Two Essential Books on Research
The Craft of Research - Booth, Colomb, Williams
ISBN/ISSN: 0226065669
This book walks you through all the steps of a research project. Especially helpful, I think, is chapter 3, in which the authors discuss how to formulate a research topic and explain the all important "so what?" question. The link above takes you to an e-book version of the 2nd edition (in which the "so what?" question is discussed on page 49).
The Chicago Manual of Style
ISBN/ISSN: 0226104036
This is the book that students ought to consult for citation formats for history papers. The library subscribes to an online version, which you can access at the link above. The section you're probably looking for begins as 17.210
Select Archival Collections
Politicians/Diplomats
Dean Acheson Papers (MSSA)
Chester Bowles Papers (MSSA)
Henry Stimson Papers (MSSA)
Cyrus Vance Papers (MSSA)
U.N. Oral History Collection (MSSA)
Eugene V. Debs Papers (Microfilm collection, FILM MISC 949)
Papers of the Socialist Party of America (Microfilm collection, FILM MISC 850)
Socialist Party of New Haven Records
Grassroots movements
Women and Work Collection (MSSA)
Protest Journals Collection, 1960s-1970s (MSSA)
Collection on the Right (MSSA)
Reports and records concerning conflict between SDS and Students for a Free Campus at Yale (MSSA)
Materials Documenting Yale student unrest (MSSA)
Kent State Collection (MSSA)
Right wing pamphlet collection, 1917-1972 (MSSA)
Haymarket Affair Collection (BEINECKE)
Activists/Lawyers
Frank Donner Papers (MSSA)
Walter White Papers (Beinecke)
Thomas Emerson Papers (MSSA)
Jerome Frank Papers (MSSA)
Abe Fortas Papers (MSSA)
Earl Browder Papers, 1891-1975 (Microfilm Collection, call number Film B20688)
W. E. B. Dubois Collection (BEINECKE)
Emma Goldman Papers (Microfilm Collection, call number FILM MISC 704)
Morris Hillquit Papers (Microfilm Collection, call number FILM MISC 875)
ACLU of Ohio Kent State Project Papers (LSF)
Intellectuals and Artists
Richard Wright Papers (Beinecke)
William F. Buckley Papers (MSSA)
John Hersey Papers (MSSA)
Walter Lippmann Papers (MSSA)
C. Vann Woodward Papers (MSSA)
Dwight Macdonald Papers (MSSA)
William Sloane Coffin Papers (MSSA)
Kingman Brewster Papers (MSSA)
Edmund Wilson Papers (MSSA)
Matthew Josephson Papers (Beinecke)
Communist Infiltration of the SCLC, FBI Investigation File, 1957-1983 (Microfilm Collection, call number MISC1017)
Liston Pope Social Ethics Pamphlet Collection, 1938-1973
James Baldwin Early Manuscripts Collection (Beinecke)
William A. Williams Papers
Mabel Dodge Luhan Papers (Beinecke)
Charles H. Hapgood Papers (Beinecke)
Langston Hughes Collection (Beinecke)
James Weldon Johnson Papers (Beinecke)
Claude McKay Papers (Beinecke)
Gertrude Stein Papers (Beinecke)
Eugene O'Neill Papers (Beinecke)
Great Reference Books/Overviews of Secondary Literature
A Companion to Post-1945 America - Jean Cristophe-Agnew & Roy Rosenzweig, eds.
ISBN/ISSN: 0631223258
Great collection of historiographical essays on many important themes of modern U.S. history, edited by Yale professor Jean Cristophe-Agnew. Especially helpful, perhaps, are:
Chapter Eleven. Work, Workers, and Unions
Chapter Fifteen. The New Left
Chapter Sixteen. Conservatives in a Liberal Age
Chapter Nineteen. McCarthyism/Red Scare
A Companion to 20th Century America - Stephen Whitfield, ed.
ISBN/ISSN: 140515652X
Several historiographical essays could of interest here, for instance:
Chapter 15: Labor
Chapter 16: Race
Chapter 17: Women
Chapter 27: Conservatism
Chapter 28: Liberalism
20th Century U.S. History
DIGITAL NEWSPAPERS:
Database of a number of small newspapers.
Historical Newspapers Complete
Contains full-text version of a number of important newspapers, including:
Atlanta Constitution(1868-1925), Atlanta Daily World (1932-2003), Boston Globe(1872-1922), Chicago Defender (1905 - 1975), Chicagao Tribune(1849-1985), Christian Science Monitor(1908-1992), Hartford Courant(1764-1922), L.A. Sentinel (1946-2005), L.A. Times(1881-1985), N.Y. Amsterdam News (1922-1993), N.Y. Times(1851-2002, N.Y. Tribune(1900-1910)Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002), San Francisco Chronicle (1867-1922), the Wall Street Journal(1889-1988), and the Washington Post(1877-1989).
Chronicling America - Sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP), this site allows you to search and view newspapers from 1880-1910 and find information about newspapers published between 1690-present.
DIGITAL MAGAZINE ARCHIVES:
The American Spectator is conservative U.S. monthly magazine. This database allows users to browse issues by date or search by keywords.
Alternative Press Index and Alternative Press Index Archive (1969 - present) is a guide to the alternative press in North America. Citations are drawn from alternative, radical, and left publications, that report and analyze the practices and theories of cultural, economic, political, and social change.
Alt-Press Watch contains newspapers, magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press.
Commonweal (1924-present)
Commentary is a monthly magazine with analysis of politics, religion, foreign affairs, social policy, culture, and the arts, as well as for outstanding reviews of current books. The magazine’s letters section is a forum for debate about issues of the day.
Ethnic NewsWatch: A History
This interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish), full-text database of newspapers, magazines and journals from ethnic, minority and native presses from 1960-1989.
Harper's Magazine & Cumulative Index
HarpWeek: 1857-1912
Left Index contains political, economic, social and culturally scholarship inside and outside academia with a secondary emphasis on significant but little known sources of news and ideas. Topics covered include the labor movement, ecology & environment, race & ethnicity, social & cultural theory, sociology, art & aesthetics, philosophy, history, education, law, and globalization.
LGBT Life
Nation Digital Archive contains every issue of The Nation from July 1865 through the present.
National Review Archive
New Republic - Complete digital archive from the first to current issue (1914-present).
New York Reveiw of Books Archive - Database of every issue of the New York Review of Books, from the first issue in 1963 to present.
Readers’ Guide Retrospective
U.S. History Librarian |
Greg Eow![]() | ![]() | ![]() |
Contact Info:
Room 226, Sterling Memorial Library
phone: 203-432-1757
Send Email
Subjects:
U.S. History, American Studies
Description
Loading content... please wait







Loading content... please wait