Film & HistoryHIST 133J: Creation of the Am. PoliticianHIST120: Introduction to Environmental HistoryHIST134: History of American Indian LawHIST166J: Asian American WomenHistory 127J: Witchcraft and Society in Colonial AmericaProfessor Beverly Gage: Liberalism/Conservatism & Communism/AnticommunismSlave South, 1650-1865
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

U.S. History and American Studies 

A guide for conducting U.S. History and American Studies research at the Yale University Library.
Last update: Nov 23rd, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.yale.edu/ushistory  Print Guide  RSS Updates

HIST120: Introduction to Environmental History             Print Page
  

Links

 

Articles & Book Reviews


JSTOR - You probably already know and love JSTOR. It's great; it provides full-text access to hundreds of important journals. But it's always out-of-date (on an average of five years) and you'll want to supplement JSTOR searches with . . .

America History and Life - American History and Life is fabulous. It indexes far more journals than JSTOR, and also includes books and dissertations. It's the essential database for historical literature reviews.  When in the Ebsco interface, select "choose databases" to add more databases to your search.


American National Biography - Standard reference work.  Entries usually include a useful bibliography which points to key secondary and primary sources.

 

 

Primary Source Databases

NEWSPAPERS

Access NewspaperARCHIVE

Database of a number of small newspapers.

 

Historical Newspapers Complete

Contains full-text version of a number of important newspapers, including the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and the Washington Post.

 

GOVERNMENT DOCUMENTS

Historical Statistics of the United States - Reliable data on the economy, population, crime, immigration and other important issues. 

 

Lexis Nexis Congressional - Indexing and abstracts for congressional hearings (published and unpublished), prints, bills, reports and documents, and Serial Set. Full text of congressional bills and resolutions, reports, prints, hearings and documents; and Congressional Research Service reports (dates of coverage vary). Includes legislative histories for enacted laws, and biographical and voting information for members of Congress. Full text of Federal Register (1980-), the Congressional Record (1985-) and the National Journal (1977-).

 

DIGITAL MAGAZINE ARCHIVES

American Spectator Archive (1967-present) - The American Spectator is conservative U.S. monthly magazine. This database allows users to browse issues by date or search by keywords.

 

Commonweal (1924-present) Founded in New York in 1924, Commonweal is a monthly Catholic opinion magazine. This database allows users to browse issues by date or search by keywords.

 

Commentary Digital Archive - Commentary is a monthly magazine with analysis of politics, religion, foreign affairs, social policy, culture, and the arts, as well as for outstanding reviews of current books. The magazine’s letters section is a forum for debate about issues of the day.

 

Ethnic NewsWatch: A History
This interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish), full-text database of newspapers, magazines and journals from ethnic, minority and native presses from 1960-1989.

 

Harper's Magazine & Cumulative Index Since 1850, Harper's Magazine has been one of the leading periodicals of culture and opinion. This digital archive makes every issue of Harper's monthly allows users to browse individual issues or search the database by keyword.

 

National Review Archive Complete indexing & abstracting and full text coverage for all issues of the journal from 1955 through to the present. The National Review has been a leading journal of opinion since its inception in 1955.

 

New Republic - Complete digital archive from the first to current issue (1914-present).

 

New York Reveiw of Books Archive - Database of every issue of the New York Review of Books, from the first issue in 1963 to present.

 

Readers’ Guide Retrospective Readers' Guide Retrospective is a database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America.

 

Select Yale Collections


 

  • William Henry Brewer Papers.  
    Scientist and Yale professor. Worked on the first geological survey of California, helped organize the Connecticut State Agricultural Experiment Station (1877), served on the United States Forestry Commission, and was active in the early years of the American Public Health Association. He studied the suspension and sedimentation of clays in river water and the effect of deposits in delta formations.
  • Herman Haupt Chapman Papers  
    Yale forestry professor. The papers highlight Chapman’s research, writings, and teaching on forest mensuration, valuation, regulation, and finance, and his work with the Society of American Foresters, particularly his study of forestry education in the United States, as well as his interests in national and state parks, forests, and wilderness areas.
  • Peter B. Cooper Papers  
    Attorney. Correspondence, notes, and background material that document his legal work to preserve the quality of the environment in the New Haven area and on Long Island Sound. Cases involve issues of energy transmission, coastal area development, highway construction, pollution of public water supplies, air quality control, and nuclear power plant construction.
  • Arthur William Galston Papers  
    Yale biology professor. The papers highlight Galston’s concern over the ecological harm done by herbicides and his efforts to end the use of Agent Orange, which was sprayed as a defoliant in Vietnam by the United States military.
  • Henry Solon Graves Papers  
    Forester and first dean of the Yale School of Forestry. The collection documents Graves’s academic and administrative career, his professional writings and activities, and his service during World War I as a forestry engineer in France.
  • George Bird Grinnell Papers  
    The papers document Grinnell’s leading role in the American conservation movement. The material focuses on his adult life (1886-1938) and details his work as editor of Forest and Stream magazine, authority on American Indians of the West, and active participant in the National Audubon Society, the Boone and Crockett Club, the American Game Protective and Propagation Association, and the National Parks Association.
  • John Dennett Guthrie Papers  
    Forester. The papers contain correspondence, notes, writings, printed material, photographs and memorabilia concerning forestry and forest policy in Alaska, Arizona, Oregon, Texas, and Virginia, and material on Guthrie’s association with Civilian Conservation Corps, United States Forest Service, Society of American Foresters, and the Yale School of Forestry.
  • G. Evelyn Hutchinson Papers  
    Educator, zoologist, and ecologist. The papers consist of correspondence, writings, addresses, notes and research materials, subject files, memorabilia, and photographs relating to G. Evelyn Hutchinson’s work as a zoologist and limnologist, as well as his travels as part of the Yale North India Expedition.
  • William Kent Family Papers  
    Public official. The papers document Kent’s activities as a municipal reformer in Chicago and Northern California; his interests in conservation, recreation, and public control of water power; his campaigns for election to Congress; his service in the U.S. House of Representatives and on the U.S. Tariff Commission; and his business interests in cattle ranches in Nebraska and Nevada.
  • Charles Augustus Lindbergh Papers  
    Aviator and conservationist. Among the many areas of interest to Lindbergh were his support for the reduction of whale harvesting, his collaboration with Lowell Thomas to minimize the effect of the Alaskan pipeline in the 1960s, his support in the founding of the World Wildlife Fund, and his opposition to the development of the supersonic transport jet. Papers are restricted but permission can be obtained from his family.
  • Francis Griffith Newlands Papers  
    Public official. The papers highlight Nevada Democratic and Silver Party politics and focus on Newlands’s legislative programs on transportation, particularly railroads and inland waterways, interstate commerce, irrigation, flood control, land reclamation, currency and silver, conservation and forests, and tariffs.
  • Paul Bigelow Sears Papers  
    Educator. Chairman of the Yale University Conservation Program, the papers focus on Sears’s activities on behalf of professional scientific organizations and civic groups interested in conservation, such as the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the Ecological Society of America, the National Research Council, and the National Science Foundation. Numerous files concern Sears’s involvement with citizens’ groups and government agencies for conservation in Ohio.
  • Coalition to Stop Trident Records  
    Established in Connecticut in 1984 to coordinate and continue the activities of several groups resisting the production and deployment of Trident nuclear submarines and missiles in Connecticut.
  • Forest Fire Poster Collection  
    The collection consists of lantern slides of forest fire prevention posters.
  • New England Society of American Foresters Records  
    Members of the society come from the six New England states as well as the eastern Canadian provinces. Through its meetings and publications the society disseminates knowledge of the purpose and achievements of forestry, particularly in the areas of silviculture and forest management.
  • Save the Wetlands Committee, Inc. of Connecticut Records  
    The committee was formed in 1966 to establish a program for the preservation and protection of Connecticut’s coastal and inland wetlands. Through educational publications and meetings, the committee worked to garner public support for legislation protecting Connecticut’s marshes from dredging, landfill, and commercial development.
  • Seventh American Forest Congress Records  
    The congress, held in February 1996, attempted to produce a working consensus on forest conservation and recommended steps for improving forest management practices, research on forestry problems, and policies guiding both.

  • Yale University School of Forestry and Environmental Studies  
    Records of deans (1900-2003); officers and faculty; departments, offices, programs, and projects; student records; student, alumni, and support organizations; and audio-visual material and memorabilia.

Select Yale Collections: Part II

  • Ward Shepard Papers  
    Ward Shepard (1887-1959): forestry expert and environmentalist; B.A., Harvard College, 1910, Master’s degree from Harvard Forest School, 1913; director of Harvard Forest School, 1936-1939; worked with the U.S. Office of Indian Affairs as assistant to John Collier, 1933-1936 and after 1939 as advisor to the Department of Agriculture on forest policy; wrote on problems of erosion and on the development of natural resources.
  • Richard H.D. Boerker Papers  
    Richard Hans Douai Boerker was born in Brooklyn, New York, on October 19, 1887. He graduated from Dartmouth College in 1910 with an A.B. and the following year received an M.S. in forestry from the University of Michigan. In 1916, he received a Ph.D. from the University of Nebraska. Between 1910 and 1917, he worked for the Department of Agriculture, Forest Service. In 1921, he began teaching biology at Kingston, New York, High School. He was married to Irene Frances Bostwick.
  • Grand Valley, Colorado Water Project Records  
    Four volumes, two containing letters, documents, pamphlets, and blueprints, and two containing photographs, which document the planning, construction and completion of the renovation of the Willcox Canal and the creation of an irrigation district by the Grand River Irrigation and Development Company, the Willcox Canal Company, and the Grand Valley Irrigation District, of Grand Valley, Garfield County, Colorado. Materials include original and carbon copies of letters and reports from agricultural
  • Walter Clay Lowdermilk Papers  
    Walter C. Lowdermilk (1888-1974): agronomist; helped to found the Soil Conservation Service of the U.S. Agriculture Dept., and was its associate chief (1933-1939) and assistant chief (1939-1947); worked as consultant on conservation projects in China, Israel, Yugoslavia, Japan; president of American Geophysical Union (1941-1944); author.
  • Edward Augustine Sherman Papers  
    Edward A. Sherman (1871-1940): in 1903 appointed supervisor of Bitter Root Forest Reserve; in 1905 entered Forest Service, Department of Agriculture; in 1907, became supervisor of Hell Gate, Lolo, and Big Hole Reserves; forest supervisor, Sequoia National Forest, 1908-1910; assistant forester in charge of lands, Washington, D. C., 1915-1920; associate chief forester, 1920-1935; assistant chief and advisor, 1935- ; admitted to Utah Bar, 1915; formulated land classification system for national for
  • William Robinson Brown Papers  
    Chairman of the New Hampshire Forestry and Recreation Commission, 1910-1952; active in various forestry organizations in the 1930s; author.
  • James Lipincott Goodwin Papers  
    James Lippincott Goodwin was an architect, forester, and conservationist. He received a masters degree in forestry from Yale University in 1910 and became a private forestry consultant, as well as a landscape architect. From 1913-1914, Goodwin was field secretary of the Connecticut State Park and Forest Commission. He served as president of the Connecticut Forest and Park Association from 1958-1961.
  • David Townsend Mason Papers  
    The papers consist entirely of Mason’s diaries and travel journals spanning the years 1907-1973. The sixty-eight volumes of diaries deal chiefly with forestry and give considerable attention to the formulation of national policy on forests in the 1930s
  • Thornton Taft Munger Papers  
    Correspondence, memoranda, writings, and diaries relating to Thornton Taft Munger’s career with the U.S. Forest Service. Two reports: "The Survey of Industrial Forestry in the United States" (1928-1931) and "Problems and Progress of Forestry in the United States" (1942-1946) are the subject of most of the correspondence. Major figures in the correspondence are Henry Solon Graves, Philip P. Wells, R. E. Marsh and Shirley W. Allen. The diaries (1914-1923) record Munger’s professional travel ob
  • Seventh American Forest Conference Records, 1996  
    In January, 1995, the Yale Forest Forum, a consortium of public, business, and non-profit organizations sharing common concerns about forest conservation, organized a meeting of conservation leaders. They unanimously called for the convening of the Seventh American Forest Congress, which met in Washington, D.C. from February 20 to February 24, 1996. The congress attempted to produce a working consensus on forest conservation and recommended steps for improving forest management practices, rese
  • Rachel Carson Papers  
    Rachel Carson (1907-1964), marine biologist and conservationist, was the author of Silent Spring and other works. The Rachel Carson Papers consist of manuscripts, notebooks, letters, newspaper clippings, photos, and printed material relating to the research and publications of Rachel Carson.
  • John Muir Papers  
    John Muir was a Scottish-born American naturalist, author, and early advocate of preservation of U.S. wilderness. His direct activism helped to save the Yosemite Valley, Sequoia National Park and other wilderness areas. The Sierra Club, which he founded, is now one of the most important conservation organizations in the United States. His writings and philosophy strongly influenced the formation of the modern environmental movement.

  • Raymond Lauren Lindeman Papers  
    Raymond L. Lindeman was born in 1915 and received a Ph.D. from the University of Minnesota in 1941. He was a post doctoral fellow at Yale associated with Professor G. Evelyn Hutchinson when he died in June, 1942. Lindeman’s paper, "The Trophic-dynamic Aspect of Ecology," published posthumously by Ecology Magazine is considered a classic in the field of environmental science. The papers consist of correspondence, ecological writings, and research materials of Raymond L. Lindeman.
 

U.S. History Librarian

Profile ImageGreg Eow


Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
Room 226, Sterling Memorial Library

phone: 203-432-1757
Send Email

Subjects:
U.S. History, American Studies

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait