1) Books2) Articles3) Film Reviews4) Films & Videos5) Screenplays/Filmscripts6) Archives & Institutes
AnimationCritical Approaches & ProblemsDirectors, Actors, Writers, etc.Filmmaking, Producing, etc.Genres, Styles, Categories, SeriesHistory and/of FilmInternational CinemaLiterature & FilmMovie Business & StudiosMusic & Sound in MoviesSocial & Other AspectsThemes, Subjects & CharactersVideo Art 
Annuals & DirectoriesBibliographies & FilmographiesBiographies, Credits & PlotsDictionaries & EncyclopediasFestivals & AwardsGuides & Companions to FilmsIn-Depth Research GuidesOrganizations & AssociationsUse of Films/Videos in TeachingWeb Portals
American Avant-Garde Cinema (Film 323: Terri Francis)Blaxpoitation Reexamined (Film 373: Terri Francis)Close Analysis of Film (Film 320: Terri Francis)Film and History (Hist 456/AmSt 412/Film 405: Seth Fein)
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

Film Studies Research Guide 

A guide to conducting research in Film Studies at Yale University, including key resources and crucial search strategies.
Last update: Nov 20th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.yale.edu/film  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Filmmaking, Producing, etc.            Print Page
  
 

Filmmaking, Producing, and Other Parts of the Filmmaking Process

What's Here


This page concerns the process of making films -- producing, directing, editing, and so forth -- both as a subject for scholarship and as information for students interested in making films themselves.

 

Below you find explanations of how to find books on filmmaking, and selected websites for filmmakers.

 

The topics covered on this page may overlap with some other pages in thie subject guide:

 



Books


New books on filmmaking appear constantly, in part because film technology and the movie business are ever-changing.  Consequently, rather than list titles here, I will recommend that you search for the following subject headings in Orbis (the links will open a window or tab with the search):

For other aspects of movie-making, see:



Selected Websites

From the Crawford Collection, Yale University Library Manuscripts and Archives.
Filmmaking.com
Online filmmaking portal to a variety of resources. Includes quicklinks to articles, dictionaries, directories, tutorials, filmmaking periodicals, interviews, and schools and universities. Also has links to general resources on film theory, studios, news & media.
 
Google Filmmaking Directory
 
Independent Feature Project (IFP)
Provides directories and resources for the independent film and audiovisual professional.
 
IndieWIRE
Online resource for independent filmmakers.
 
MovieMaker.com
Online site for MovieMaker magazine, "the art and business of making movies." Includes helpful production links, articles, and more.

Women Make Movies
The largest distributor of women's media in North America. Includes links to other sites on women in film and video.
 

Librarian for Performing Arts, Media & Philosophy

Profile ImageTobin Nellhaus
Contact Info:
226 Sterling Memorial Library
Yale University
130 Wall Street, P.O. Box 208240
New Haven, CT 06520-8240
Tel: 203.432.8212
Send Email

Subjects:
Film, theater, philosophy, media, journalism, dance, musical theater, graphic novels, cyberculture, Bass DVD Collection

More Links
Personal Librarian page

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait