Two Essential Books on Research
The Craft of Research - Booth, Colomb, Williams
ISBN/ISSN: 0226065669
This book walks you through all the steps of a research project. Especially helpful, I think, is chapter 3, in which the authors discuss how to formulate a research topic and explain the all important "so what?" question. The link above takes you to an e-book version of the 2nd edition (in which the "so what?" question is discussed on page 49).
The Chicago Manual of Style
ISBN/ISSN: 0226104036
This is the book that students ought to consult for citation formats for history papers. The library subscribes to an online version, which you can access at the link above. The section you're probably looking for begins as 17.210
Finding Primary Sources
- Worldcat is the most complete source for finding collections around the world. Archive Grid and Archive Finder are useful, but as supplements to Worldcat.
- Online Archive of California is great if you're focusing on California archives.
Archival Collections Online
The Chinese in California, 1850-1925 (Library of Congress)
Chinese Americans in the Columbia River Basin Ethnic History Archive
Japanese Americans in the Columbia River Basin Ethnic History Archive
Korean American Digital Archive (USC)
Japanese American National Museum
Women and Social Movements (Yale Database)
Densho: The Japanese American Legacy Project
Oral History Information (how to)
- Oral History Information Oral history resources and interview advice from the New Haven Oral History Project.
U.S. History Librarian |
Greg EowOnline Chat / Networks:
Contact Info:
Room 226, Sterling Memorial Library
phone: 203-432-1757
Send Email
Subjects:
U.S. History, American Studies
![]() | ![]() | ![]() |
Contact Info:
Room 226, Sterling Memorial Library
phone: 203-432-1757
Send Email
Subjects:
U.S. History, American Studies
Description
Loading content... please wait







Loading content... please wait