Yale Theaters, Groups and Events
What's Here
The links in this section of the Yale Theater website explain provide access to information about the following theater companies and groups:
- Yale Repertory Theatre
- Yale School of Drama
- Cabaret
- Dramat (Yale Dramatic Association)
- Other
See the Famous People page if you're looking for information about actors and playwrights associated with Yale.
Yale Repertory Theatre
YRT is a leading professional American theatre dedicated to the production of new plays and bold interpretations of classics that make immediate connections to contemporary audiences.
Production History
Includes cast and artistic staff information, and indications of world, US and English-language premieres.
- 1966/1967 - 1979/1980 Seasons
- 1980/1981 - 1989/1990 Seasons
- 1990/1991 - 1999/2000 Seasons
- 2000/2001 - 2009/2010 Seasons
Photos: YRT has publicity photos of many recent and some older productions on its Press Photos page.
The Library's Manuscripts and Archives department maintains various sets of records, including:
Please contact Manuscripts and Archives for assistance.
Yale School of Drama
YSD is a graduate professional conservatory for theatre training in every discipline of the art form: acting, design (sets, costumes, lighting and sound), directing, dramaturgy and dramatic criticism, playwriting, stage management, technical design and production, and theater management. More history ....
See also the overview of the Yale School of Drama in Wikipedia.
Production History (summary)
Photos: There are publicity photos of some recent productions by YSD on the YRT Press Photos page.
Videos: Some productions by YSD students have been taped: see Videos from the YSD Collection for a listing.
The Russian Connection: YSD and (to a somewhat lesser extent) YRT have a particularly extensive history of performing plays by Russian authors, adapted from the works of Russian authors, or about Russians. You can download the list of Russians at Yale.
The Library's Manuscripts and Archives department maintains the Yale School of Drama records. Please contact Manuscripts and Archives for assistance.
Yale Cabaret
The Cabaret provides a laboratory for Yale School of Drama students' daring and experimentation.
The Library's Manuscripts and Archives department maintains the Yale Cabaret records. Please contact Manuscripts and Archives for assistance.
Dramat
The Dramat is the largest undergraduate theater organization at Yale. Some productions involve professional directors and designers.
The Library's Manuscripts and Archives department maintains the Records of the Yale Dramatic Association. Please contact Manuscripts and Archives for assistance.
Other
There are many groups doing theater at Yale. Here are some especially prominent ones.
WPP promotes programs in performance studies across departments at Yale. It presents performances, workshops, and lectures by artists and scholars working in dance, theater, music, performance art and cultural performance. Many of the performances are co-produced with YRT and presented in university theater venues.
International Festival of Arts & Ideas
The Arts & Ideas Festival occurs every June. It is independent of Yale, but Yale sponsors and provides venues for many of the performances and presentations.
Librarian for Performing Arts, Media & Philosophy |
226 Sterling Memorial Library
Yale University
130 Wall Street, P.O. Box 208240
New Haven, CT 06520-8240
Tel: 203.432.8212
Send Email
Subjects:
Film, theater, philosophy, media, journalism, dance, musical theater, graphic novels, cyberculture, Bass DVD Collection
More Links
Personal Librarian page
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait