1) Books2) Articles3) Film Reviews4) Films & Videos5) Screenplays/Filmscripts6) Archives & Institutes
AnimationCritical Approaches & ProblemsDirectors, Actors, Writers, etc.Filmmaking, Producing, etc.Genres, Styles, Categories, SeriesHistory and/of FilmInternational CinemaLiterature & FilmMovie Business & StudiosMusic & Sound in MoviesSocial & Other AspectsThemes, Subjects & CharactersVideo Art 
Annuals & DirectoriesBibliographies & FilmographiesBiographies, Credits & PlotsDictionaries & EncyclopediasFestivals & AwardsGuides & Companions to FilmsIn-Depth Research GuidesOrganizations & AssociationsUse of Films/Videos in TeachingWeb Portals
American Avant-Garde Cinema (Film 323: Terri Francis)Blaxpoitation Reexamined (Film 373: Terri Francis)Close Analysis of Film (Film 320: Terri Francis)Film and History (Hist 456/AmSt 412/Film 405: Seth Fein)
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

Film Studies Research Guide 

A guide to conducting research in Film Studies at Yale University, including key resources and crucial search strategies.
Last update: Nov 20th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.yale.edu/film  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Literature & Film            Print Page
  
 

Literature & Film

What's Here


Films are often based on novels, short stories and plays.  This page lists a selection of bibliographies and guides about literature and film. More resources can be found by searching in Orbis with subject headings such as:

  • Motion pictures and literature
  • Film adaptations
  • Film and video adaptations
  • English literature--Film and video adaptations

 


Ingrid Bergman, from the Crawford Collection

Selected Resources on Literature and Film

Books and plays in films, 1896-1915: literary, theatrical, and artistic sources of the first twenty years of motion pictures. Denis Gifford. (Jefferson, N.C.: McFarland, 1991)
SML Stacks, PN1997.85 G54 1991 (LC)

A companion to literature and film. Ed. Robert Stam and Alessandra Raengo. (Malden, MA; Oxford: Blackwell Pub., 2004)
SML Reference, PN1995.3 .C65X 2004 and Online

Enser's filmed books and plays: a list of books and plays from which films have been made, 1928-1991. Ellen Baskin. (Aldershot, Hants., England; Brookfield, Vt., USA: Ashgate, 1993)
SML Reference, Z5784 M9 B385X 1993

Fiction Into Film Database
A searchable list of movies and TV shows based on works of fiction. The database only covers science fiction, fantasy and horror.

Film as literature, literature as film: an introduction to and bibliography of film's relationship to literature. Harris Ross. (New York: Greenwood, 1987)
SML Reference Z5784 M9 R66 1987

International guide to literature on film. Tom Costello. (London: Bowker-Saur, 1994)
SML Reference, PN1997.85 I57 1994

Literature and film: an annotated bibliography, 1909-1977. Jeffrey Egan Welch. (New York: Garland, 1981)
SML Reference, Z5784 M9 W37

Literature and film: an annotated bibliography, 1978-1988. Jeffrey Egan Welch. (New York: Garland Pub., 1993)
SML Reference, Z5784 M9 W37 1993

Stories into film. Ed. William Kittredge and Steven Krauzer. (New York: Harper and Row, 1979)
Bass Stacks, PN6014 S87

Women writers, from page to screen. Jill Rubinson Fenton ... [et al.]. (New York: Garland Pub., 1990)
Bass Stacks, PN1997.85 W66 1990

Writers on the American screen: a guide to film adaptations of American and foreign literary works. Larry Langman. (New York: Garland, 1986)
Bass Reference, Z5784 M9 L28 1986
 

Librarian for Performing Arts, Media & Philosophy

Profile ImageTobin Nellhaus
Contact Info:
226 Sterling Memorial Library
Yale University
130 Wall Street, P.O. Box 208240
New Haven, CT 06520-8240
Tel: 203.432.8212
Send Email

Subjects:
Film, theater, philosophy, media, journalism, dance, musical theater, graphic novels, cyberculture, Bass DVD Collection

More Links
Personal Librarian page

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait