Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

Video Art Research Guide 

Last update: May 08th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.yale.edu/videoart  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Finding Information on Video Artists             Print Page
  
 

Free Resources on Artists and Film

Archives of Independent Danish Video Art: Arranged by Artist/Title with viewable clips for many entries.


Cinovid Database: This database for experimental film includes 11900 works with information ranging from biographical to cast and crew to samples of the films.


The EAI Collection: Artist Index: The Artist Index contains a full list of the artists in the EAI collection and archives.


Inter Media Art Institute Online Database: German site for artists' videos, primarily German and other Europeans and some American artists. Great online catalog for artists, films, articles, etc.


Robert Frank Collection: Museum of Fine Arts Houston is the archive and distributor of film and video by the internationally renowned photographer and filmmaker Robert Frank.


VTape Database: Vtape offers curators, educators and students the opportunity to research our reference collection of over 1500 articles about video art and video artists.


Video Data Bank: The VDB collections feature innovative video work made by artists from an aesthetic, political or personal point of view.  The online catalog is searchable by artist, title, or subject and many entries include clips.

 

Yale Resources

For scholarly research on video art or experimental film, there are several resources available to you through the library.  


I. Books

Orbis is main online catalog for the library. Here are a few video tutorials to help you get started.

 

I need books on a specific artist (3 minutes)

I need books on a specific topic (3 minutes)

 

I. Articles: When looking for secondary information such as essays, articles, chapters, conference proceedings, etc., the following databases are the best places to start.


ARTbibliographies Modern: Abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews. The scope of ARTbibliographies Modern extends from artists and movements beginning with Impressionism in the late 19th century, up to the most recent works and trends in the late 20th century. Photography is covered from its invention in 1839 to the present. A particular emphasis is placed upon adding new and lesser-known artists and on the coverage of foreign-language literature. Approximately 13,000 new entries are added each year. Covers all aspects of modern and contemporary art, including performance art and installation works, video art, computer and electronic art, body art, graffiti, artists' books, theater arts, crafts, jewelry, illustration, and more, as well as the traditional fine arts of painting, printmaking, sculpture, and drawing.


Bibliography of the History of Art: Broad in scope, Bibliography of the History of Art’s citations encompass fine arts—painting, sculpture, drawing, prints, architecture—as well as decorative and applied arts—crafts, graphic arts, and folk and popular art among them.


Art Full Text: Art Full Text is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from periodicals published throughout the world. Full-text coverage for selected periodicals is also included. Periodical coverage includes English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Japanese, Spanish, Dutch, and Swedish.


Complete Index to World Film: With coverage beginning in 1895, this database, compiled by Alan Goble, contains information on over 428,500 films from 175 countries. It also contains over 458,000 references to books and journals.


Film Indexes Online: Film Indexes Online brings Film Index International and AFI Catalog together in one site - the result of partnerships with the British Film Institute (BFI) and the American Film Institute (AFI), Film Index International and AFI Catalog. All genres are covered including video art and experimental film.


FIAF International Index to Film-TV: International Index to Film Periodicals contains article references from more than 300 periodicals. The database, which cumulates citations to the annual printed volume, offers coverage of academic and popular film journals from 1972 to the present.

 

Art & Architecture Librarian

Profile ImageHolly Hatheway


Contact Info:
Robert B. Haas Family Arts Library
180 York Street, Haas Arts Library #113
203-432-6219
Office Hours:
Send Email

Subjects:
art, architecture, fine arts

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait