Archival and Manuscript MaterialsBibliographiesGeneral ReferenceGeneral ResourcesIndexes and AbstractsJournalsLocate Materials at YaleOnline Books
Middle EnglishOld EnglishRenaissance EnglishRestoration / 18th Century EnglishThe Bible as Literature
19th Century American Literature19th Century English20th Century EnglishAmerican LiteratureContemporary Irish LiteratureLiterary Theory
AfricanAustralian / New ZealanderCanadianCaribbeanSouth Asian - IndianSouth Asian - Pakistani
Children's LiteratureGenre Fiction
AssociationsDiscussion Lists
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

English Language and Literature Research Guide 

A research guide for English.
Last update: Nov 04th, 2008 URL: http://guides.library.yale.edu/english  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Indexes and Abstracts             Print Page
  
 

Graphic

 
 

Selected Yale Resources

Use these indexes and abstracts to identify articles in journals. Some of these databases include the full text of articles, others provide only citations. If you do not find the full text of the article you are seeking, perform a title search in Orbis for the name of the journal to find out if Yale owns the particular volume you need.

Abstracts of English studies

Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL)) (London: Modern Humanities Research Association, 1920- )
SML, Reference Z2011 M63 (LC)
Academic Search (EBSCOhost)
EBSCO host's Academic Search database provides access to journal articles in most academic areas of study. It includes full-text coverage of nearly 1,700 journals from 1990 to the present and abstracts/indexing of nearly 3,000 journals from 1984 to the present.
Academic Universe (Dayton, Ohio: LEXIS-NEXIS, 1995- )
Academic Universe is a Web-based full-text news and information service that provides access to newspapers, magazines, transcripts, business and legal information and much more.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (Philadelphia: Institute for Scientific Information, 1975- )
SML, Reference Z5937 +A795 (LC)
Connect to Arts & Humanities Search online through the Web of Science
Dissertation Abstracts International (Ann Arbor, MI: University Microfilms International, 1861-)
Dissertations and Theses - Full Text
ProQuest's Dissertation and Theses - Full Text contains more than 2 million entries with information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. It is the same database as Dissertation Abstracts, but with the significant advantage that titles published since 1997 are available in PDF digital format and have 24 page previews available.
If there is no option to download the fulltext of a post-1997 dissertation, this means that the author has refused to grant these rights.
Gale Literary Databases
Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select (CLC Select) and Dictionary of Literary Biography (DLB)-information on the lives and writings of nearly 100,000 authors along with critical reaction to their works. This series includes integrated indexes to both the DLB and CLC print series.
 
International Medieval Bibliography (Leeds, England: University of Leeds, 1967- )
SML, Reference Z6203 I585 (LC)
Literature Online with MLA
English and American poetry, drama and prose, plus biographies, bibliographies and key criticism and reference resources. A search in this database also automatically searches the MLA Bibliography, Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL) (the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature), and selected Web resources chosen by the editors. Search results in Literature Online also link directly from this database to EEBO (Early English Books Online).
Lit Finder
Lit Finder is a literature resource, international in scope and covering all time periods, comprised of five databases that provide extensive full-text content in English or English translation of the works included.
MLA Bibliography (New York: Modern Language Association of America, 1921- )
SML, Reference Z7006 M63 (LC)
Periodicals Contents Index (Alexandria, VA: Chadwyck-Healey, 1993-)
WilsonWeb
A collection of periodical indexing databases covering the Arts, Humanities, Sciences, and Social Sciences. You can search the databases separately, or use WilsonWeb's Check Relevant Databases feature at the bottom of the initial search screen to search across multiple databases simultaneously.
 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageTodd Gilman
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait