1) Books2) Articles3) Film Reviews4) Films & Videos5) Screenplays/Filmscripts6) Archives & Institutes
AnimationCritical Approaches & ProblemsDirectors, Actors, Writers, etc.Filmmaking, Producing, etc.Genres, Styles, Categories, SeriesHistory and/of FilmInternational CinemaLiterature & FilmMovie Business & StudiosMusic & Sound in MoviesSocial & Other AspectsThemes, Subjects & CharactersVideo Art 
Annuals & DirectoriesBibliographies & FilmographiesBiographies, Credits & PlotsDictionaries & EncyclopediasFestivals & AwardsGuides & Companions to FilmsIn-Depth Research GuidesOrganizations & AssociationsUse of Films/Videos in TeachingWeb Portals
American Avant-Garde Cinema (Film 323: Terri Francis)Blaxpoitation Reexamined (Film 373: Terri Francis)Close Analysis of Film (Film 320: Terri Francis)Film and History (Hist 456/AmSt 412/Film 405: Seth Fein)
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

Film Studies Research Guide 

A guide to conducting research in Film Studies at Yale University, including key resources and crucial search strategies.
Last update: Nov 20th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.yale.edu/film  Print Guide  RSS Updates

In-Depth Research Guides            Print Page
  
 

In-Depth Film Studies Research Guides

What's Here


This subject guide provides information on resources at Yale and some basic guidance in conducting research in Film Studies.  However, there are several book-length guides and lists of resources that go into much greater depth on research methods and resources.  They are especially valuable to graduate students and faculty conducting specialized research.

 

See also Bibliographies & Filmographies.

 


 

Selected In-Depth Research Guides

Film and television: a guide to the reference literature. Mark Emmons. Westport, Conn.: Libraries Unlimited, 2006.
SML Reference, Z5784.M9 E47X 2006 (LC)
This is a great starting point for major research. It's an extremely comprehensive bibliography of the entire scope of reference material for Film Studies, including lists of indexes, bibliographies, filmographies, dictionaries, encyclopedias, materials on specific countries/regions, genres, studios, portrayals of social groups, filmmakers, screenplays, the industry and the audience.  All entries are annotated.

Film Researcher's Handbook: A Guide to Sources in North America, South America, Asia, Australasia and Africa. London; New York: Routledge, 1996.
SML, Reference Z5784 M9 F553 1996 (LC)

On the Screen: A Film Television and Video Research Guide. Fisher, Kim N. Littleton, CO: Libraries Unlimited, 1986.
SML, Reference Z5784 M9 F535 1986 (LC)

The Oxford guide to film studies. Ed. John Hill and Pamela Church Gibson. New York: Oxford University Press, 1998.
SML Reference, PN1995 O93 1998
Short essays on aspects of film (such as the text, acting, music), critical approaches (e.g., semiotics, psychoanalysis, post-structuralism, feminism), and history (American, European, world).
Sources for the History of Film, Television and Theatre. Great Britain. National Register of Archives Information Sheet No. 7.
Sources for the history of film, television and theater.
 

Librarian for Performing Arts, Media & Philosophy

Profile ImageTobin Nellhaus
Contact Info:
226 Sterling Memorial Library
Yale University
130 Wall Street, P.O. Box 208240
New Haven, CT 06520-8240
Tel: 203.432.8212
Send Email

Subjects:
Film, theater, philosophy, media, journalism, dance, musical theater, graphic novels, cyberculture, Bass DVD Collection

More Links
Personal Librarian page

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait