Access to Collections and BorrowingUse of Library SpacesPatron RecordsUse of MaterialsPublisher Take-Down Notices
Aeon Users GroupBudget Management Forum (BMF)Catalog Policy and Documentation CommitteeCollection Steering CommitteeCouncil for Research Services and Collections (CRSC)Library Project Review Committee (LPRC)Diversity CommitteeFinding Aids Coordinating Committee (FACC)Joint Departmental Committee (JDC)Leadership ForumLibrary Executive Committee (LEC)Library Staff Appreciation and Recognition Committee (L-SARC)Library Staff Association (LiSA)Manuscript Cataloging CommitteePromotion Review CommitteeReference, Instruction, and Outreach (RIO)SACO Coordinating CommitteeSpecial Collections Steering CommitteeStanding Committee on Professional Awareness (SCOPA)Tag Tables & Templates Committee
This is the "About Home" page of the "About the Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Guides Home

About the Library  

Last Updated: Oct 17, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.yale.edu/about Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

About Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Library News

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

About the Library

Susan Gibbons

University Librarian
Susan Gibbons

Welcome to Yale University Library. We believe that immersion in the Library’s collections and engagement with our staff and services is what transforms the intellectual and academic development of our students, and is what distinguishes an education at Yale from all other academic institutions. We recognize that service to the Yale community is our top priority, and that goal drives us to be better in every way.

Our collection of nearly 15 million print and electronic volumes is housed in 15 libraries, including Sterling Memorial, Beinecke, and Bass libraries, the Center for Science and Social Science Information (CSSSI), as well as many other school and departmental libraries. Our astonishing collections range from ancient papyri and early printed books to digital collections and electronic databases; and they transcend a wide array of formats including text, photographs, video, audio, data, maps, and ephemera.

In building our magnificent collections over the last three centuries, Yale made a stewardship commitment to assist in the preservation of human knowledge. We also have a responsibility to bring digital resources to the Yale community and address the intimidating challenges of digital preservation head-on.

Engraved at the entrance to Sterling Memorial Library is the inscription: “The Library is the heart of the University.” Teaching and research have changed in many ways, yet the creation, preservation and dissemination of knowledge remains at the core of any university; and that is why the library is found at the heart of Yale.

 

Get Help

Help is available Monday to Friday, 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

Emal Email: askyale@gmail.com

Call Call: (203) 432-1775

SMS text Text: (203) 826-2053

 Tweet:  @askyale

 

Library Addresses

U.S. Mail


Library Administrative Services

Sterling Memorial Library
P.O. Box 208240
New Haven, CT 06520-8240

Courier Address

Yale University Library
Addressee Name/Dept
344 Winchester Avenue (Docks 7/8)
New Haven, CT  06511-1918

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip