1) Books2) Articles3) Film Reviews4) Films & Videos5) Screenplays/Filmscripts6) Archives & Institutes
AnimationCritical Approaches & ProblemsDirectors, Actors, Writers, etc.Filmmaking, Producing, etc.Genres, Styles, Categories, SeriesHistory and/of FilmInternational CinemaLiterature & FilmMovie Business & StudiosMusic & Sound in MoviesSocial & Other AspectsThemes, Subjects & CharactersVideo Art 
Annuals & DirectoriesBibliographies & FilmographiesBiographies, Credits & PlotsDictionaries & EncyclopediasFestivals & AwardsGuides & Companions to FilmsIn-Depth Research GuidesOrganizations & AssociationsUse of Films/Videos in TeachingWeb Portals
American Avant-Garde Cinema (Film 323: Terri Francis)Blaxpoitation Reexamined (Film 373: Terri Francis)Close Analysis of Film (Film 320: Terri Francis)Film and History (Hist 456/AmSt 412/Film 405: Seth Fein)
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

Film Studies Research Guide 

A guide to conducting research in Film Studies at Yale University, including key resources and crucial search strategies.
Last update: Nov 20th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.yale.edu/film  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Animation            Print Page
  
 

Animation and Animated Films

What's Here


This page lists a selection of printed and online reference resources on animated films.

 

For a more comprehensive list, do a Subject search in Orbis.  Here are some example subject headings:

  • Animation (Cinematography)
  • Animated films
  • Animators
  • Computer animation
  • Clay animation films

Selected Resources on Animation

Animated film encyclopedia: a complete guide to American shorts, features and sequences 1900-1979. Graham Webb. Jefferson, N.C.; London: McFarland, c2000.
SML Reference NC1766 U5 W43 2000
Animated movie guide. Jerry Beck. Chicago: Chicago Review Press, 2005.
SML Reference NC1765 .B367X 2005

Anime encyclopedia: a guide to Japanese animation since 1917. Jonathan Clements and Helen McCarthy. Berkeley, Calif.: Stone Bridge Press, 2006.
SML Reference NC1766.J3 C53X 2006
Bass Stacks NC1766.J3 C53X 2006
Animation 101
News, history and "how-to's."

Animation Web Portals: Google; Yahoo

Animation, a reference guide. Thomas W. Hoffer. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1981.
Bass Stacks TR897.5 H63 (LC)
Art Reference TR897.5 H63 (LC)
A guide to resources for the study of animation.

Encyclopedia of animated cartoons. Jeff Lenburg. New York: Facts on File, Inc., c1999.
SML Reference NC1766 U5 L46X 1999 (LC)+

The History of Animation
Provides information about the traditional and computer forms of animated entertainment.

Origins of American Animation. Library of Congress.
The development of early American animation is represented by this collection of 21 animated films and 2 fragments, which spans the years 1900 to 1921. The films include clay, puppet, and cut-out animation, as well as pen drawings. They point to a connection between newspaper comic strips and early animated films, as represented by Keeping Up With the Joneses, Krazy Kat, and The Katzenjammer Kids. As well as showing the development of animation, these films also reveal the social attitudes of early twentieth-century America.

Yale Anime Society
Information about screenings and anime videos available at Yale, and more.
 

Librarian for Performing Arts, Media & Philosophy

Profile ImageTobin Nellhaus
Contact Info:
226 Sterling Memorial Library
Yale University
130 Wall Street, P.O. Box 208240
New Haven, CT 06520-8240
Tel: 203.432.8212
Send Email

Subjects:
Film, theater, philosophy, media, journalism, dance, musical theater, graphic novels, cyberculture, Bass DVD Collection

More Links
Personal Librarian page

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait