1) Books2) Articles3) Film Reviews4) Films & Videos5) Screenplays/Filmscripts6) Archives & Institutes
AnimationCritical Approaches & ProblemsDirectors, Actors, Writers, etc.Filmmaking, Producing, etc.Genres, Styles, Categories, SeriesHistory and/of FilmInternational CinemaLiterature & FilmMovie Business & StudiosMusic & Sound in MoviesSocial & Other AspectsThemes, Subjects & CharactersVideo Art 
Annuals & DirectoriesBibliographies & FilmographiesBiographies, Credits & PlotsDictionaries & EncyclopediasFestivals & AwardsGuides & Companions to FilmsIn-Depth Research GuidesOrganizations & AssociationsUse of Films/Videos in TeachingWeb Portals
American Avant-Garde Cinema (Film 323: Terri Francis)Blaxpoitation Reexamined (Film 373: Terri Francis)Close Analysis of Film (Film 320: Terri Francis)Film and History (Hist 456/AmSt 412/Film 405: Seth Fein)
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

Film Studies Research Guide 

A guide to conducting research in Film Studies at Yale University, including key resources and crucial search strategies.
Last update: Nov 20th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.yale.edu/film  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias            Print Page
  
 

Film Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

What's Here


One generally thinks of dictionaries as books defining language, and encyclopedias as books providing short explanations, histories and biographies. But when a subject is more specialized, for all practical purposes they become indistinguishable. A book described as a dictionary may have more extensive biographies and plot summaries than a book described as an encyclopedia. They all provide quick sources of information and explanations.

 

On this page you will find examples of both general and specialized film dictionaries and encyclopedias, and how to locate them:

See also the information at Biographies, Credits and Plots and Guides & Companions.

 


Examples of Subject Headings for Searching Orbis

  • Motion pictures--Encyclopedias
  • Motion pictures--Dictionaries
  • Film criticism--Dictionaries
  • Cinematography--Dictionaries
  • Cinematography--Encyclopedias
  • Motion picture industry--Dictionaries
  • Sound motion pictures--Encyclopedias
  • Motion pictures--Spain--Dictionaries
  • Motion pictures--India--Encyclopedias
  • Hispanic Americans in motion pictures--Encyclopedias
  • Motion pictures--Dictionaries--German
  • Comedy films--United States--Encyclopedias

 


Selected Film Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Critical dictionary of film and television theory. Edited by Roberta E. Pearson and Philip Simpson. London; New York: Routledge, 2001.
SML Reference, PN1993.45 C75 2001

Dictionary of film terms: the aesthetic companion to film art. Frank Eugene Beaver. New York: Peter Lang, 2006.
SML Reference, PN1993.45 .B33X 2006

Encyclopedia of British film. Ed. Brian McFarlane. London: Methuen, 2005
SML Reference, PN1993.5.G7 M43 2005

Encyclopedia of early cinema. Ed. Richard Abel. London; New York: Routledge, 2005.
SML Reference, PN1993.45 .E53X 2005

Encyclopedia of ethnic groups in Hollywood. James Robert Parish. Facts on File, Inc.: New York, NY, 2003.
SML Reference, PN1995.9 M56 E63 2003

Encyclopaedia of Indian cinema. Ashish Rajadhyaksha, Paul Willemen. London: British Film Institute; New Delhi: Oxford University Press, 1999.
SML Reference, PN1993.5 I8 +R277X 1999
 
The film encyclopedia. Ephraim Katz. New York: Collins, 2005.
SML Reference, PN 1993.45 K34 2005
One of the most frequently used single-volume film encyclopedias.  Although brief biographies predominate, there are also entries on film terminology, filmmaking in various countries, etc.

The film studies dictionary. Steve Blandford, Barry Keith Grant, Jim Hillier. London: New York: Oxford University Press, 2001.
SML Reference, PN1993.45 B53 2001
 
Filmmaker's dictionary. Ralph S. Singleton and James A. Conrad. Hollywood, CA: Lone Eagle Pub. Co., 2000.
SML Reference, PN1993.45 S56 2000

Historical dictionary of French cinema. Dayna Oscherwitz and MaryEllen Higgins. Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 2007.
SML Reference, PN1993.5.F7 O83X 2007

The International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers. Ed. Nicholas Thomas. 4th ed. Chicago: St. James, 2000.
SML Reference, PN1994 +I58 2000
Contents: v. 1, Films; v. 2, Directors; v. 3, Actors and Actresses; v. 4, Writers and Production Artists. Includes films and personalities from all periods, places and times. Concise detailed essays that include substantial bibliographies and filmographies.

Movie Review Glossary

New York Times Encyclopedia of Film. New York: Times Books, 1984.
SML Reference, PN1993 + N465 1984
13 volume encyclopedia contains reprints of every film article published in the New York Times through 1983.

Online Film Dictionary
This dictionary is a resource for users to better understand movie-specific terms in foreign languages. In addition to the English terminology, the dictionary has French, German and Spanish version.
Strike the baby and kill the blonde: an insider’s guide to film slang. Dave Knox. New York: Three Rivers Press, c2005.
Schirmer encyclopedia of film. Ed. Barry Keith Grant. Detroit: Schirmer Reference, 2007.
SML Reference, PN1993.45 S35X 2007+
Variety Slanguage Dictionary
Variety has long used its own, distinctive "slanguage" in headlines and stories, words like "ankle," which refers to someone leaving (say, walking away from) a job, or "whammo," which refers to something terrific, especially box office performance. This website provides explains their characteristic terminology.
 

Librarian for Performing Arts, Media & Philosophy

Profile ImageTobin Nellhaus
Contact Info:
226 Sterling Memorial Library
Yale University
130 Wall Street, P.O. Box 208240
New Haven, CT 06520-8240
Tel: 203.432.8212
Send Email

Subjects:
Film, theater, philosophy, media, journalism, dance, musical theater, graphic novels, cyberculture, Bass DVD Collection

More Links
Personal Librarian page

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait