BibliographiesDictionaries
1) Books2) Articles3) Italian Language Newspapers4) Literary Periodicals5) Electronic Texts
AssociationsLibraries& Book TradeListservs/Newsgroups
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

Italian Language and Literature 

Selected Internet Resources for Italian Studies
Last update: Mar 12th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.yale.edu/italian  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Dictionaries             Print Page
  
 

Dictionaries

What's Here

 

For a quick piece of information, nothing is easier to use than a basic encylopedia or dictionary. There are many dictionaries and encylopedias on all aspects of language studies.

Searching for Dictionaries and Encyclopedias in ORBIS:

Italian language--Dictionaries--English

Italian language--Etymology--Dictionaries

Italian literature--Dictionaries

Electronic Dicitionaries:

Credo Reference (access restricted to Yale community)
Italiano-Inglese / English-Italian Dictionar
Collins
Italiano-Inglese / English-Italian Dictionary

Lexibase Online Collins Bilingual Dictionaries (access restricted to Yale community)
French, Italian, Spanish dictionary

Dizionario Garzanti
Italian dictionary

Dizionario Virgilio
???

Lessicografia della Crusca in Rete
Web content of the five editions of the Dictionary of academicians.  Content follows the evolutionary steps of lexicographic work of academics and all the changes they made dell'italiano over the centuries.

lexicool.com
Is primarily a directory of "all" the online bilingual and multilingual dictionaries and glossaries freely available on the Internet. It is a resource intended for translators, linguists, language students and all those interested in foreign languages.

LOGOS Dictionary
Freely-accessible multilingual dictionary, compiled without any form of public contribution, is growing constantly because it's updated and corrected on line by our network of professional translators. The dictionary currently has 7.580.560 entries (total for all languages). Logos Dictionary is inevitably prone to errors and will never be complete, but with your contributions and corrections we can improve it and expand it faster.

Opera del Vocabolario Italiano (access restricted to Yale community)
The database contains 1581 vernacular texts (19.1+ million words, 447,675 unique forms, 165 MB of textual data) the majority of which are dated prior to 1375, the year of Boccaccio's death. The verse and prose works include early masters of Italian literature like Dante, Petrarch, and Boccaccio, as well as lesser-known and obscure texts by poets, merchants, and medieval chroniclers. The OVI database was created to aid in the compilation of an historical dictionary of the Italian language, the Tesoro della lingua italiana delle origini, (portions of which are now available online). The fully-searchable ItalNet implementation of the OVI database presented here has been produced in order to enable scholars around the world to benefit from this rich textual resource.

Do you want these added???

Parole nuove

R-O-Matic Italian/English Dictionary
Tesoro della Lingua Italiana delle Origini
travlang's Translating Dictionaries
Il Vocabolario del fiorentino contemporaneo
Vocabolario della Crusca (1612)
Wordreference.com: Online French, Italian and Spanish Dictionary
yourDictionary.com
La banca dati del Fondo dei Citati
 

Subject Specialist

Profile ImageJeffry Larson
Contact Info:
Office
Research Services and Collections
226 SML
130 Wall Street (side entrance)
120 High Street (front entrance)
Sterling Memorial Library, Yale University,
P.O. Box 208240, New Haven, CT 06520-8240
Send Email

Subjects:
Romance Languages and Literatures, Linguistics, Classics

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait