Searching for videos
Yale Resources: Searching for video art recordings requries some imagination. There is no single term or phrase that will yield all of Yale's holdings in this area. Rather, different research strategies are necessary to uncover where this material is located. Below are a few video tutorials demonstrating some basic searches for video art in Orbis, the Film Study Center Catalog, and a few other places.
Finding Video Art Recordings through Orbis: Subject Searching (3 minutes)
Finding Video Art Recordings through the Film Study Center Catalog: Category Searching (3 minutes)
Finding Video Art Recordings by a Specific Artist: (2 minutes)
Other Resources: Below are a few library and commercial catalogs you should try
searching if you can not find what you need in the Yale collections.
Worldcat: WorldCat is an online "union catalog"; that is, a database of over 1 billion records of books and other materials held in more than 10,000 libraries around the world. Use WorldCat to locate materials outside of Yale, in almost any area of study, or to locate items in specific libraries and research collections. If you find something in Worldcat that Yale does not own, you may be able to borrow it from another library through Interlibrary Loan.
Canadian Filmmakers Distribution Center Onling Catalog: The CFMDC represents approximately 550 filmmakers worldwide and 2,600 film titles, including some of Canada's most original and well-respected works of art. The collection is diverse, ranging from the 1950s to the present, and continues to grow steadily.
Canyon Cinema Sales Catalog: The collection includes 3500+ films tracing the experimental and avant-garde filmmaking movement from the 1930s to the present.
Electronic Arts Intermix Online Catalog: EAI's core program is the distribution and preservation of a major collection of over 3,500 new and historical video works by artists. For over 37 years, EAI has fostered the creation, exhibition, distribution and preservation of video art, and more recently, digital art projects The EAI collection spans the mid-1960s to the presen. The works range from seminal videos by pioneering figures — such as Nam June Paik, Bruce Nauman, Martha Rosler and Joan Jonas — to new digital works by emerging artists, including Seth Price, Paper Rad, Cory Arcangel and Takeshi Murata.
Facets Multimedia Online Catalog: Facets Multi-Media is a non-profit film center in Chicago. Their film rental catalog is an invaluable resource for the investigating the art house genre which, in their collection, constitutes hundreds of video and experimental art films. If you find something in the catalog that Yale does not own, let us know.
Film-Makers' Cooperative Sales Catalog: Began as a grass-roots distributor for avant-garde, independent and experimental film. Catalog is a little confusing but if you limit the search by the "art & artists" keyword option, a hefty list of video art recordings will result.
Museum of Modern Art's Film Collection: This site is useful to keep updated on what sort of experimental film is featured. The calendar archive is a great resource as well.
Art & Architecture Librarian |
Holly HathewayRobert B. Haas Family Arts Library
180 York Street, Haas Arts Library #113
203-432-6219
Office Hours:
Send Email
Subjects:
art, architecture, fine arts
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait