Yale University Library Research Guides: Art History Research at Yale: Find Books

Call Number Ranges

Library of Congress classification system.

See general areas below for subject browsing in the stacks.

N Visual arts
NA Architecture
NB Sculpture
NC Drawing; Design; Illustration
ND Painting
NE Print media
NK Decorative arts
NX Arts in general
TP Chemical technology (includes some ceramics/pottery)
TR Photography
TT Handicrafts; Arts and crafts

ILL/Borrow Direct

Borrow Direct
Borrow books from the libraries of Brown, Columbia, Cornell, Dartmouth, Penn, and Princeton. Most books are available for pick up at a designated Yale library within 4 business days.
Interlibrary Loan
Obtain books, articles, and other research materials from a large network of suppliers. Books are often available for pick up at a designated Yale library within 2 weeks. Copies of articles can be delivered to you electronically and are often available in 1-2 weeks.

Eli Express is a delivery service operating among most of Yale's libraries. It allows library readers to request that books be delivered from any of Yale's participating libraries to the Yale library of their choice. Eli Express requests can be made via Orbis.

Find Books

Primary Sources at Yale
An introduction to what primary sources are, how to use them, and where to find them at the Yale University Library.
Searching Yale University Library Catalogs
The Research Tools section of the Yale University Library Web site is the primary gateway to all of the library's electronic resources, as well as information about the rich print and manuscript collections.

ORBIS is the main online public access catalog (OPAC) for Yale University. ORBIS contains records for over 13 million items located in 22 libraries on the Yale campus and at the Library Shelving Facility.

Library Tutorials
These tutorials serve as a great introduction to searching the Yale University Library through ORBIS and other resources.

Locating books in the Haas Arts Library stacks map

Main Level

Reference Collection

All Oversized (+) books in call number ranges from A through Z
All Current Periodicals

All Open & Closed Reserves

Student Shelves begin

Lower Level

All Regular-sized books in call number ranges from A through Z

All Old Drama Class books

Student Shelves Continue

Art Folios

NJ18
Books in the NJ18 sections of the stacks are monographs on individual artists. They are filed in alphabetical order by artist's last name.
Note: there is an NJ18 regular size section (lower level) and an NJ18 oversize (main level), in the LC class.

Searching Non-Yale Catalogs

WorldCat
A union catalog that lets you search the collections of libraries in your community and thousands more around the world. It contains the majority of collections from almost all the major research libraries in the world. WorldCat will almost certainly meet your searching needs but if you need the most up-to-date information in a specific library collection, go straight to the proper catalog.
Karlsruher Virtueller Katalog
Bibliographic access to 75M+ books and serials titles from European academic, national, and special libraries as well as book trade catalogs.
Art Discovery Group Catalogue
Free Online Library Union Catalogue
Formerly the Virtual Union Catalogue for Art History/VKK, this free search tool is a European specialized union library catalogue. It gives access to more than 6 million records in various European art libraries.

Arts Librarian

Tess Colwell

Email Me

Contact:

Arts Librarian for Research Services, Robert B. Haas Family Arts Library

203-432-2641

Subjects: Architecture, Art and History of Art

Art History Research at Yale: Find Books

Call Number Ranges

ILL/Borrow Direct

Find Books

Searching Non-Yale Catalogs

Arts Librarian

Site Navigation

Yale's Libraries