Two Essential Books on Research
The Craft of Research - Booth, Colomb, Williams
ISBN/ISSN: 0226065669
This book walks you through all the steps of a research project. Especially helpful, I think, is chapter 3, in which the authors discuss how to formulate a research topic and explain the all important "so what?" question. The link above takes you to an e-book version of the 2nd edition (in which the "so what?" question is discussed on page 49).
The Chicago Manual of Style
ISBN/ISSN: 0226104036
This is the book that students ought to consult for citation formats for history papers. The library subscribes to an online version, which you can access at the link above. The section you're probably looking for begins as 17.210
Orbis Searches
Search Orbis by
Subject Heading for Encyclopedias and Dictionaries:
- Indians
of North America Politics and government Encyclopedias
- Indians of North America Wars Encyclopedias
Search Orbis for by
Subject Heading for bibliographies:
- Indians
of North America Government relations Bibliography
- Indians
of North America Periodicals Bibliography Union lists
- Indians of North America Treaties Bibliography
Search Orbis by Subject Heading for newpapers:
Reference Books
A Companion to American Indian History - Philip Deloria and Neal Salisbury, eds.
ISBN/ISSN: 1405121319
A number of chapters will be useful for your topics, including most of the chapters in part five:
21. Federal and State Policies and American Indians
22. Native Americans and the United States, Canada, and Mexico
23. American Indian Education: by Indians versus for Indians
24. Indian Law, Sovereignty, and State Law: Native People and the Law
25. Sovereignty
Documents of United States Indian Policy - Prucha, Francis, ed.
ISBN/ISSN: 0803287623
The link above takes to to an ebook provided through the Yale University Library.
American Indian Treaties - Prucha, Francis
ISBN/ISSN: 0520208951- The Handbook of North American Indians - William C. Sturtevant, General Editor
Call Number: E76.2 H36 (LC)+ Oversize
20 Volume, standard reference in the field. Copies in the Starr Reference Room in Sterling Memorial Library as well as copies available for checkout from the LSF.
American Indians and State Law - Rosen, Deborah A.
ISBN/ISSN: 0803239688
Images of the Other: A Guide to Microform Manuscripts on Indian-White Relations
Call Number: E91 G75 1991
ISBN/ISSN: 0252017595
Available in the Starr Reference Room in Sterling Memorial Library.
New Directions in American Indian History - Colin G. Calloway, ed.
ISBN/ISSN: 0806122331
Searching for Secondary Literature
LITERATURE REVIEWS
& REFERENCE RESOURCES
Reference sources are an indispensable resource not only for quick information on a topic but also, and perhaps more importantly, for literature reviews (building a good bibliography of works pertaining to a topic). This will help you position your argument in appropriate secondary literature. I have listed a number of topic specific reference sources in the sidebar on the left. But you will also want to be familiar with the general Blackwell Reference Online database. Quite simply, it's that good.
Blackwell Reference
Online: An excellent source for
high-quality historiographical essays.
Contains fully searchable versions of A Companion to Film Theory, A
Companion to Literature and Film, A
Companion to Media Studies, A
Companion to 20th-Century
Additionally, here are two sources for literature reviews of scholarly journal literature:
JSTOR – A full-text database of over three hundred major journals across multiple disciplines, including film studies and history Pros: JSTOR is easy to use and supplies full-text access to journal literature, including articles and book reviews. Cons: JSTOR is generally five years out-of-date.
[Tip: JSTOR is great for book reviews. Find the title of a book you're interested in, go into the advanced search field of JSTOR and do a title search for the book, limiting results to book reviews. This can be a great way to navigate through a large amount of secondary literature with purpose.]
America: History & Life – The combined
Databases for Government Information
Historical Statistics of the United States - Reliable data on the economy, population, crime, immigration and other important issues.
Lexis Nexis Congressional - Indexing and abstracts for congressional hearings (published and unpublished), prints, bills, reports and documents, and Serial Set. Full text of congressional bills and resolutions, reports, prints, hearings and documents; and Congressional Research Service reports (dates of coverage vary). Includes legislative histories for enacted laws, and biographical and voting information for members of Congress. Full text of Federal Register (1980-), the Congressional Record (1985-) and the National Journal (1977-).
Key Databases for Native American History
Bibliography of Native North Americans
A bibliographic database covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life. This resource covers a wide range of topics including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy. BNNA contains more than 80,000 citations for books, essays, journal articles, and government documents of the United States and Canada.
Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures, and the Environment
This database, assembled from hundreds of primary sources, documents the relationships among peoples and with the environment in North America from 1534 to 1850. The collection focuses on personal accounts and provides unique perspectives from all of the protagonists, including traders, slaves, missionaries, explorers, soldiers, native peoples, and officials, both men and women. It includes works by American Indians as well as a wide range of Europeans.
This interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish), full-text database of newspapers, magazines and journals from ethnic, minority and native presses from 1960–1989.
A collection of digitized collections from the National Archives. Contains a number of Indian Treaties.
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait