Yale University Library Research Guides: Egyptology Reading Room: Reference Works

Reference Works

List of So-Called Reference Books, Arranged Along Subjects

Listed in the same order as shelved. Caution: Folios are stored at the lowest level!

I. Lexica, Encyclopedia, Bibliographies, Handbooks [marked with blue dots]

Arnold, D: The encyclopaedia of Ancient Egyptian architecture, London 2003	Egyptology NA215 A7513 2003 (LC)
Baines, J., Malek, J.: Cultural atlas of Ancient Egypt, New York 2000	Egyptology DT60 .B34X 2000+ Oversize
Germer, R.: Handbuch der altaegyptischen Heilpflanzen, Philippika 21, Wiesbaden 2008	Egyptology QK99 E3 H36X 2008
HdO I, 14 (1-2): Decker, W.: Bildatlas zum Sport im alten Aegypten: Corpus der bildlichen Quellen zu Leibesuebungen, Spiel, Jagd, Tanz und verwandten Themen, Vols. 1-2, Leiden 1994	Egyptology GV573 D4X 1994 (LC)+ Oversize
HdO I, 31: Toeroek, L.: The kingdom of Kush : handbook of the Napatan-Meroitic civilization, Leiden 1997	Egyptology DT159.6.N83 T62X 1998
HdO I, 36 (1-2): Westendorf, W.: Handbuch der altaegyptischen Medizin, Vols. 1-2, Leiden 1999	Egyptology R137 H36 1999 (LC)
HdO I, 83: Hornung, E., Krauss, R., Warburton, D.A.: Ancient Egyptian chronology, Leiden 2006	Egyptology DT83 .A6564X 2006
Lexikon der Aegyptologie, ed. by Helck, W., Westendorf, W., Vols. 1-7, Wiesbaden 1972-1992	Egyptology PJ1031 H45+ Oversize
Neret, G.: Description de l'Egypte, Koeln 1997	On order
Porter, B., Moss, R.: Topographical bibliography of ancient Egyptian hieroglyphic texts, reliefs, and paintings, Vols. 1-8, Oxford 1927-	Egyptology ● Vols. 1-7: Xf721 +927 ● Vols. 7-8 (1-3+cont.): Z7064 P85X 1978 (LC) Oversize
Porter, B., Moss, R.: Topographical bibliography of ancient Egyptian hieroglyphic texts, reliefs, and paintings (2^nd ed.), Vols. 1-3, Oxford 1960-	Egyptology Xf721 +927B
Vandier, J.: Manuel d'archéologie égyptienne, Vols. 1-6, Paris 1952-1978	Egyptology DT60 V35
Wightman, G.J.: Sacred spaces: religious architecture in the ancient world, Leuven 2007	Egyptology NA4620 .W54X 2007 (LC) Oversize
Wodzinska, A.: A Manual of Egyptian Pottery, Vols. 1-4, Boston 2009	Egyptology NK3810 W64 2009 v.1 + v.2 (LC)
Wreszinski, W.: Atlas zur altaegyptischen Kulturgeschichte, Vols. 1-3, Leipzig 1923-1936	Egyptology BBg7 30

II. Philology (Divided into 1. Dictionaries, 2. Handbooks, 3. Grammars, 4. Text Editions) [marked with red dots]

1. Dictionaries
Erichsen, W., Demotisches Glossar, Kopenhagen 1954	Egyptology Fkd88 +Er43
Erman, A., Grapow, H.: Woerterbuch der aegyptischen Sprache, Vols. 1-7, Leipzig 1926-1963	Egyptology ● Vols. 1-5: Fkd88 +Er56 ● Vols. 6-7: PJ1430 E74A+ Oversize
Erman, A., Grapow, H.: Woerterbuch der aegyptischen Sprache, Belegstellen, Vols. 1-5, Leipzig 1926-1963	Egyptology PJ1430 E74A+ Oversize
Faulkner, R.O.: A concise dictionary of Middle Egyptian, Oxford 1972	Egyptology PJ1425 F38 1972
Gauthier, H.: Dictionnaire des noms géographiques contenu dans les textes hieroglyphiques, Le Caire 1925-31	Egyptology PJ1435 G38+ Oversize
Hannig, R.: Grosses Handwoerterbuch Aegyptisch- Deutsch (2800-950 v. Chr.): die Sprache der Pharaonen (4. verb. Auflage, Marburger Edition), Hannig-Lexica 1, Mainz 2006	Egyptology PJ1430 H26 2006
Hannig, R.: Grosses Handwoerterbuch Deutsch-Aegyptisch (2800-950 v. Chr.): die Sprache der Pharaonen, Mainz 2000	Egyptology PJ1430 H36 2000
Hannig, R.: Aegyptisches Woerterbuch, Vols. 1-2 (1-2), Hannig-Lexica 4-5, Mainz 2003-2006	Egyptology PJ1430 H355 2003
Hannig, R.: Wortschatz der Pharaonen in Sachgruppen, Hannig-Lexica 2, Mainz 1999	Egyptology PJ1097 H43 1999
Kahl, J.: Fruehaegyptisches Woerterbuch, Vols. 1-3, Wiesbaden 2002-2004	Egyptology PJ1430 K34X 2002+ Oversize
Lesko, L.H.: A Dictionary of late Egyptian, Vols. 1-2 (2^nd ed.), Providence 2002-2004	Egyptology PJ1425 D53X 2002+ Oversize
Meeks, D.: Année lexicographique (2^nded.), Vols. 1-3, Paris 1998	Egyptology PJ1521 M44 1998

2. Handbooks
Goedicke, H.: Old hieratic paleography, Baltimore 1988	Egyptology Folio P 304 (LC)
Hoch, J.E.: Semitic words in Egyptian texts of the New Kingdom and Third Intermediate Period, Princeton 1994	Egyptology PJ1355 S4 H63X 1994
Lueddeckens, E., Thissen, K.-H., Brunsch, W.: Demotisches Namenbuch, Vol. 1 (1-3), Wiesbaden 2000	Egyptology PJ1107 D45+ Oversize
Moeller, G.: Hieratische Palaeographie, Vols. 1-4 (Neudruck), Osnabrueck 1965	Egyptology PJ1105 M7 1965+ Oversize
Ranke, H.: Die aegyptischen Personennamen, Vols. 1-3, Glueckstadt 1933	Egyptology PJ1351 R3+ Oversize

3. Grammars
Allen, J.P.: The inflection of the verb in the Pyramid texts, Malibu 1984	Egyptology PJ1181 A445 1984+ Oversize
Cerny, J., Groll, S.: A late Egyptian grammar, Rom 1975	Egyptology PJ1135 C34+ Oversize
Edel, E.: Altaegyptische Grammatik, Vols. 1-2, Rom 1955-64	Egyptology Fd15 +An14 34/39
Erman, A.: Neuaegyptische Grammatik (2. Auflage), Leipzig 1933	Egyptology Fkd51 +Er562
Frandsen, P.J.: An outline of the late Egyptian verbal system, Copenhagen 1974	Egyptology PJ1181 F7 1974+ Oversize
Freeman, G.E.: Neuaegyptische Grammatik [by] Ad. Erman: catalogue of references, Toronto 1973	Egyptology DT57 S63 11+ Oversize
Gardiner, A.H.: Egyptian grammar; being an introduction to the study of hieroglyphs (3^rd rev.ed.), London 1969	Egyptology PJ1650 G37 1969
Groll, S.I.: Non-verbal sentence patterns in Late Egyptian, London 1967	Egyptology PJ1201 I87 1967 (LC)+ Oversize
Groll, S.I.: The negative verbal system of Late Egyptian, London 1970	Egyptology PJ1181 I87+ Oversize
Gundlach, R.: Register der Zitate zu E. Edel, Altaegyptische Grammatik, Rom 1967	Egyptology PJ1135 G863 1967 Oversize
Junge, F.: Late Egyptian grammar: an introduction, Oxford 2001	Egyptology PJ1135 .J8613 2001
Junge, F.: Neuaegyptisch. Einfuehrung in die Grammatik (3^rd rev. ed.), Wiesbaden 2008	Egyptology PJ1135 .J86 2008
Kurth, D.: Einführung ins Ptolemäische, Teil 1-2: eine Grammatik mit Zeichenliste und Übungsstücken, Huetzel 2007	Egyptology PJ1526.I33 K978 2008 Oversize
Loprieno, A.: Ancient Egyptian: a linguistic introduction, Cambridge 1995	Egyptology PJ1111 L66X 1995
Ockinga, B.: A concise grammar of Middle Egyptian: an outline of Middle Egyptian grammar (2^nd, rev. ed.), Mainz 2005	Egyptology PJ1135 .O25X 2005
Polotsky, H.J.: Collected papers, Jerusalem 1971	Egyptology PJ1027 P65 1971
Schenkel, W.: Tuebinger Einfuehrung in die klassisch-aegyptische Sprache und Schrift, Tuebingen 2005	Egyptology PJ1135 .S34 2005

4. Texts Editions
Allen, J.P.: The ancient Egyptian pyramid texts, Leiden 2005	Egyptology BL2430 .P97X13 2005 (LC)
Gardiner, A.H.: Ramesside administrative documents, London 1948	Egyptology Fke55 +G16
Gardiner, A.H.: Ancient Egyptian onomastica, 3 vols., London 1947	Egyptology ● Vols. 1-2: Fke25 G16 ● Vol. 3 (plates): Fke25 +G16a
Gardiner, A.H.: The Wilbour papyrus, vols. 1-4, London 1941-52	Egyptology ● Vol. 1 (plates): FFke62 W64 ● Vols. 2-4: Fke62 +W64
Goyon, J.-Cl.: Confirmation du pouvoir royal au nouvel an (Brooklyn Museum 47.218.50), Wilbour Monographs 7, Brooklyn 1974	Egyptology Folio PJ1775 B76 1974
Kitchen, K.A.: Ramesside inscriptions: historical and biographical, Vols.1-8, Oxford 1976-1990	Egyptology PJ1501 K58+ Oversize
Kitchen, K.A.: Ramesside inscriptions: Translated and annotated. Translations, Vols. 1-5, Oxford 1993-	Egyptology PJ1981 R36 1993+ Oversize
Kitchen, K.A.: Ramesside inscriptions: Translated and annotated. Notes and comments, Vols. 1-2, Cambridge 1994-	Egyptology PJ1981 R362 1994+ Oversize
Lichtheim, M.: Ancient Egyptian literature; a book of readings, Vols. 1-3, Berkeley 1973	Egyptology PJ1943 L52
Murnane, W.: Texts from the Amarna period in Egypt, Atlanta 1995	Egyptology DT87.4 M87X 1995
Sethe, K.: Die altaegyptischen Pyramidentexte, Vols. 1-4, Leipzig 1908-1922 (3^rd reprint 2001)	Egyptology ● Vol. 1: BL2430 P97 2001 (LC) Oversize ● Vols. 2-4: Fke35 +1908
Sethe, K.: Uebersetzung und Kommentar zu den altaegyptischen Pyramidentexten, Vols. 1-6, Glueckstadt 1935-1962	Egyptology Fke35 +N1935
Wente, E.F.: Letters from ancient Egypt, Atlanta 1990	Egyptology PJ1947 L47 1990

III. Archaeology, Architecture, History, Cultural History [marked with yellow dots]

Arnold, Dieter: Die Tempel Aegyptens: Goetterwohnungen, Kultstaetten, Baudenkmaeler, Zuerich 1992	Egyptology DT68.8 A766 1992+ Oversize
Arnold, Dieter: Temples of the last pharaohs	Egyptology NA215 A75X 1999 (LC)+ Oversize
Bard, K.A.: An introduction to the archaeology of Ancient Egypt, 2008	Egyptology DT60 B373X 2008
Edel, E.: Die Felsgraebernekropole der Qubbet el-Hawa bei Assuan, vols. 1-4; aus dem Nachlass verfasst und herausgegeben von Karl-J. Seyfried und Gerd Vieler, Paderborn 2008	Egyptology DT73.Q72 E34 2008 Oversize
Gratien, B.: Les cultures Kerma: essai de classification, Villeneuve-d'Ascq 1978	Egyptology DT 159.9 K37 G73
Hayes, W.C.: The scepter of Egypt, Vols. 1-2 (5^th reprint), New York 1990	Egyptology DT59 H39 1990 (LC)
Helck, W.: Materialien zur Wirtschaftsgeschichte des Neuen Reiches, Vols. 1-6, Wiesbaden 1961-1969	Egyptology A32 Ak46B 1960, 1963, 1964, 1969
Helck, W.: Materialien zur Wirtschaftsgeschichte des Neuen Reiches, Indices, Wiesbaden 1970	Egyptology A32 Ak46B 1969:13
Helck, W., Drenkhahn, R.: Die Beziehungen Aegyptens und Vorderasiens zur Aegaeis bis ins 7. Jh. v. Chr. (2^nd rev. ed.), Darmstadt 1995	Egyptology DF251 H44 1995
Hoffman, M.: Egypt before the pharaohs: the prehistoric foundations of Egyptian civilization, New York 1979	Egyptology GN865 E3 H63 1979 (LC)
Kemp, B.: Ancient Egypt: anatomy of a civilization, London 1989	Egyptology DT61 K44 1988
Lehner, M.: Complete pyramids, New York 1997	Egyptology DT63 L44 1997+ Oversize
Midant-Reynes, B.: The prehistory of Egypt from the first Egyptians to the first pharaohs, Oxford 2000	Egyptology GN865 E3 M53X13 2000 (LC)
Reeves, C.N.: Valley of the Kings: the decline of a royal necropolis, London 1990	Egyptology DT73 B44 R44 1990
Reeves, C.N.: The complete Tutankhamun: the king, the tomb, the royal treasure, London 1990	Egyptology DT87.5 R44 1990 (LC)
Shafer, B.E.: Temples of ancient Egypt, Ithaca 1997	Egyptology BL2450 T43 T47X 1997 (LC)
Wendorf, F., The prehistory of Nubia, Vols. 1-2 + Atlas, Dallas 1968	Egyptology DT135 N8 C65 1-3 Ov.
Wilkinson, R.H.: The complete temples of ancient Egypt, New York 2000	Egyptology DT68.8 W55X 2000+ Oversize

IV. Religion [marked with green dots]

Assmann, Jan: Aegyptische Hymnen und Gebete (2^nd ed.), Freiburg Schweiz 1999	Egyptology PJ1565 A34 1999 (LC)
Assmann, Jan: The search for God in ancient Egypt, Ithaca 2001	Egyptology BL2441.2cA87X13 2001 (LC)
Assmann, Jan: Egyptian solar religion in the New Kingdom: Re, Amun and the crisis of polytheism, London 1995	Egyptology BL2443 A87X13 1995 (LC)
Assmann, Jan: Ma'at: Gerechtigkeit und Unsterblichkeit im alten Aegypten, Muenchen 1990	Egyptology BL2443 A85X 1990 (LC)
Bonnet, Hans: Reallexikon der aegyptischen Religionsgeschichte, Berlin 1952	Egyptology Mbw14 B64
Faulkner, R.O.: The ancient Egyptian coffin texts: spells 1-1185 & indexes, Oxford 2004	Egyptology PJ1554 A1 2004
Faulkner, R.O.: The ancient Egyptian Book of the Dead, London 1985	Egyptology PJ1555 E5 F38 1985+ Oversize
Hornung, E.: The ancient Egyptian books of the afterlife, Ithaca 1999	Egyptology PJ1551 H67 1999
Hornung, E.: Aeyptische Unterweltsbuecher, Zuerich 1972	Egyptology BL2450 I5 H6 (LC)
Hornung, E., Abt, T.: The Egyptian Amduat: the book of the hidden chamber / translated by David Warburton, Zuerich 2007	Egyptology PJ1558 .A1 2007
Hornung, E.: Das Totenbuch der Aegypter, Duesseldorf 1997	Egyptology PJ1555 G4 H67 2004
Hornung, E.: Conceptions of God in ancient Egypt: the one and the many, London 1983	Egyptology BL2450 G6 H6713 1983 (LC)

V. Coptology [marked with orange dots]

Atiya, A.S.: The Coptic encyclopedia, Vols. 1-8, New York 1991	Egyptology BX130.5 C66X 1991 (LC)+ Oversize
Bock de, W.: Matériaux pour servir à l'archéologie de l'Égypte chrétienne, St. Petersburg 1901	Preliminary copy without call number in ERR!
Brune, K.-H., Index zu Das christlich-koptische Aegypten in arabischer Zeit (Stefan Timm), TAVO Reihe B, 41/7, Wiesbaden 2007	Egyptology DT72 C7 T56 2007 Index
Cerny, J.: Coptic etymological dictionary, Cambridge 1976	Egyptology PJ2163 C4 (LC)
Clarke, Somers: Christian Antiquities in the Nile Valley: A contribution towards the study of the ancient churches, Oxford 1912	Egyptology NA6082 C53 1912A (LC) Oversize
Crum, W.E.: A Coptic dictionary, Oxford 1939	Egyptology PJ2181 C78+ Oversize
Grossmann, P.: Christliche Architektur in Aegypten, HdO, Abt. 1, Bd. 62, Leiden 2002	Egyptology NA6082 G759X 2002 (LC)
Kasser, R.: Compléments au dictionnaire copte de Crum, Le Caire 1964	Egyptology PJ2181 C78 K37 1964+ Oversize
Layton, B.: Coptic Grammar with Chrestomathy and Glossary, Sahidic Dialect. (2nd ed), Wiesbaden 2004	Egyptology PJ2033 L39X 2004
Mallon, A.: Grammaire copte; bibliographie, chrestomathie et vocabulaire, 4 ed., Beyrouth 1956	Egyptology Fkk32 M29 1956
Polotsky, H.J.: Grundlagen des koptischen Satzbaus, Decatur 1987-1990	Egyptology PJ2113 P63 1987
Shisha-Halevy, A.: Coptic grammatical categories, Rom 1986	Egyptology PJ25 A65 53+ Oversize
Shisha-Halevy, A.: Topics in Coptic syntax: structural studies in the Bohairic dialect, Dudley 2007	Egyptology PJ2117 .S57X 2007
Stern, L.C.: Koptische Grammatik, Osnabrueck 1971	Egyptology PJ2033 S74 1971
Timm, S.: Das christlich-koptische Aegypten in arabischer Zeit: eine Sammlung christlicher Staetten in Aegypten in arabischer Zeit, TAVO Reihe B, 41 (1-6), Wiesbaden 1984-1992	Egyptology DT72 C7 T56 1984 (LC)
Vycichl, W.: Dictionnaire étymologique de la langue copte, Leuven 1984	Egyptology PJ2163 V93 1984+ Oversize
Walters, C.C.: Monastic archaeology in Egypt, Warminster 1974	Egyptology NA6081 W34 (LC)
Westendorf, W.: Koptisches Handwoerterbuch, Heidelberg 1965-1977	Egyptology Fkk60 W523

Egyptology Reading Room: Reference Works

Reference Works

Site Navigation

Yale's Libraries