1) Books and Plays2) Articles3) Videos4) Sound Media5) Online Plays & Documents6) Reviews & Popular Journalism7) Photos & Illustrations8) Archives & Microfilms at Yale9) Archives (etc) Outside Yale
Annuals & DirectoriesBibliographiesBiographical InformationDictionaries & EncyclopediasGroups, Shows, Awards etcPlay Catalogs & IndexesPlot OutlinesProfessional OrganizationsWeb Portals & Other Guides
Acting, Directing, Stage ManagementDanceDesign & TechnologyHistory, Theory & CriticismMusical TheaterPlaywriting & DramaturgyTheater Management/Production
Famous PeopleFrequently Asked QuestionsTheaters, Groups & Events
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

Theater and Dance Research Guide 

The Theater and Dance Research Guide provides a guide to key resources and crucial search strategies for these and related subjects, such as musical theater and performance art.
Last update: Nov 05th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.yale.edu/theater  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Acting, Directing, Stage Management            Print Page
  
 

Resources for the Professional and Scholarly Study of Acting, Directing and Stage Management

What's Here

 

Acting, directing and stage management are areas of both professional training, and scholarship or analysis (such as the history of acting and acting theories).  The two aspects interact: actors and directors often read (say) theories of acting, such as Method Acting, and theories about acting and directing often emerge from practice.

 

A topic related to directing as a profession is producing for the theater.  Many heads of theater companies both direct and produce, and the topics are placed together in Orbis (Library of Congress) subject headings.  But see the Theater Management/Production page for further resources.

 

This page explains various ways to find materials on both topics in Orbis by using Subject searches.


Acting and Directing in General

 

The following subject headings will include books on practical, theoretical and historical aspects of acting, directing and stage management.

Acting

Directing

Stage Management

For information on the work and/or lives of particular actors and directors, see Biographical Information.


Actor Training and Skills

 

Here are the main subject headings for aspects of professional acting:

See the pages on Sound Media and Videos to locate training/instructional materials.

 

Of possible use:

 

British Sound Archives: Accents and Dialects

Has samplings of accents from around England (does not include Scotland, Ireland or Wales), including many rural and urban locations, going back to the 1950s.

Proper Elizabethan Accents

"Meant for the faire worker, but suitable for the scholar... " Created for participants in Renaissance Faires, this site includes a short bibliography of sources for the study of Elizabethan language and some "fairly cheezy soundclips" to demonstrate proper pronunciation.

 


Professional Association Websites

 

Actors Equity

 

League of Resident Theatres

 

Society of Stage Directors and Choreographers

 

Theatre Communications Group

 

Librarian for Performing Arts, Media & Philosophy

Profile ImageTobin Nellhaus
Contact Info:
226 Sterling Memorial Library
Yale University
130 Wall Street, P.O. Box 208240
New Haven, CT 06520-8240
Tel: 203.432.8212
Send Email

Subjects:
Film, theater, philosophy, media, journalism, dance, musical theater, graphic novels, cyberculture, Bass DVD Collection

More Links
Personal Librarian page

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait