This is the "Home" page of the "Film Studies Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
1) Books2) Articles3) Film Reviews4) Films & Videos5) Screenplays/Filmscripts6) Archives & Institutes
AnimationCritical Approaches & ProblemsDirectors, Actors, Writers, etc.Filmmaking, Producing, etc.Genres, Styles, Categories, SeriesHistory and/of FilmInternational CinemaLiterature & FilmMovie Business & StudiosMusic & Sound in MoviesSocial & Other AspectsThemes, Subjects & CharactersVideo Art 
Annuals & DirectoriesBibliographies & FilmographiesBiographies, Credits & PlotsDictionaries & EncyclopediasFestivals & AwardsGuides & Companions to FilmsIn-Depth Research GuidesOrganizations & AssociationsUse of Films/Videos in TeachingWeb Portals
American Avant-Garde Cinema (Film 323: Terri Francis)Blaxpoitation Reexamined (Film 373: Terri Francis)Close Analysis of Film (Film 320: Terri Francis)Film and History (Hist 456/AmSt 412/Film 405: Seth Fein)

Admin Sign In 

Film Studies Research Guide 

A guide to conducting research in Film Studies at Yale University, including key resources and crucial search strategies.
Last update: Feb 03rd, 2010 URL: http://guides.library.yale.edu/film  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home            Print Page
  
 

Welcome!

About this Guide


This website provides a guide to conducting research in Film Studies at Yale University, highlighting key resources and crucial search strategies.  There are many special aspects to doing Film Studies research, including:

  • important but unintuitive search terms, such as "motion pictures"
  • techniques for finding videos, reviews and screenplays
  • intersecting topics, such as how a social group is represented on screen (its role in front of the camera) and its position within the film industry (its role behind the camera)
  • major topics (such as financial aspects) that are less prominent in other fields within the arts and humanities
  • cast and crew information
  • and much more

Through this website, I try to give you some ways to crack open Film Studies' numerous subjects.  Most of the pages give examples that you can use as a model for your searches, descriptions of the main resources, and tips on how to use certain databases.

 

It's important to know that even though the guide focuses on strategies for finding books, often the same or similar approaches will work in article databases.

 

There are also pages for particular classes, and every month I provide a list of books (and sometimes microfilms, databases and other resources) that the Library acquired the month before.

 

Have questions?  Want to discuss your research needs?  Please contact me!

 

About the Film Studies Librarian

My official title is "Librarian for Performing Arts, Media and Philosophy," and I select materials (books, databases, videos, microfilms, etc) in lots of interconnected fields: film, theater, philosophy, TV and radio, graphic novels, dance, journalism, cyberculture, performance art, circus ... you get the picture!  I also acquire the DVDs for the Yale College Council collection in Bass Library.

 

My PhD is from the Interdisciplinary Program in Theater from Northwestern University.  I did my undergrad at the University of Michigan (Residential College, Comparative Literature), and I have both an MA (Comparative Literature, University of Iowa) and an MLS (Simmons College Graduate School of Library Science).  I've published mainly in theater history and theory, and also in social theory and digital humanities.  In addition I've taught theater history and theory at Ohio State University, the University of Washington, Tufts University, and the University of Helsinki.

 

You are welcome to contact me about your research and resources that you need -- see the information in the box in the right column.

 

Recommended Reading


  • The Craft of Research - Booth, Colomb, Williams
    Call Number: Bass and Bass Reference, Q180.55.M4 B66X 2008
    This is an enormously helpful book pitched at the perfect level of sophistication for Yale students. Especially useful is chapter 3, which discusses how to turn a general interest in a subject into a focused research question or problem. This is a crucial step in any research project and one that is often given too little thought. The link above takes you to an e-book version of the 2nd edition.
 

Librarian for Performing Arts, Media & Philosophy

Profile ImageTobin Nellhaus
Contact Info:
226 Sterling Memorial Library
Yale University
130 Wall Street, P.O. Box 208240
New Haven, CT 06520-8240
Tel: 203.432.8212
Send Email

Subjects:
Film, theater, philosophy, media, journalism, dance, musical theater, graphic novels, cyberculture, Bass DVD Collection

More Links
My Personal Librarian page
My Subject Specialist page

Related Websites

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait