Finding Primary Sources
An overview of the types of tools to find primary source material, both at Yale and beyond, is found on this Primary Sources at Yale website. All of the sources listed have their relative strengths and weaknesses. Below are the most popular:
- Orbis is the best tool for finding materials at Yale, though it's not a complete catalog for archival holdings at Yale.
- Worldcat is the most complete source for finding collections around the world.
Another excellent source of primary source material at Yale can be found in the Microfilm Reading Room in the basement of Sterling Memorial Library. This link brings you to a list of major microfilm collections available in the Microfilm Reading Room.
Primary Documents
Manuscripts collections
Latin American pamphlet collection, 1568-1949. (Microform)
MS 1350
This
is a microfiche collection of pamphlets from Mexico, Peru, Argentina,
Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Cuba, Ecuador, Guatemala, Haiti,
Honduras, Martinique, Panama, Paraguay, Puerto Rico, El Salvador,
Uruguay, Venezuela, the West Indies, and other Latin American and South
American countries. The pamphlets document the agricultural, economic,
legal, military, political, religious, and social activities in these
countries. Consult the Guide to Latin American Pamphlets from the
Arranged in three series:
United States. Dept. of State.
Records
of the Department of State relating to the internal affairs of México,
1910-1929. Microfilm. Washington, D.C., National Archives and Records
Service.
241 Rolls
FILM RG 59 M-274 (RG59 M-274)
*Finding Aid – Roll 1
United States. Dept. of State.
Records
of the Department of State relating to political relations between the United
States and México, 1910-1929. Microfilm.
Washington, D.C., National Archives
and Records Service.
29 Rolls,
FILM RG 59 M-314 (RG59 M-314)
*Finding Aid
– Roll 1
United States. Dept. of State.
Confidential
U.S. State Department central files. México, 1940-1944. [microform]:
internal affairs [project coordinator, Michael C. Davis].
Frederick, MD:
University Publications of America, [1987], c1986.
110 microfilm Rolls
Film B14954 (DSC40-44)
United States. Dept. of State.
Confidential U.S. State Department central
files: México: foreign affairs, 1950-1954. (inclusive), Microfilm.
Frederick,
Maryland, University Publications of America. 1986.
16 Rolls
Film Misc
1280 (DSC50-54)
United States. Dept. of State.
Confidential U.S. State Department central
files: México: foreign affairs, 1955-1959 (inclusive). Microfilm.
Frederick,
Maryland, University Publications of America. 1987.
11 Rolls
Film Misc
1229 (DSC55-59)
United States. Dept. of State.
Confidential U.S. State Department central
files. México, 1960- January 1963, internal affairs.
Bethesda, Md : University
Publications of America, c1999.
24 microfilm Rolls
Film B17983
(DSC60-63)
New York Times (NYT)
National Archives – RG 59 finding aids:
http://www.archives.gov/research/microfilm/m862.pdf
http://www.archives.gov/research/state-dept/finding-aids/manual-1910-49.pdf
Curator for Latin America |
Office: Sterling Memorial Library, Rm. 316
Hours: Monday-Friday, 8:30am -5:00pm EST
Tel: (203) 432-1835
Fax: (203) 432-7231
Send Email
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait