This is the "Home" page of the "Manuscripts and Archives (Repository) Legal Subject Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Manuscripts and Archives (Repository) Legal Subject Guide  

A guide to Yale Manuscripts and Archives law-related collections.
Last Updated: Mar 19, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.yale.edu/mssa_subjects_law Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome

 

Welcome to Yale Manuscripts and Archives Legal Subject Guide. This guide provides an overview of law-related manuscripts held at Yale University Library's Manuscripts and Archives Department (MSSA). It is intended for use by any researcher with an interest in MSSA's law-related collections. This guide does not provide information about law-related University archives (e.g. Yale Law School administrative records); please contact MSSA if you need help with these archives.

 

For each collection category located in this guide's tabs, you will find a sample list of MSSA's relevant collections for that category. Each item listed includes a link to the collection's finding aid and a brief description of the collection itself. You should always consult the collection's finding aid to determine whether the material is relevant to your research. Please note that a collection's description may differ across collection categories; this variation highlights different material contained in that particular collection.


The collection contains material that is relevant to a wide range of legal and law-related topics. It is especially helpful to researchers interested in the personal papers of lawyers and legal professionals who are Yale graduates, and to those researching the development of civil liberties law, civil rights law, and U.S. foreign relations.


MSSA's law collection is just a portion of the Yale Libraries' rich holdings of primary legal material, which include the substantial collection at the Yale Law School's Lillian Goldman Law Library. Researchers should search the Law Library's catalog as well as the Yale Library catalog for additional material that may supplement their archival research.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Bill Landis, Head of Public Services, Manuscripts and Archives, Sterling Memorial Library
Contact Info
(203) 432-1069
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip