1) Books and Plays2) Articles3) Videos4) Sound Media5) Online Plays & Documents6) Reviews & Popular Journalism7) Photos & Illustrations8) Archives & Microfilms at Yale9) Archives (etc) Outside Yale
Annuals & DirectoriesBibliographiesBiographical InformationDictionaries & EncyclopediasGroups, Shows, Awards etcPlay Catalogs & IndexesPlot OutlinesProfessional OrganizationsWeb Portals & Other Guides
Acting, Directing, Stage ManagementDanceDesign & TechnologyHistory, Theory & CriticismMusical TheaterPlaywriting & DramaturgyTheater Management/Production
Famous PeopleFrequently Asked QuestionsTheaters, Groups & Events
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

Theater and Dance Research Guide 

The Theater and Dance Research Guide provides a guide to key resources and crucial search strategies for these and related subjects, such as musical theater and performance art.
Last update: Nov 05th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.yale.edu/theater  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Plot Outlines            Print Page
  
 

Plot Outlines

What's Here

 

Need a reminder of a play's plot? This is the place!

 


Searching for Plot Outlines in ORBIS:

 

Plots (Drama, novel, etc.)

 

Operas--Stories, plots, etc.

 

Drama--Stories, plots, etc.

 

American drama--Stories, plots, etc.

 


Selected Sources of Plot Synopses

 

A Digest of 500 Plays; Plot Outlines and Production Notes. Theodore J. Shank. New York: Crowell-Collier, 1963.

SML Reference, PN6112.5 S52 1963

Arts Reference, Ba 65 P4527

 

Digests of Great American Plays: Complete Summaries of More than 100 Plays from the Beginnings to the Present. John Lovell. New York: Crowell, 1961.

SML Reference, PS338 P5 L68

 

Drury's Guide to Best Plays. Francis K.W. Drury. Washington: 1987.

SML Stacks & Reference, Z5781 D78 1987

 

Masterplots; Combined Edition: Fifteen Hundred and Ten Plot-Stories and Essay-Reviews from the World's Fine Literature. Frank N. Magill, ed. New York: 1960.

SML Reference, PN44 M352 1950

Continued by: Masterplots Annual. 1954-. SML Z1035 A1 M37

 

Masterplots II. Drama series. Ed. Frank N. Magill. Pasadena, Calif. : Salem Press, 1990.

SML Reference, PN6112.5 M37 1990

 

The New Theater Handbook and Digest of Plays. Bernard Sobel. 8th ed. New York: Crown, 1959.

SML & Bass Reference, PN1625 S62 1959

 

Outlines of British Drama, 1497-1642. Karl J. Holzknecht. New York: Barnes and Noble, 1947.

LSF, PR651 H66

 

The Plots of Some of the Most Famous Old English Plays. Henry Grey.London: 1900.

LSF, PR635 P7 G74 1900

 

The Reader's Encyclopedia of World Drama. Ed. John Gassner and Edward Quinn. New York: Crowell, 1969.

Bass Reference, PN1625 G37

Gives biographical data and critical material on playwrights; synopses of major plays; historical surveys of national dramas. Most entries include brief bibliography.

 

 

Librarian for Performing Arts, Media & Philosophy

Profile ImageTobin Nellhaus
Contact Info:
226 Sterling Memorial Library
Yale University
130 Wall Street, P.O. Box 208240
New Haven, CT 06520-8240
Tel: 203.432.8212
Send Email

Subjects:
Film, theater, philosophy, media, journalism, dance, musical theater, graphic novels, cyberculture, Bass DVD Collection

More Links
Personal Librarian page

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait