place Requests" for delivery to any Yale library - Film B20633
The files ..."cover the period 1919-1940 and include extensive
documentation on the relations between the Comintern and its counterparts
in Latin and
Documenting
the Peruvian insurrection [microform].
LSF- click
"Place Requests" for delivery to any Yale Library - Film B20632
Guide: SML, Microtext Desk (In-Room Use, Non-Circulating) F3448.2 .D628 2005 (LC)+ Oversize
. [
SML,
Microform (Non-Circulating) Film B20675
Guide : SML, Microtext Desk (In-Room Use, Non-Circulating) F1466.5 L37 2003 (LC) Oversize
Peron
era political pamphlets and monographs.
1545
microfiches : positive ; 11 x 15.
Fiche B2325
Guide
has call no.: Microtext Reference F2849 P376 1988 (LC).
"This collection is primarily drawn from ... the
Subjects: Peron, Juan Domingo, 1895-1974. Peronism.
Newspaper
comments on the A.B.C. mediation conference held at Niagara Falls, 1914. Microfilm.
FILM MISC 124
A scrapbook of newspaper clippings on the A.B.C. (
Film B16414
"The documents are from Record Group 59, General Records of the Department of State." Accompanied by a printed reel guide, compiled by Blair D. Hydrick.
Film B16411
Accompanying guide, compiled by Blair D. Hydrick, includes
subject index. "The documents are from Record Group 59, General Records of
the Department of State."
Film B16412
"The documents are from Record Group 59, General
Records of the Department of State." Accompanied by a printed reel guide,
compiled by Blair D. Hydrick. pt. 1. Political, governmental, and national
defense affairs, (28 reels) -- pt. 2. Social, economic, industrial,
communications, transportation, and science, (19 reels).
FILM RG 59 T-344
Curator for Latin America |
Office: Sterling Memorial Library, Rm. 316
Hours: Monday-Friday, 8:30am -5:00pm EST
Tel: (203) 432-1835
Fax: (203) 432-7231
Send Email
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait