This is the "At a Glance" page of the "British and American Digital Periodicals" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

British and American Digital Periodicals  

Last Updated: Feb 17, 2012 URL: http://guides.library.yale.edu/periodicals Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis
At a Glance Print Page
  Search: 
 

British Historical Periodicals Online

  • 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers
    The newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817) represent the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media. The present digital collection, that helps chart the development of the concept of 'news' and 'newspapers' and the "free press", totals almost 1 million pages and contains approximately 1,270 titles. Many of the Burney newspapers are well known, but many pamphlets and broadsides also included have remained largely hidden.
  • Eighteenth Century Journals Portal.
    Portal to newspapers and periodicals c1685-1815 offers integrated access to the Hope Collection at the Bodleian Library, Oxford (Eighteenth Century Journals I), the Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center University of Texas (Eighteenth Century Journals II) and the British Newspaper Library at Colindale, London and the Cambridge University Library (Eighteenth Century Journals III) and Chetham's Library, Manchester and Brotherton Library, University of Leeds (Eighteenth Century Journals IV).
  • 19th century British Library newspapers.
    Searchable full text of full runs of newspapers specially selected by the British Library to best represent nineteenth-century Britain. This new collection includes national and regional newspapers, as well as newspapers from: established country or university towns; the new industrial powerhouses of the manufacturing Midlands; and Scotland, Ireland and Wales. Special attention was paid to include newspapers that helped lead particular political or social movements such as Reform and Chartism.
  • 19th Century British Pamphlets.
    Some of the most significant collections of 19th century pamphlets are held in UK research libraries. 23,000 paper copy pamphlets from seven university libraries were digitised by BOPCRIS and focus on political, economic and social issues. These provide an immensely rich and coherent corpus of primary sources with which to study the socio-political and economic landscape of 19th century Britain.
  • The Nineteenth-Century Serials Edition.
    A free, online edition of six nineteenth-century periodicals and newspapers.The edition is formed of two integrated components: the 'Facsimile' component - a repository of full-page facsimiles and textual transcripts generated through OCR; and the 'Keyword' component - an index of semantic keywords and person, place and institution names, generated using data mining and natural language processing techniques. Both components of the system are fully searchable.
  • Waterloo Directory of English Newspapers and Periodicals, 1800-1900.
    The print edition of the Waterloo Directory was published in 10 volumes in 1998 and represents an expansion of the earlier one-volume Waterloo Directory of Victorian Periodicals, 1824-1900. The latter title was published in 1976 with about 29,000 brief entries gathered from a number of extensive secondary sources: the Times’ Tercentenary Handlist of English and Welsh Newspapers, the British Union Catalogue of Periodicals, the British Library Catalogue, and Mitchell’s Newspaper Press Director
  • John Johnson Collection of Printed Ephemera.
    Large collection of 19th century British pamphlets from the Oxford University Library.
  • British Periodicals I
    British Periodicals Collection I consists of journals spanning the late 17th through early 20th centuries, and covering a range of topics such as literature, philosophy, history, science, the fine arts and the social sciences. Derived from the UMI microfilm collection Early British Periodicals the collection will contain the equivalent of 5,238 printed volumes and over 3 million pages.
  • British Periodicals II
    Access to the searchable full text of hundreds of periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth, comprising millions of high-resolution facsimile page images of
    English Literary Periodicals and British Periodicals in the Creative Arts. Topics covered include literature, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture.
  • Proquest British Periodicals
    Access to the searchable full text of hundreds of periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth, comprising millions of high-resolution facsimile page images of
    English Literary Periodicals and British Periodicals in the Creative Arts. Topics covered include literature, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture.
  • Access Newspapers
    A collection of digital newspapers from smaller towns. Dates and places vary widely, making search results very much hit or miss.
  • Periodicals Archive Online (ProQuest).
    An archive of digitized, full-image journal articles, international, scholarly literature in the humanities and social sciences disciplines from 1802 to 1995 with links to JSTOR enabled. Yale's Subscription includes access to these collections of titles that extend the range of JSTOR: English Literature (75 titles, 1813-1989), History (75 titles, 1813-1989) , British Periodicals Collection I (160 journals, 1681 - 1920).
  • Historical Newspapers.
    Historical Newspapers Online's index to The Times (London) is based on Palmer's Index to the Times, which covers the period from 1790 to 1905. Palmer's Full Text Online covers 1785-1870, providing access to the full articles referenced in Palmer's Index to The Times.
  • Times of London.
    A full, digital run of the London Times newspaper, from 1785-1985.
  • Highland History & Culture.
    A searchable database of stories and articles carried in the newspapers of the Highlands and Islands of Scotland. The database contains a short summary of each article and a reference to the issue in which the article was published.
  • Illustrated London News.
  • Irish Times
    Here you can search every issue of this seminal Irish newspaper between 1859 and 2009.
  • The Scotsman Digital Archive
    Here you can search every newspaper published between 1817 and 1950. Find significant moments in the history of Scotland, major historical world events or discover if your ancestor appears in our births, marriages and deaths notices, or even in a news story.
  • Times Digital Archive
    Researchers can search through the complete digital edition of The Times (London), using keyword searching and hit-term highlighting to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching.
  • London, Edinburgh, and Belfast Gazettes Online.
    TSO publishes the London, Edinburgh and Belfast Gazettes under the authority and superintendence of the Controller of Her Majesty’s Stationery Office. The Gazettes constitute the Government's Official Newspaper of Record and are able to provide users with a single source of regulatory and legal information in print, online and electronic formats.
  • Guardian Century (1899-1999).
    Contains digitized issues from 1899-1999.
  • Lancashire Evening Post (1990-2009)
  • Financial times historical archive, 1888-2007
    The Financial Times Historical Archive delivers the complete searchable run of the world's most authoritative daily business newspaper. Every item ever printed in the paper, from 1888-2006, can be searched and browsed by article and page by page. It includes over 700,000 pages of past issues for the stated period of coverage, including Special Supplements and the FT Magazine. Founded to serve the immediate needs of the City of London, the Financial Times quickly broadened its coverage.
  • 19th Century Masterfile (Paratext)
    The 19th Century Masterfile is an accumulation of indexes to printed materials from the nineteenth century with coverage from about 1774 to 1920, depending on the index selected.
  • 19th Century UK Periodicals Digital Archive
    The 19th century was a time of revolutionary change and expansion. Britain was one of the world’s first industrial, urban superpowers and developed a press to feed the demands of its increasingly literate population. 19th Century UK Periodicals Online, 1800-1900 is a major new series that covers the events, lives, values and themes that shaped the 19th century world.
  • Nineteenth Century Index
    he Nineteenth Century Index (C19 Index) searches established indexes such as the Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue, The Wellesley Index, Poole's Index to Periodical Literature, and Periodicals Index Online to create integrated bibliographic coverage of books and official publications, and articles published in journals, magazines and newspapers.
  • PARLIT
    PARLIT (a derivative of Parliaments and Literature) is a unique database of bibliographic references on the role, structure and working methods of national parliaments, and on electoral systems, constitutional law, history and political science.
  • Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals
    Periodical publishing in the 19th century was both voluminous and multifarious. Any and all aspects of contemporary thought were represented through this burgeoning medium, from which many eminent novelists and journalists emerged.

American Historical Periodicals Online

  • America's Historical Newspapers
    Large collection of digital newspapers from the 18th through 20th centuries. This includes every digital newspaper collection from Readex.
  • Access Newspaper Archive
    A collection of digital newspapers from smaller towns. Dates and places vary widely, making search results hit or miss.
  • Accessible Archives
    A database of 19th century magazines and newspapers. The African American newspaper section is especially noteworthy.
  • 19th Century U.S. Newspapers
    With digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers
  • American Civil War Newspapers
    A large collection of American newspapers from the years 1861-1865.
  • African American Newspapers, 1827-1998
    African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection features papers from more than 35 states—including many rare and historically significant 19th century titles.
  • Chronicling America
    This is a digital library project run by the Library of Congress. It contains selected newspapers between 1880-1922.
  • Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980
    Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 represents the single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries
  • Historical Newspapers Complete
    Full-text database of several important 19th century newspapers, including the New York Tribune (1841-1922), San Francisco Chronicle (1867-1922), New York Times (1851-2002), and the Hartford Courant (1764-1922) among others.
  • American Hebrew & Jewish Messenger (1857-1922)
    This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
  • American Israelite (1854-1922)
    This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
  • Arizona Republican (1890-1922)
    This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
  • Atlanta Constitution
    The Atlanta Constitution (1868-1929) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
  • Atlanta Daily World (1931 - 2003) (ProQuest)
    Atlanta Daily World (1932-2003) offers full page and article images with searchable full text. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
  • Augusta Chronicle Newspapers
    AugustaArchives.com is a searchable internet database of The Augusta Chronicle newspapers, including editions of Daily Chronicle & Sentinel, The Augusta Chronicle and Gazette of the State, and The Daily Chronicle & Constitution.
  • Baltimore Afro-American
    Founded by former slave John Henry Murphy Sr. when he merged three church publications, The Baltimore
    Afro-American became one of the most widely circulated African-American newspapers on the Atlantic Coast.
  • Baltimore Sun (ProQuest)
  • Boston Globe
    The Boston Globe (1872-1979) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
  • Christian Science Monitor

    The Christian Science Monitor is a major daily newspaper covering national and international news and noted for unbiased, concise, and comprehensive coverage.
  • Detroit Free Press (1831-1922)
    This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
  • Jerusalem Post (1932-1988)
  • Jewish Advocate (1905-1990)
  • Jewish Exponent (1887-1990)
  • Latin American newspapers
    Digitized Latin American Newspapers (LAN) provides more than 35 fully searchable newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela, and elsewhere.
  • Los Angeles Sentinel (1946-2005)
    Los Angeles Sentinel (1946-2005) offers full page and article images with searchable full text. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
  • Los Angeles Times Historical
  • New York Amsterdam News
    New York Amsterdam News 1922-1993 offers full page and article images with searchable full text. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
  • New York Times Historical
    Online access to articles from the New York Times, currently covering from 1851 to the present.
  • New York Tribune
  • Newspapers on Microform
    A database of domestic and international newspapers available on microform in the Yale University Library.
  • Norfolk Journal and Guide
    Under the leadership of P.B. Young, the “Dean of the Negro Press,” The Norfolk Journal and Guide became one
    of the best researched and written newspapers of its era, with a circulation of more than 80,000 by the 1940s.
  • Philadelphia Tribune
    The oldest continuously published daily black newspaper in the U.S., The Philadelphia Tribune was founded
    by Christopher James Perry. His paper conveyed ideas and opinions about local and national issues affecting
    blacks in the post-emancipation period, and today continues to serve the country’s fourth-largest African-
    American community.
  • Pittsburgh Courier
    Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002) offers full page and article images with searchable full text. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
  • St. Louis Post-Dispatch (1874-1922)
    This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
  • Washington Post Historical
    The Historical Washington Post (1877-1993) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue
  • Pennsylvania Gazette, Pennsylvania Genealogical Catalogue, Pennsylvania Newspaper Record
    The Pennsylvania Gazette 1728-1800, The Pennsylvania Genealogical Catalogue: Chester County, and The Pennsylvania Newspaper Record: Delaware County are components of Accessible Archives, a searchable collection of American newspapers from the 18th & 19th centuries.
  • American Periodical Series
    This database includes digitized images of the pages of many American magazines and journals published from 1740 to 1900. Titles range from Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine and America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository; popular magazines such as Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal; regional and niche publications; and groundbreaking journals like The Dial, Puck, and McClure's.
  • Catholic Periodical & Literature Index Online
    The Catholic Periodical and Literature Index Online is the product of a partnership between ATLA and the Catholic Library Association which covers all aspects of the Catholic faith and lifestyle.
  • Harpers Magazine, 1850-present
    Since 1850, Harper's Magazine has been one of the leading periodicals of culture and opinion. This digital archive makes every issue of Harper's monthly allows users to browse individual issues or search the database by keyword.
  • Index to Jewish Periodicals
    Index to Jewish Periodicals (IJP) is the definitive index on Jewish history, activity and thought. This database provides a comprehensive guide to English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories in more than 160 journals devoted to Jewish affairs.
  • American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 1
    EBSCO partners with American Antiquarian Society (AAS), the premier library documenting the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction, to provide digital access to the most comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1691 and 1877.
  • American Periodicals from the Center for Research Libraries
    American Periodicals from the Center for Research Libraries is a full-text resource containing full-color scans of original documents archived by the Center for Research Libraries. The collection spans the nineteenth century through the dawn of the twentieth century, containing labor, trade, literary, scientific, and photographic periodicals, as well as other historically-significant titles.
  • Periodicals Archive Online (ProQuest)
    An archive of digitized, full-image journal articles, international, scholarly literature in the humanities and social sciences disciplines from 1802 to 1995 with links to JSTOR enabled. Yale's Subscription includes access to these collections of titles that extend the range of JSTOR: English Literature (75 titles, 1813-1989), History (75 titles, 1813-1989) , British Periodicals Collection I (160 journals, 1681 - 1920.)
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip