Film & HistoryHIST 133J: Creation of the Am. PoliticianHIST120: Introduction to Environmental HistoryHIST134: History of American Indian LawHIST166J: Asian American WomenHistory 127J: Witchcraft and Society in Colonial AmericaProfessor Beverly Gage: Liberalism/Conservatism & Communism/AnticommunismSlave South, 1650-1865
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

U.S. History and American Studies 

A guide for conducting U.S. History and American Studies research at the Yale University Library.
Last update: Nov 23rd, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.yale.edu/ushistory  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Primary Sources             Print Page
  

Primary Source Collections

  • African American History  
    A guide to primary source collections for African American history research at Yale.
  • Art, Architecture, and Drama  
    A guide to art, architecture, and drama collections from the Manuscripts and Archives Department of Sterling Memorial Library.
  • Environmental History  
    A guide to primary source collections at Yale for environmental history.
  • Legal History  
    A guide to primary source collections in legal history at Manuscripts and Archives, Sterling Memorial Library.
  • History of Science and Medicine  
  • Sexuality Studies  
    A guide to sexuality studies primary source collections in Manuscripts and Archives, Sterling Memorial Library.
  • U.S. Foreign Policy  
  • Asian American History  
    In development
  • Hispanic American History  
    In development
  • Jewish American History  
    In development
  • Native American History  
    In development
  • Slavery, Abolition, Emancipation  
    In development
 
 

Finding Primary Sources

If you want to find primary sources quickly, go to Orbis and do a keyword search while adding the term "sources" to your search string.  For instance, go to Orbis and try a keyword search for "slavery" and "sources".  That will bring up primary sources on slavery.  This is hardly a comprehensive look at Yale collections in this area, but it will give you results quickly, which is sometimes what students want.  An even quicker way to find primary sources is to use some of the databases on the main page of this guide.  Taking just one example, the Lexis Nexis Congressional database contains government publications dating to the first Congress in 1789.

 

For a more thorough search for primary sources, especially those found in the many archival repositories in the Yale University Library system, consult this website.


Some of the tools one can use to find these sorts of collections include:

  • Orbis is the main tool for finding primary source collections; use the "more limits" feature to find primary sources.


  • Yale Finding Aid Database is another tool for finding archival collections at Yale. 
  • Worldcat is the most complete source for finding collections around the world.

  • Archive Grid is also a great tool for finding collections, both at Yale and beyond, though it's not as complete as Worldcat.

  • Archive Finder is another tool for finding manuscript collections.  The best use of Archive Finder is the repository search, which you can use to find archives in specific geographic locations.
 

U.S. History Librarian

Profile ImageGreg Eow


Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
Room 226, Sterling Memorial Library

phone: 203-432-1757
Send Email

Subjects:
U.S. History, American Studies

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait