1) Books and Plays2) Articles3) Videos4) Sound Media5) Online Plays & Documents6) Reviews & Popular Journalism7) Photos & Illustrations8) Archives & Microfilms at Yale9) Archives (etc) Outside Yale
Annuals & DirectoriesBibliographiesBiographical InformationDictionaries & EncyclopediasGroups, Shows, Awards etcPlay Catalogs & IndexesPlot OutlinesProfessional OrganizationsWeb Portals & Other Guides
Acting, Directing, Stage ManagementDanceDesign & TechnologyHistory, Theory & CriticismMusical TheaterPlaywriting & DramaturgyTheater Management/Production
Famous PeopleFrequently Asked QuestionsTheaters, Groups & Events
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

Theater and Dance Research Guide 

The Theater and Dance Research Guide provides a guide to key resources and crucial search strategies for these and related subjects, such as musical theater and performance art.
Last update: Nov 05th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.yale.edu/theater  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Famous People            Print Page
  
 

What's Here

What's Here

 

This page offers information on actors, playwrights and directors associated with Yale:

For an overview of the Yale School of Drama, including a list of well-known graduates, see also the Wikipedia article.

 

 

Actors

Well-Known Actors from Yale

  

 

Yale Film Actors Database

This database covers actors (and some directors and playwrights) who received a degree from the Yale School of Drama or went to Yale as an undergraduate.  We cannot vouch for the accuracy and completeness of information in this database, which is produced independently.


Roles Performed by Selected Actors While at the Yale School of Drama

YSD graduates only -- actors who went to Yale as undergrads are not listed (but see the database above).

Angela Bassett

Caris Corfman

Carmen de Lavallade

Tim Douglas

Jill Eikenberry

Malcom Gets

Paul Giamatti

Kathryn Hahn

Jane Kaczmarek

Stacy Keach

Sanaa Lathan

Frances McDormand

Chris Noth

Mark Richard (aka Richard Swierczyk)

Liev Schrieber

John Shea

Meryl Streep

John Turturro

Sigourney Weaver

Henry Winkler

 

Playwrights

Playwrights Associated with Yale

 

Here are some well-known playwrights who either: 

  • studied at the Yale School of Drama (marked A for alum)
  • taught or teach playwriting at either YSD or Yale College (marked YSDF or YF, respectively), or
  • had several plays premiered at Yale Repertory Theatre (marked * for world premieres or + for US premieres)

The playwrights' biographies are from Wikipedia, since Library biographical resources aren't available to the general public.

 

Edward Bond (+)

Lee Blessing (A)

Christopher Durang (A, *)

Erik Ehn (A)

Richard Foreman (A)

Athol Fugard (*)

John Guare (A, *)

A. R. Gurney (A)

David Henry Hwang (A)

Len Jenkin (YSDF, *)

Rolin Jones (A)

Lisa Kron (YSDF)

Romulus Linney (A)

Deb Margolin (YF)

BioPlays

BioPlays

BioPlays

BioPlays

BioPlays

BioPlays

BioPlays

BioPlays

BioPlays

BioPlays

BioPlays

BioPlays

BioPlays

BioPlays

Donald Margulies (YF)

Wendy MacLeod (A)

Terrence McNally (A)

Richard Nelson (YSDF)

Lynn Nottage (YSDF)

Suzan-Lori Parks (A, *)

Ken Prestininzi (YSDF)

Sarah Ruhl (A)

Ted Tally (A)

Paula Vogel (YSDF)

Wendy Wasserstein (A)

Mac Wellman (A)

August Wilson (*)

BioPlays

BioPlays

BioPlays

BioPlays

BioPlays

BioPlays

Bio • Plays

BioPlays

BioPlays

BioPlays

BioPlays

BioPlays

BioPlaysCentury Cycle

 

 

Directors

Plays Directed by Richard Brustein, Dean of the Yale School of Drama 1966-1979

 

Title Season Title Season
   (no production)
   (no production)
   (no production)
Don Juan, or the Enemy of God
Revenger's Tragedy
; Macbeth
   (no production)
The Big House
1966-1967
1967-1968
1968-1969
1969-1970
1970-1971
1971-1972
1972-1973
   (no production)
   (no production)
   (no production)
Don Juan
The Wild Duck

The Sea Gull
1973-1974
1974-1975
1975-1976
1976-1977
1977-1978
1978-1979

 

 

Plays Directed by Lloyd Richards, Dean of the Yale School of Drama 1979-1991

 

Title Season Title Season
Timon of Athens
Hedda Gabler
Uncle Vanya
Johnny Bull
A Doll House
A Touch of the Poet
Major Barbara
Ma Rainey's Black Bottom
1979-1980
1980-1981
1981-1982
1981-1982
1982-1983
1982-1983
1983-1984
1983-1984
Fences
Joe Turner's Come and Gone
   (no production)
The Piano Lesson
Cobb
Two Trains Running
A Moon for the Misbegotten

1984-1985
1985-1986
1986-1987
1987-1988
1988-1989
1990-1991
1991-1992

 

 

Librarian for Performing Arts, Media & Philosophy

Profile ImageTobin Nellhaus
Contact Info:
226 Sterling Memorial Library
Yale University
130 Wall Street, P.O. Box 208240
New Haven, CT 06520-8240
Tel: 203.432.8212
Send Email

Subjects:
Film, theater, philosophy, media, journalism, dance, musical theater, graphic novels, cyberculture, Bass DVD Collection

More Links
Personal Librarian page

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait