BibliographiesDictionaries
1) Books2) Articles3) Italian Language Newspapers4) Literary Periodicals5) Electronic Texts
AssociationsLibraries& Book TradeListservs/Newsgroups
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

Italian Language and Literature 

Selected Internet Resources for Italian Studies
Last update: Mar 12th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.yale.edu/italian  Print Guide  RSS Updates

2) Articles             Print Page
  
 

Find Scholarly Articles on Italian Language & Literature

What's Here

 

Scholarly articles can be found in journals and in books (such as collections and conference proceedings). Most databases will find articles in newspapers and magazines, others include books.You can often retrieve articles from a database. However, the print version of the article may be the best one for your needs. 

 


Key Databases for Articles on Italian Language & Literature ????


AIDA: Articoli italiani di periodici accademici

The Bibliography Articoli italiani di periodici accademici (AIDA) indexes journal articles from journals covering the humanities and social sciences. AIDA's coverage exceeds coverage of the Italian academic press by IBZ. Working together with Italian librarians ensures that the journals indexed in AIDA represent the current Italian literature in the humanities.

IBZ Online

The IBZ is an "international bibliography of periodical literature covering all fields of knowledge." It indexes periodical articles in all subject areas from around the world in German, French and English. Coverage of the printed volumes, including earlier titles, goes back to 1896

Linguistics & language behavior abstracts

The definitive database on the nature and use of language, Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts covers three fundamental areas: research in linguistics (the nature and structure of human speech); research in language.

MLA Bibliography

The MLA Bibliography indexes critical materials on literature and language. Its orientation is literary but it does list some articles focusing on performance. Note that it covers only modern languages -- for resources on classical theater and drama, see the Classics subject guide.

Additional Journal Databases and Indexes ????


An international index to literature on the arts and humanities, indexing the contents of about 6,100 journals, covering about 1,000 fully and about 5,100 selectively.

Humanities Full Text (via WilsonWeb)

Humanities Abstracts indexes and abstracts articles from 400 English-language periodicals in all major scholarly fields. Coverage includes some of the best-known scholarly journals and numerous lesser-known but important periodicals.

How to Find More Journal Indexes

Additional periodical indexes can be located in Orbis by using the following subject headings:

Italian periodicals--Indexes
Linguistics--Bibliography--Periodicals

???????

TIME SAVER: You can often save yourself work by looking at existing bibliographies, which often include both books and articles. You can then locate more recent research by using article indexes and Orbis.


Multi-Database Search

 

You can speed up your research process by searching several databases simultaneously. To do this, you can click on the link above. Or from the library's home page go to the Databases and Article Searching page. Then click on the link for Multi-Database Search (near the top of the page). Along the left there's a column with some options. Under Category, choose Language/Literature. Then choose "Italian" from the list.

The Multi-Database Search feature covers the following databases: Academic Search Premier, AIDA, IBZ Online, MLA Bibliography, Orbis, and Worldcat.

????


 




 

Subject Specialist

Profile ImageJeffry Larson
Contact Info:
Office
Research Services and Collections
226 SML
130 Wall Street (side entrance)
120 High Street (front entrance)
Sterling Memorial Library, Yale University,
P.O. Box 208240, New Haven, CT 06520-8240
Send Email

Subjects:
Romance Languages and Literatures, Linguistics, Classics

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait