Bibliographies
What's Here
In the course of your research, keep an eye out for Bibliographies. Bibliographies are a terrific asset to research, because they provide a survey of what has been written already on a given subject.
Finding Bibliographies in ORBIS:
Drama--History and Criticism--Bibliography
Medieval drama and bibliography [Keyword search]
Drama--20th century--history and criticism--bibliography (can sometimes substitute different time periods)
American drama--history and criticism--bibliography (can substitute different subjects, e.g., English drama)
Selected Bibliographies
American Drama Criticism: Interpretations, 1890-1977. Floyd Eugene Eddleman. Hamden, CT: Shoe String Press, 1979.
SML Reference, Z1231 D7 P35 1979 (LC)
Bibliography of the American Theater, Excluding New York City. Carl J. Stratman. Chicago: Loyola, 1965.
LSF Z1231 D7 S84 (LC)
Bibliography of Medieval Drama. Carl J. Stratman. 2d ed., rev. and enl. 2 vol. New York: Unger, 1972.
SML Reference, Z5782 A2 S76 1972 (LC)
Critical Survey of Drama. Frank N. Magill, ed. Pasadena, Calif.: Salem Press, c1994.
SML Reference, PR623 C75 1994
A seven volume survey of British and American Drama including bibliographical references, critical essays on drama, and index.
Drama Bibliography: A Short-Title Guide to Extended Reading in Dramatic Art for the English-Speaking Audience and Students in Theater. Frederick J. Hunter. Boston: G. K. Hall, 1971.
SML Reference, Z5781 H86 (LC)
No annotations and limited almost entirely to English-language publications. Index to authors, editors, subjects.
Drama Criticism. Detroit, Mich.: Gale Research, Inc., 1991- .
Arts & SML Reference, PN1601 +D72 (LC)
A good source of basic criticism on major playwrights.
Drama Criticism: A Checklist of Interpretations Since 1940 of English and American Plays. Arthur Coleman and Gary R. Tyler. Denver: 1966.
Arts Reference & LSF, Z1231 D7 C65
A quick way to find citations to criticism published during the years 1940-1964. Arranged by playwright, then play, with a separate section on Shakespeare.
Dramatic Criticism Index: A Bibliography of Commentaries on Playwrights from Ibsen to the Avant-Garde. Paul F. Breed and Florence M. Sniderman. Detroit: Gale Research, 1972.
SML & Arts Reference, Z5781 B74
Cites criticism found in English-language monographs and periodicals. Arranged by playwright's name. Indexes to critics and to play titles.
English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC)
SML Stacks, Z2002 +P65 (LC)
Also located at Beinecke Reference, British Art Center Reference, and Divinity, Trowbridge Reading Room.
Contains records for works printed in any language in England or its dependencies from 1473 through 1800, as well as works printed in English anywhere else in the world during that period. Subject headings appear in records for items published in 1700 or earlier. Continues: Pollard, Alfred W. and Redgrave, G.W. Short Title Catalogue of books printed in England, Scotland, and Ireland, and of English books printed abroad, 1475-1640. (London: Bibliographical Society, 1976-1991)
English Theatrical Literature, 1559-1900: A Bibliography. James Fullarton Arnott and John William Robinson.London: Society for Theatre Research, 1970.
SML Reference, Z2014 D7 A75 (LC)
Beinecke Reference, Z2014 D7 A75 T
The dates refer to the original publication of the works described; later editions are also included. Opera, pantomime and music halls are included, but not ballet or circus. Indexes to authors, short titles, and places of publication.
Modern Drama: A Checklist of Critical Literature on Twentieth Century Plays. Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow, 1967.
SML Reference, Z5781 A33 (LC)
Includes both general studies and studies of individual plays.
Modern Drama in America and England, 1950-1970: A Guide to Information Sources. Richard H. Harris. Detroit: 1982.
SML Reference, Z1231 D7 H36
Performing Arts/Books in Print; An Annotated Bibliography. Ralph Newman Schoolcraft. New York: Drama Book Specialists, 1973.
SML & Arts Z6935 +S36, (LC)
This is a revised, rewritten, up-dated edition of Theater Books in Print (see above). Presents descriptive information on books concerned with theater, drama, motion pictures, television, radio, the mass media. Arranged by broad aspects of the performing arts. Indexes: author and editor; title; list of publishers, with addresses. For more current books in print, search the online database of Books In Print.
Restoration and Eighteenth Century Theater Research: A Bibliographical Guide 1900-1968. Carl J. Stratman, David G. Spencer, and Mary E. Devine, eds. Carbondale, Ill.: 1971.
SML Reference, Z2014 D7 S87 (LC)
Lists over 6000 studies devoted to dramatic and theatrical activity in the British Isles during the Restoration and 18th century. Index to names, titles, and subjects.
Theatre and Allied Arts: A Guide to Books Dealing with the History, Criticism, and Technic of the Drama and Theatre and Related Arts and Crafts. Blanch M. Baker. New York: Wilson, 1952.
SML Reference & LSF, Z5781 B354 (LC)
Annotated entries often include table of contents. Author and subject indexes. Complete and thorough but old.
Theatre Books in Print: An Annotated Guide to the Literature of the Theater, the Technical Arts of the Theater, Motion Pictures, Television and Radio. A. E. Santaniello. 2d ed. New York: The Drama Book Shop, 1966.
LSF, Z5781 S26 1966 (LC)
Lists books that were in print up to 1965 but useful now as a supplement to Performing Arts in Print (below). Note the Addenda. Indexes: author and editor; title. For more current books in print, search the online database of Books In Print.
United States theatre: a bibliography, from the beginning to 1990. Robert Silvester. New York: G.K. Hall; Romsey, England: Motley Press, 1993.
SML Reference, Z5781 +S55X 1993 (lc)
Wing Short Title Catalog Short Title Catalogue of books printed in England, Scotland, Ireland, Wales, and British America, and of English books printed in other countries, 1641-1700. Donald Wing. New York: Index Committee of the Modern Language Association of America, 1972-1988.
SML, Bibliography Z2002 +W55 (LC)
Also located at Beinecke Reference, British Art Center Reference, Divinity Stack Reference, and Medical/Historical Reference.
Librarian for Performing Arts, Media & Philosophy |
226 Sterling Memorial Library
Yale University
130 Wall Street, P.O. Box 208240
New Haven, CT 06520-8240
Tel: 203.432.8212
Send Email
Subjects:
Film, theater, philosophy, media, journalism, dance, musical theater, graphic novels, cyberculture, Bass DVD Collection
More Links
Personal Librarian page
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait