1) Books and Plays2) Articles3) Videos4) Sound Media5) Online Plays & Documents6) Reviews & Popular Journalism7) Photos & Illustrations8) Archives & Microfilms at Yale9) Archives (etc) Outside Yale
Annuals & DirectoriesBibliographiesBiographical InformationDictionaries & EncyclopediasGroups, Shows, Awards etcPlay Catalogs & IndexesPlot OutlinesProfessional OrganizationsWeb Portals & Other Guides
Acting, Directing, Stage ManagementDanceDesign & TechnologyHistory, Theory & CriticismMusical TheaterPlaywriting & DramaturgyTheater Management/Production
Famous PeopleFrequently Asked QuestionsTheaters, Groups & Events
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

Theater and Dance Research Guide 

The Theater and Dance Research Guide provides a guide to key resources and crucial search strategies for these and related subjects, such as musical theater and performance art.
Last update: Nov 05th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.yale.edu/theater  Print Guide  RSS Updates

7) Photos & Illustrations            Print Page
  
 

Searching for Materials with Illustrations or Photographs in Orbis

What's Here

 

Images (photos, drawings) can be difficult to find.  Here are some techniques for locating them:

 


Example Subject Headings for Searching Orbis


Books With Images on a Particular Topic

 

Theater, Yiddish--Pictorial works

Actresses--Great Britain--Portraits

Theater--Germany--Pictorial works

Theater--Exhibitions

Wilson, Robert, 1941- --Exhibitions

Kabuki--Illustrations

Shakespeare and illustrations [KEYWORD SEARCH]

 

Be aware that books may happen to include a few illustrations (such as photos). Unfortunately the only way to find such illustrations is to look at the books.


General Image Resources

 

Illustrated Books--Bibliography

Pictures--Catalogs

 


Selected Indexes and Online Resources


Specifically on Performance

 

GloPAC: Global Performing Arts Consortium

GloPAC provides a global performing arts image database, covering both Euro-American and Asian forms of performance, including "popular" genres.

Theater Image Collections Online

Links to many collections of theater images available over the Web.

Theater Images

Large directory including modern and international.

General Image Resources

 

Finding Reproductions of Images

This web page is part of the Yale Arts Library Subject Guide to Art, Architecture, & History of Art, and lists the major print and electronic indexes and resources available at Yale, including call numbers.

Index to Illustrations. Jessie Croft Ellis. Boston: Faxon, 1966.

SML Reference N7525 E45 (LC)

Very detailed subject headings. Also consult the earlier edition, General Index to Illustrations; 22,000 Selected References in All Fields Exclusive of Nature (Boston: 1931).

Illustration Index. Lucile E. Vance and Ester M. Tracey. 2d ed. New York: 1966.

SML Reference N7525 V35 1966

Indexes periodicals and some books covering the period.

Illustration Index. Roger C. Greer. 3d ed. Metuchen, N.J.: 1973.

SML Reference N7525 V35 1973 (LC)

Index illustrations in such periodicals as American Heritage, Ebony, Holiday, National Geographic, etc.

Illustration Index. Marsha Appel. 4th ed. Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow, 1980.

SML Reference N7525 G74 1980 (LC) A/A Reference N7525 G74 1980 (LC)

Index illustrations in such periodicals as American Heritage, Ebony, Holiday, National Geographic, etc.

Picture Searching, Techniques and Tools.  Renata V. Shaw.  New York: Special Libraries Association, 1973.

SML Reference Z1023 S52 (LC)

Lists books that give sources for illustrative material. Some of the areas covered: biography, costume and uniforms film stills, television, performing arts, portraits, social history, etc. Excellent for getting started.

Yale University Digital Collections

Lists the many sources of online images available through the Library.  Some of the databases are specifically for the arts, some derive from special collections at Yale, and others are more general.

 

Librarian for Performing Arts, Media & Philosophy

Profile ImageTobin Nellhaus
Contact Info:
226 Sterling Memorial Library
Yale University
130 Wall Street, P.O. Box 208240
New Haven, CT 06520-8240
Tel: 203.432.8212
Send Email

Subjects:
Film, theater, philosophy, media, journalism, dance, musical theater, graphic novels, cyberculture, Bass DVD Collection

More Links
Personal Librarian page

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait