A guide for conducting U.S. History and American Studies research at the Yale University Library.
- Twentieth Century US
A list of full-text primary source databases for 20th century U.S. history, including newspapers, magazines, and government documents.
- Nineteenth Century US
A list of full-text primary source databases for 19th century U.S. history, including newspapers, magazines, and government documents.
- Colonial American and Early American History
A list of full-text databases of Colonial U.S. history sources, including books, newspapers, and government documents.
- African American History
A guide to primary source collections for African American history research at Yale.
- Art, Architecture, and Drama
A guide to art, architecture, and drama collections from the Manuscripts and Archives Department of Sterling Memorial Library.
- Asian American History
A guide to archival collections at the Yale University Library for the study of Asian American history.
- Environmental History
A guide to primary source collections at Yale for environmental history.
- Hispanic American History
A list of primary source collections for the study of Hispanic American history at the Yale University Library.
- History of Science and Medicine
A guide to archival materials related to the history of science, particularly medicine and health, at the Yale University Library.
- Legal History
A guide to primary source collections in legal history at Manuscripts and Archives, Sterling Memorial Library.
- Native American History
A guide to primary source collections for the study of American Indian History at Yale University.
- Yale Research Initiative on the History of Sexualities
List of highlighted primary source collections on the history of sexuality and gender sponsored by the Yale Research Initiative on the History of Sexualities
- Sexuality Studies - Beinecke
A guide to sexuality studies primary source collections at the Beinecke Rare Book Library.
- Sexuality Studies - Manuscripts and Archives, SML
A guide to sexuality studies primary source collections in Manuscripts and Archives, Sterling Memorial Library.
- Slavery, Abolition, Emancipation
A list of primary source collections for the study of slavery and abolition at the Yale University Library.
- America History and Life
The key source for searching scholarly literature in U.S. history. Unlike JSTOR, America History and Life is current and includes books and dissertations. Tip: Search book titles to find book reviews.
- Yale Finding Aid Database
The Yale Finding Aid Database searches the full text of finding aids for archival materials at Yale University. Finding aids are guides that provide information about the creation, historical context, arrangement, and content of collections as well as the information necessary for users to identify and request items relevant to their research.
- American National Biography
A seminal reference source which includes reliable biographical information on a number of individuals. One of the key strengths of this database is that its entries often contain bibliographies that point to key secondary works and primary source collections.
- American Foreign Relations Since 1600
A seminal reference book that provides annotated overviews of secondary and primary source resources on all periods and places of U.S. foreign relations.
- Archives Unbound
A large collection of digitized archival collections on a number of subjects (LBGT studies, Cold War History, African American History) from various archives of note, including the U.S. National Archives, the British Library, and several private collections.
- Access Newspaper Archive
A collection of digital newspapers from smaller towns. Dates and places vary widely, making search results hit or miss.
- America's Historical Newspapers
Large collection of digital newspapers from the 18th through 20th centuries. This includes every digital newspaper collection from Readex.
- Historical Newspapers Complete
One of our premier databases, Historical Newspapers Complete contains large runs of major U.S. newspapers including the New York Times, Washington Post, and Los Angeles Times. Tip: choose "more search options" to limit searches to specific newspaper sections.
- Yale Daily News Digital Archive
An incomplete, but fairly substantial, digital archive of the Yale Daily News, going back to its inaugural issue in 1878.
- Old Fulton History Newspaper Database
This database is maintained by a private individual, who scans microfilm of New York State newspapers from 1795-2007. While the interface might lack sophistication, it's 23.5 million plus pages of scanned material makes this a rich resource. The search features leaves much to be desired, but the help tab offers tips to navigate this home-grown system.
- Library PressDisplay
Three month backlog of 2,200 newspapers from 97 countries in 54 languages. This is an excellent source to get the most up-to-date news.
A catalog of digital historical newspapers, this resource facilitates the discovery of online digitized historical newspaper content from newspapers published in the United States and the Caribbean. It currently links to over 1,500 full-text newspaper titles.
- Lantern: Media History Digital Library
The Media History Digital Library (MHDL) digitizes collections of classic media periodicals that belong in the public domain for full public access. The corpus of this source is large as the copyright of many media industry, fan, and technical publications were not renewed, and those pre-1964 works are now in the public domain. Contains over 800,000 pages of material.
- Opinion Archives
Searches opinion pieces and editorials from across the political spectrum. Full text available from The Nation, Commentary, NACLA, and The New Republic. Also indexes American Spectator, Commonweal, Harper's Magazine, The National Review, and The New York Review of Books.
- California Digital Newspaper Collection
This collection contains over 61,000 issues comprising almost 550,000 pages from 39 historical California newspapers published from 1846-1922, including the first California newspaper, the Californian, and the first daily California newspaper, the Daily Alta California.
- Rotunda: American Founding Era
The complete published collections of major Founding Fathers in a single, fully searchable database. Contains the papers of George Washington, John Adams, Alexander Hamilton, Thomas Jefferson, James Madison, and Dolley Madison.
- Ancestry Library Edition
This database contains a large collection of primary sources, including original images of U.S. census records, slave schedules, and immigration passenger lists from New York, Philadelphia, and Boston for the late 19th and early 20th centuries.
- ProQuest Congressional
One of the best sources for U.S. government documents. Contains the Congressional Record and numerous hearings, reports and other documents from the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives. Tip: limit searches to individual Congresses to narrow searches. Also, choose advanced search to select different parts of the database, such as the large map collection (Serial Set Maps).
- American Periodical Series
This database includes digitized images of the pages of many American magazines and journals published from 1740 to 1900. Titles range from Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine and America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository; popular magazines such as Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal; regional and niche publications; and groundbreaking journals like The Dial, Puck, and McClure's.
- American Pamphlets, Series 1, 1820-1922: From the New-York Historical Society
Drawn from the pamphlet collection of the New-York Historical Society, this database will eventually provide access to more than 25,000 short printed works from the Jacksonian Era to the Jazz Age. New material is added at the end of every month until December 2014, so please check back.
- American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 1
Drawn from the periodical collections of the American Antiquarian Society, this database contains 500 titles dating from 1691 through 1820. Almost every 17th- and 18th-century American title is represented in addition to the majority of works published before 1821.
- Sabin Americana
Based on Joseph Sabin's famed bibliography, Bibliotheca Americana – A Dictionary of Books Relating to America From its Discovery to the Present Time, Sabin Americana, 1500–1926 is an online collection of books, pamphlets, serials and other works about the Americas, from the time of their discovery to the early 1900s. Sabin Americana, 1500–1926 is rich in original accounts of discovery and exploration, pioneering and westward expansion, the U.S. Civil War and other military actions, Native Americans, slavery and abolition, religious history and more.
- Book Review Digest Plus
Contains a citation to every book review that appears in any of over 5,000+ indexed journals. Over 270,000 full-text reviews from more than 1,400 American, British, and Canadian periodicals included.
- History: Reviews of New Books
Approximately thirty to forty book reviews per quarterly issue cover all geographic areas and time periods, from ancient times to the present. Contains both feature reviews of two or more books, coming in at 3,000 words, and regular one-book reviews at 500-750 words.
- 19th Century Collections Online (NCCO)
This ambitious project contains a large amount of 19th century archival material, with a special focus on British and U.S. foreign relations documents covering Asia.
- The Economist
Full-text database of every issue of the seminal English magazine from 1843-2006, providing an interesting lens through which to view U.S. events and policy.
- Historical Statistics Complete
Aggregated historical statistical data covering a number of areas, including economics, the military, crime, and demographics.
- Google Patents
Links to millions of US patents and patent applications from the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office, dating back to the eighteenth century and including patents as recent as the last few months. The google interface makes this rich collection readily searchable.
- Travel Writing, Spectacle and World History, 1819-1972
Women's Travel Diaries and Correspondence from The Schlesinger Library at the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study, Harvard University
- South Asian American Digital Archive
Growing digital archive of materials related to the South Asian diaspora in the Americas.
- Samuel J. May Anti-Slavery Collection, Cornell University Library
Digital archive of materials from the Cornell University Library.
- Ethnic American Newspapers from the Balch Collection, 1799-1971
This online collection provides extensive coverage of many of the most influential ethnic groups in U.S. history.
- Black Abolitionist Papers
Fully searchable, digital version of the seminal collection of abolitionist material.
- American West: Collections from the Graff Collection, Newberry Library
Original manuscripts, ephemeral material (trade cards, wanted posters, photos, claim certificates, news-sheets etc), maps, and rare printed works from the Newberry Library in Chicago.
- Jewish Life in America
The collection is based on a rich variety of original manuscript collections from the unique holdings of the American Jewish Historical Society in New York
- National Geographic Magazine, 1888-1994
- 19th Century Collections Online (NCCO)
Ambitious digital archive of 19th century archival material, with a strong focus on the relationship between Britain, the United States, and Asia; as well as substantial collections from England, with particular focus on theater and music.
- Sabin Americana
Digital version of Joseph Sabin's seminal _A Dictionary of Books Relating to America_.
- African American Periodicals, 1825-1995
More than 170 wide-ranging periodicals by and about African Americans. Published in 26 states, the publications include academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations' bulletins, annual reports and other genres.
- Phyllis Lyon and Del Martin: Beyond the Daughters of Bilitis
Phyllis Lyon and Del Martin are famous for founding the Daughters of Bilitis in 1955, one of the most important early lesbian organizations. Phyllis Lyon and Del Martin: Beyond the Daughters of Bilitis documents many decades of Phyllis Lyon & Del Martin’s work for, and leadership of, the LGBT movement and the women’s rights movement in both in San Francisco and nationally.
- The Hindu Conspiracy Cases: Activities of the Indian Independence Movement in the U.S., 1908-1933
During World War I, Indian nationalists used Great Britain’s preoccupation with the European war to attempt to foment revolution in India to overthrow British rule. Indian nationalists in the U.S. were active in the independence movement, and this digital collection documents Justice Department and U.S. Attorney records on these activities.