1) Books2) Articles3) Film Reviews4) Films & Videos5) Screenplays/Filmscripts6) Archives & Institutes
AnimationCritical Approaches & ProblemsDirectors, Actors, Writers, etc.Filmmaking, Producing, etc.Genres, Styles, Categories, SeriesHistory and/of FilmInternational CinemaLiterature & FilmMovie Business & StudiosMusic & Sound in MoviesSocial & Other AspectsThemes, Subjects & CharactersVideo Art 
Annuals & DirectoriesBibliographies & FilmographiesBiographies, Credits & PlotsDictionaries & EncyclopediasFestivals & AwardsGuides & Companions to FilmsIn-Depth Research GuidesOrganizations & AssociationsUse of Films/Videos in TeachingWeb Portals
American Avant-Garde Cinema (Film 323: Terri Francis)Blaxpoitation Reexamined (Film 373: Terri Francis)Close Analysis of Film (Film 320: Terri Francis)Film and History (Hist 456/AmSt 412/Film 405: Seth Fein)
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

Film Studies Research Guide 

A guide to conducting research in Film Studies at Yale University, including key resources and crucial search strategies.
Last update: Nov 20th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.yale.edu/film  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Annuals & Directories            Print Page
  
 

Annuals & Directories

What's Here


Annuals and directories provide year-by-year information about developments (both recent and past) in filmmaking in the US and around the world, changes in the film industry, and contacts for people within the movie business.  Some of these resources go as far back as 1905.

 

There is a list of selected annuals and directories below. See also Biographies, Credits and Plots and Film Dictionaries and Encyclopedias.

 


Charlie Chaplin in "The Immigrant." From the Crawford Collection, Yale University Library Manuscripts and Archives.


Selected Annuals and Directories

Annual index to motion picture credits. (Westport, Conn., Greenwood Press. 1978-)
SML Stacks, PN1993 +A48

Annuario del cinema italiano & audiovisivi. (Roma: Centro di studi di cultura, promozione e difusione del cinema, 1993-)
SML Stacks, PN1993.5 I88 A7
Blu-book film, TV & commercial production directory. (Los Angeles, CA: Hollywood Reporter, 1999-)
SML Reference, PN1998 A1 +H6 (LC)
British Film Institute. Annual report. (London: BFI, 1989-)
SML Stacks, PN1993.5 G7 +B73

Chronicle of the cinema. Dir. Catherine Legrand. London; New York: Dorling Kindersley, 1997.
SML Reference, PN1993.45 .E53X 2005

Cinema year by year, 1894-2003. Editor in chief, Robyn Karney. London; New York: DK Publishing, 2003.
SML Reference, PN1993.5 A1 C56 2003

Cinema pressbooks from the original studio collections [microform] 1919-1949. (Woodbridge, Conn.: Research Publications; Reading, Berkshire, United Kingdom: Research Publications, 1988.)
SML Microform Room, Film B18273

Directory of members - Directors Guild of America. Hollywood.
LSF, PN1998 A1 D57 (Most volume 1999)
Film review annual. (Englewood, N.J.: Jerome S. Ozer, 1981- )
Bass Stacks, PN1995 F543 LATEST ISSUE ONLY
SML Stacks, PN1995 F543

The Film Daily Year Book. (Annual publication of The Film Daily)
SML Stacks, Yale Classification Hae61 F48 (1922-69) and Hae61 F48+ (1919/1920) [NB: some volumes missing]
Also located in the Film Studies Center (uncatalogued; some volumes missing)
See Also
The Film Daily: the daily newspaper of motion pictures.
SML Microform Room, Film S3516
Vol. 19, no. 1 (Jan. 1, 1922)-v. 132, no. 52 (Mar. 15, 1968)
Wid's daily [microform].
Vol. 5, no. 1 (May 8, 1918)-v. 18, no. 89 (Dec. 31, 1921).
 
Hollywood Creative Directory Online
Contact information for the film, television and new media industries. Requires paid subscription.

Motion picture almanac and International motion picture almanac. (New York: Quigley Publications)
SML Stacks, PN1993.3 I58
Bass Reference, PN1993.3 I58
Arts Library Reference, PN1993.3 +I58
Microtext Room, Film S3852

Magill's cinema annual. (Englewood Cliffs, N.J.: Salem Press, 1982-)
SML Stacks, PN1993.3 +M34 (latest volume in SML reference)
 
The motion picture guide annual. (Chicago: Cinebooks, 1987-)
SML Reference, PN1995 +N3461
 
Roger Ebert’s movie yearbook. (Kansas City, MO: Andrews McMeel Pub., 1998-)
SML Stacks, PN1995 E318 (latest volume in Bass Reference)
 
Screen world. (New York, N.Y.: Crown Publishers, 1982-)
SML Stacks, PN1993.3 D35 (latest volume in SML reference)
Arts Library Reference, PN1993.3 D35

Variety. (New York: [Variety Pub. Co.], 1905- )
Current issues in SML Periodical Room (Section X-9) and Arts Library, Periodicals
SML Microform Room, Film S2206

Variety international film guide. Formerly the International film guide. London: Andre Deutsch; Hollywood: Samuel French, c1989-
SML Stacks, PN1993.3 I575 (latest volume in SML Reference)

Yearbook. European Audiovisual Observatory.
SML Stacks, HE8700.9 E8 S72 (LC)+
 
 

Librarian for Performing Arts, Media & Philosophy

Profile ImageTobin Nellhaus
Contact Info:
226 Sterling Memorial Library
Yale University
130 Wall Street, P.O. Box 208240
New Haven, CT 06520-8240
Tel: 203.432.8212
Send Email

Subjects:
Film, theater, philosophy, media, journalism, dance, musical theater, graphic novels, cyberculture, Bass DVD Collection

More Links
Personal Librarian page

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait