This guide is a portal to Yale's government information collections and related research tools.
- Information About Opinions
Helpful guide from the Supreme Court that explains how/where opinions are published.
Supreme Court opinions back to 1790; lower court decisions back to 1880.
- Google Scholar
Supreme Court cases since 1791; federal district, appellate, tax, and bankruptcy courts since 1923; state appellate and supreme court cases since 1950.
- LexisNexis Academic (Yale subscription database)
The "U.S. Legal" section includes federal and state cases, landmark cases, Supreme Court briefs, and more
- U.S. Supreme Court Library (Hein Online - Yale subscription database)
Includes U.S. Reports (1754-2008), United States Reports Preliminary Prints (2002-2010), and United States Reports Slip Opinions (2002-present). Also features books and periodicals on the Supreme Court (listed under "Browse Options").
- Supreme Court decisions, 1937-1975 (FedWorld/NTIS)
- Supreme Court decisions, 1990-present (Legal Information Institute/Cornell Law School)
- U.S. Courts Opinions (FDsys)
Provides public access to opinions from selected United States appellate, district, and bankruptcy courts, 2004-present.
- Journal (1993-present)
Contains the official minutes of the Court. "The Journal reflects the disposition of each case, names the court whose judgment is under review, lists the cases argued that day and the attorneys who presented oral argument, contains miscellaneous announcements by the Chief Justice from the Bench, and sets forth the names of attorneys admitted to the Bar of the Supreme Court. It does not contain the opinions of the Court, which are published in the United States Reports."
- Journal (back to 1889; LLMC Digital)
- The Supreme Court Database
Contains over 200 pieces of information about each case decided by the Court between the 1946 and 2011 terms. In addition to data sets available in various file formats, there's also an online analysis tool that allows users to select and summarize cases from the Database.
- The U.S. Supreme Court Justices Database (Lee Epstein)
"This is a multi-user, public database containing a wealth of information on individuals nominated (whether confirmed or not) to the U.S. Supreme Court (John Jay-Sonia Sotomayor). Specifically, the Database houses 263 variables, falling roughly into five categories: identifiers, background characteristics and personal attributes, nomination and confirmation, service on the Court, and departures from the bench."
- United States Courts
Clearinghouse for information from and about the Judicial Branch of the U.S. Government.
- Understanding the Federal Courts
Describes the role, structure, and jurisdiction of the U.S. Federal Courts.
- About the Supreme Court
Includes an overview and history of the Supreme Court, as well as biographies of current Justices of the Supreme Court, photographs, and more.
Search the Yale Library Government Documents FAQ: