The OverDrive collection of e-books and audiobooks supports teaching and learning and acts as the library’s electronic popular reading collection. It provides access to e-books not available on other institutional platforms (e.g., JSTOR) that are needed for curricular purposes and discipline specific needs. The collection serves as a user engagement tool and includes topics of interest to the university community.
|
What formats are available on OverDrive? |
The library provides access to eBooks and adds audiobooks selectively and by request. However, based on use and user requests, audiobooks are the preferred format for health and wellness titles. |
|
What subjects are available on OverDrive? |
The library provides access to books on OverDrive in all subject areas with a special emphasis on current, best-seller, and popular books. Areas of focus include history, business, and works of literature. Young adult fiction is added selectively and by request. Children’s literature is not collected. |
|
What languages are available on OverDrive? |
The library provides access to primarily English-language books on OverDrive, but books published in other languages are added selectively and by request. |
|
Can I request an eBook for purchase on OverDrive that is available on another library eBook platform? (e.g., ProQuest, JSTOR, or Project Muse) |
No, the library does not duplicate eBooks on OverDrive that are available on other institutional platforms (e.g., JSTOR). Unlike most institutional eBook platforms, most OverDrive books do not allow for simultaneous access by an unlimited number of users, and many are leased and not owned. If an eBook is requested on OverDrive that is also available on an institutional platform, the library will acquire the book on the institutional eBook platform. |
|
How can I request a title for purchase? |
If you come across a book in the Libby app that you would like to borrow but it is not accessible in the library's collection, you can use the “Notify Me” tag to request the book and you will receive a notification if the book is acquired. The library welcomes requests, but there is no guarantee that all requested books will be purchased. More information about the use of smart tags in the Libby app can be found here. You can also submit requests via the library Purchase Request Form. |
|
How many books can I borrow at a time? How many holds can I place at a time? |
You can borrow up to 10 books and place up to 10 holds at a time. |
|
Does the library provide access to magazines in OverDrive? |
No, currently only eBooks and audiobooks are available. For digital image editions of magazines use PressReader and Opinion Archives. |
|
How do I log in? |
Use your NetID and password to log into OverDrive. It is best to do this at the beginning of your session. |
|
Do I need an e-reader to view materials? |
Materials can be read online, so an e-reader is not required. |
|
Is special software required? |
Yes, Adobe Digital Editions (ADE) is required if users wish to download content as an EPUB. You may download ADE for free from the ADE website. Need an Adobe ID? Click here for more information. Users also have the option to read texts online. |
|
How do I access materials? |
You may borrow up to five books at a time. The default loan period is 14 days, but some eBooks are on reserve and will only be available for 24 hours. Please note, publishers reserve the right to set lending periods. Three days before a book is due, you will see a prompt to renew next to the title on your "Checkouts" page. More information about renewals is available here. Materials can also be read online. Users may also create bookmarks and highlight text. |
|
Limitations? |
Most eBooks are loaned to one person at a time, but a small number of e-books are available to an unlimited number of users and are purchased only for course reserves and campus book talks and clubs. If the eBook you are interested in is not available but in the library's OverDrive collection, you will be placed on a waitlist for the next available copy and notified when it is available for download. You may hold up to 10 books at a time. When the loan period ends, the book becomes available. |
|
What should I expect when my loan period ends? |
Click here for information about returning your eBook. |
|
How do I request an eBook that the library does not own? |
While searching the library's OverDrive collection in Libby, you will come across titles that have not been purchased and are not accessible. If you are interested in one of these titles, select the Notify Me button which will send an alert to the library. If the library purchases the title, you will be notified and have the option to borrow or place a hold. Click here for more Information about Notify Me tags. You may also request titles available on OverDrive by submitting the Purchase Request Form. |
|
More info |
Getting started with OverDrive |
|
How do I log in? |
Use your netID and password to log into Overdrive. It is best to do this at the beginning of your session. |
|
Is special software required? |
You may either listen to audiobooks in your web browser (Overdrive Listen), through the Libby app, or download the audiobook as an MP3. |
|
How do I access material? |
You may download up to three audiobooks and/or eBooks at a time. The default loan period is 14 days.Please note, publishers reserve the right to set a lending period. Three days before a book is due, you will see a prompt to renew next to the title on the "Checkouts" page. More information about renewals is available here. Overdrive Listen and most versions of the Libby app gives users the ability to make notes and highlights, use a bookmark, set a sleep timer and vary playback speed. More information is available here. |
|
Limitations? |
Most audiobooks are loaned to one person at a time, but a small number of e-books are available to an unlimited number of users and are purchased only for course reserves and campus book talks and clubs. If the audiobook you are interested in is not available but in the library's OverDrive collection, you will be placed on a waitlist for the next available copy and notified when it is available for download. You may hold up to five books at a time. When the loan period ends, the audiobook becomes available. |
|
What should I expect when my loan period ends? |
Click here for information about returning your audiobook or what to expect when your loan ends. |
|
How do I request an audiobook that the library does not own? |
While searching the library's OverDrive collection in Libby, you will come across titles that have not been purchased and are not accessible. If you are interested in one of these titles, select the Notify Me button which will send an alert to the library. If the library purchases the title, you will be notified and have the option to borrow or place a hold. Click here for more Information about Notify Me tags. You may also request titles available on OverDrive by submitting the Purchase Request Form. |
|
More info |
Getting started with OverDrive |
@YALELIBRARY
© 2022 Yale University Library • All Rights Reserved