Two Essential Books on Research
The Craft of Research - Booth, Colomb, Williams
ISBN/ISSN: 0226065669
This book walks you through all the steps of a research project. Especially helpful, I think, is chapter 3, in which the authors discuss how to formulate a research topic and explain the all important "so what?" question. The link above takes you to an e-book version of the 2nd edition (in which the "so what?" question is discussed on page 49).
The Chicago Manual of Style
ISBN/ISSN: 0226104036
This is the book that students ought to consult for citation formats for history papers. The library subscribes to an online version, which you can access at the link above. The section you're probably looking for begins as 17.210
Great Reference Books
A Companion to Colonial America - Daniel Vickers, ed.
ISBN/ISSN: 140514985X
Great collection of historiographical essays on many important themes in colonial history.
A Companion to American Women's History
ISBN/ISSN: 140512685X
Step Two: Get Started on Your Literature Review
Databases in order to find scholarly articles relevant to your research:
- JSTOR Five years out-of-date on average, but still invaluable. Use the book reviews to quickly get a sense of a scholarly conversation.
- America History and Life American History and Life is fabulous. It indexes far more journals than JSTOR, and also includes books and dissertations. It's the essential database for historical literature reviews. Also try this trick. When in the EBSCO interface, click "choose databases" and search all databases simultaneously.
Primary Source Databases
- Salem Witchcraft Papers Collection of primary source documents from the Salem Witch Trials.
- America's Historical Newspapers A large collection of digital newspapers from the 18th through 19th centuries.
- Early American Imprints Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800 has been hailed as the definitive resource for researching every aspect of 17th- and 18th-century America. This digital collection contains virtually every book, pamphlet and broadside published in America over a 160-year period.
- Burney Collection (17th & 18th Century British Newspapers) The largest single online collection of English news media from the 17th and 18th centuries
- Early English Books Online Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.
- Pennsylvania Gazette A digital archive of the Pennsylvania Gazette, from 1728-1800.
U.S. History Librarian |
Greg EowOnline Chat / Networks:
Contact Info:
Room 226, Sterling Memorial Library
phone: 203-432-1757
Send Email
Subjects:
U.S. History, American Studies
![]() | ![]() | ![]() |
Contact Info:
Room 226, Sterling Memorial Library
phone: 203-432-1757
Send Email
Subjects:
U.S. History, American Studies
Description
Loading content... please wait







Loading content... please wait