This is the "Archival Collections Housed at Yale" page of the "National Security, Espionage, and Intelligence in American History" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Guides Home

National Security, Espionage, and Intelligence in American History   Tags: cia, espionage, fbi, intelligence, national security, spy, spying  

Last Updated: Oct 20, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.yale.edu/espionage Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Archival Collections Housed at Yale Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Secretaries of State and State Dept.

Cyrus R. and Grace Sloane Vance Papers (MS 1664) [Manuscripts and Archives, Sterling Memorial Library]

  • The Vance papers primarily document Cyrus R. Vance's professional and personal activities. Of particular significance are background materials, correspondence, position papers, and handwritten meeting notes relating to SALT II negotiation between the United States and the Soviet Union; the Camp David Summit and the signing of the Middle East Peace Treaty; diplomatic relations with the Far East, especially China; and negotiations to release the American hostages in Iran. Proposals, reports, handwritten notes, and correspondence provide insight into the dispute between Greece and Turkey over Cyprus in 1967, federal recovery assistance to Detroit after the riot of 1967, and the Paris Peace Talks on Vietnam in 1968. Governmental statements and commentaries, draft bills, and Senate committee background materials from 1958 document Vance's involvement in the creation of the National Aeronautics and Space Agency (NASA).

Dean Gooderham Acheson Papers (MS 1087) [Manuscripts and Archives, Sterling Memorial Library]

  • Correspondence, writings, speeches, memoranda, and photographs, documenting Dean Acheson's life after leaving the U.S. State Department in 1953. Also documented is his work as a member of the Yale Corporation and his long friendship with Felix Frankfurter, Archibald MacLeish, and others. The correspondence and memoranda contain Acheson's views on many contemporary issues in American foreign policy such as Korea, the Middle East, NATO, Germany, the war in Vietnam, and Rhodesia and South Africa. The papers also include Acheson's later reflections on his years in public life and assessments of the U.S. government under the Kennedy, Johnson, and Nixon administrations. Acheson's numerous correspondents include personal friends, American and foreign government officials, journalists, and a wide range of other persons in public life.
 

International Intelligence Services

Ralph Heyward Isham Papers (MS 1455) [Manuscripts and Archives, Sterling Memorial Library]

  • Correspondence, topical files, business and financial documents, photographs, and printed material which document Ralph Heyward Isham's British army intelligence service (primarily 1917-1920) and his collecting and publishing of the James Boswell Papers.

Marshall Bond Papers (WA MSS S-2358) [Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library]

  • The  papers document the life, work, and adventures of Marshall Bond between 1897 and 1935, and also include a few papers of his father, Hiram G. Bond, and his son, Marshall Bond, Jr. Bond's Klondike experience is well documented by his diary from 1897-98, letters to his family, draft chapters of a memoir about his experiences, and photographs. The bulk of the collection is correspondence, which includes Bond's letters to his family from the Klondike, from Goldfield, Nevada in 1904, from Mexican villages under attack by Pancho Villa in 1918, and from hunting trips in Alaska in 1911 and Africa in 1927. It also includes his incoming and outgoing correspondence with business associates and friends, which documents mining ventures and other matters, including a plan to settle Boer refugees in Mexico. Bond's letters to Herbert H. White report intelligence about Germans in the American Southwest during World War I.
 

Espionage

Donald C. Downes Papers (MS 1453) [Manuscripts and Archives, Sterling Memorial Library]

  • Correspondence, topical files, personal papers, and manuscripts which document the life of Donald Chase Downes during the early war years and after World War II. The papers highlight Downes's literary work and his research on the case of German General Anton Dostler. Also included in the papers is a copy of Peter Tompkins's journal of his life as a spy in Rome between 1942 and 1944.

Tyler Gatewood Kent Papers (MS 310) [Manuscripts and Archives, Sterling Memorial Library]

  • Tyler Kent, a code clerk at the American embassy in London, was tried in 1940 by the British government for violation of the Official Secrets Act. The papers, assembled by Charles Parsons, include correspondence, a transcript of the British trial, newspaper clippings, photographs, notes, legal papers related to Kent v. United States and printed matter.

FBI Material

  • John R. Williams Papers (MS 1398)
    The papers consist of photocopies of correspondence, memoranda, clippings, printed material, transcripts of telephone conversations, and other declassified material from the national headquarters and New Haven, Connecticut office of the Federal Bureau of Investigation, pertaining to the New Haven Chapter of the Black Panther Party. The papers document the investigation of the 1969 murder of Alex Rackley, the subsequent arrests of Bobby Seale and other party members, the surveillance of various demonstrations and protests, particularly those relating to May Day, 1970, and the 1971 trials of Seale and Erika Huggins.
  • Frank J. Donner Papers (MS 1706)
    Frank Donner was a lawyer, journalist, historian, and civil libertarian who was best known for his research and writings on government surveillance and the use of informers. Donner began his legal career as a staff attorney for the National Labor Relations Board (1940-1943) and went on to serve as counsel for the Congress of Industrial Organizations and the United Steelworkers of America, before going into private practice in 1947. Donner's firms specialized in defending targets of government investigations, serving as counsel for many defendants in front of the House Committee on Un-American Activities. In the 1950s, Donner became an author, publishing articles on the use of informers and violations of civil liberties. He published three books in his career, The Un-Americans (1961), The Age of Surveillance (1980), and Protectors of Privilege (1990).
 

Office of Strategic Services/Central Intelligence Agency

Sherman Kent Papers (MS 854) [Manuscripts and Archives, Sterling Memorial Library]

  • Correspondence, writings, research notes, teaching materials, clippings and other printed material, photographs, and memorabilia which document the personal life and professional career of Sherman Kent. The papers highlight Kent's student years and teaching career at Yale and his lifelong research in French history. In 1941 Kent joined the U.S. Office of Strategic Services as chief of the African section and from 1943-1945 served as chief of the Europe-Africa division. In 1946 Kent was acting director of the Office of Research and Intelligence for the United States Department of State. He joined the Central Intelligence Agency in 1950 and served as the director of the Office of National Estimates from 1958 until his retirement in 1967. Kent's career in intelligence is also represented in these papers, though they contain no official records from the O.S.S. or the C.I.A.

Robin William Winks Papers (MS 336) [Manuscripts and Archives, Sterling Memorial Library]

  • Correspondence, subject files, writings,and audiotapes documenting the personal life and professional career of Robin William Winks. Much of this collection is unprocessed, so could be challenging to use. The materials of greatest interest on the topic of espionage and intelligence are likely those relating to research for Winks' book Cloak and Gown: Scholars in the Secret War, 1939-1961 (Morrow, 1987), which are in Accession 2004-M-060, Boxes 15-23.

Walter L. Pforzheimer Papers (GEN MSS 817) [General Collection, Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library]

  • Personal correspondence, diaries, writings, notes, and family papers; correspondence, reports, and other documents relating to the United States Army during World War II, the Central Intelligence Agency, the CIA's Historical Intelligence Collection, and the United States Defense Intelligence College; historical manuscripts and related materials collected by Pforzheimer concerning the history of military intelligence, including autograph documents, signed, by European heads of state and American presidents, seventeenth-twentieth centuries; prints, posters, and newspapers, including rare seventeenth-twentieth century items relating to Molière and other subjects; framed oil paintings and prints; book collecting notes, lists, vendor receipts, and card catalogs; rare postage stamps, including propaganda and forgeries; photographs, glass and film negatives, glass stereographs, and photograph albums; video and audio recordings, including interviews with Pforzheimer and presentations by him; microfilms; computer disks; and objects collected by Pforzheimer,including Molière medals, military decorations, and memorabilia relating to his intelligence career.

H. F. Broch de Rothermann Papers (YCGL MSS 2) [Yale Collection of German Literature, Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library]

  • Correspondence documenting the life and career of the Austrian writer Hermann Broch, the father of Hermann Friedrich Broch de Rothermann.The collection spans the years 1916 to circa 2001, with the bulk of the material falling between 1953 and 1986. Major topics include republication of Hermann Broch's writings, Broch scholarship, and other aspects of the reception history of Broch's works. Also present are materials relating to Broch de Rothermann's work in the United States Office of Strategic Services (OSS) during World War II, writings and drawings by Broch deRothermann, and other papers relating to him. Papers relating to the OSS include reports on the development and effectiveness of propaganda, American support for resistance in areas occupied by Germany, American occupation of Italy and Germany, and interrogation of German soldiers and other prisoners by the American army; samples of military and civilian propaganda in German, Italian, French, Russian, and other languages; correspondence and documents about Broch de Rothermann’s service, discharge, and return to the United States after the war; and a photograph of unidentified soldiers, possibly including Broch de Rothermann.Propaganda samples include drawings made by artist Saul Steinberg.

Harvey Seymour Sussman Papers (MS 1457) [Manuscripts and Archives, Sterling Memorial Library]

  • Harvey Sussman served with the Office of Strategic Services in Washington, D.C., London, Burma, Ceylon, and Southeast Asia from 1944 to 1945. Sussman was a member of the Army Specialized Training Program ASTP at Yale University from 1943 to 1944 and studied the Malayan language. Correspondence, memorabilia, and photographs document his year as a member of the ASTP and his service as a member of the Office of Strategic Services. The papers also include material for the ASTP reunion at Yale in 1990 and a 1995 diary of a return visit to Burma.

Myers Family Papers (YCAL MSS 27) [Yale Collection of American Literature, Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library]

  • Correspondence with family, friends, and acquaintances, plus a variety of personal papers,including obituaries, letters of sympathy, diaries, and scrapbooks documenting the lives of Richard E. and Alice Lee Myers and their children. Prominent correspondents include Stephen Vincent Benét, Nadia Boulanger, Grace Flandrau, John Gielgud, Charlotte Kett, Archibald MacLeish, and Gerald Murphy. Correspondence from 1941-1945 concerns World War II. Letters from son Dicky while he was in training with the R.A.F. in Bermuda, England, and Canada; letters from Richard while he was with the OSS in London; letters from daughter Fanny while she was serving in the Office of War Information in London and Paris; and letters from Alice Lee in the States give detailed accounts, from a variety of perspectives, of the War and its effects on American and European life.

Raymond Kennedy Papers (MS 1046) [Manuscripts and Archives, Sterling Memorial Library]

  • Writings, maps, photographs, field trip notes, and other research materials documenting Kennedy's work in Southeast Asia, particularly in Indonesia. Among the writings, some of which are in Dutch and Indonesian, are articles and speeches by Kennedy, memoranda written for the U.S. State Department, and writings by others about Southeast Asia. The collection also includes notes and drafts for Kennedy's unpublished four-volume work, Peoples and Cultures of Indonesia, and notes, photographs, recordings, and maps from the Indonesian field trip during which he was killed. Finally, teaching materials from Kennedy's work with the Staff Officers School for Strategic Studies during the Second World War and from other schools are included.

Yale in World War II Collection (MS 1212) [Manuscripts and Archives, Sterling Memorial Library]

  • Collection assembled from a variety of sources includes printed matter, reports, correspondence, memoranda, radio scripts, memorabilia, scrapbooks and clippings documenting some of the activities at Yale University and of the individual colleges during World War II. Letters from Yale men in the services, both in the United States and abroad, to officials of the university make up a substantial part of the collection. Also included in Series I are correspondence and financial documents of the "Yale Library Project," a military intelligence operation secretly funded by the U.S. Office of Strategic Services which used Joseph T. Curtiss, a professor of English at Yale, as its agent.

Richard Ruggles Papers (MS 1871) [Manuscripts and Archives, Sterling Memorial Library]

  • Papers and reports of Richard Ruggles regarding an invention called the Yale Rapid Selector and his work as an economist for the Office of Strategic Services during World War II, analyzing serial numbers of Nazi tanks and tires in order to estimate German tank production.

Robert P. Joyce Papers (MS 1901) [Manuscripts and Archives, Sterling Memorial Library]

  • Memoirs and related writings documenting Joyce's personal life, as well as his career in the United States Foreign Service and the Office of Strategic Services. There is a minimal amount of correspondence with Max Hayward, authority on Russian literature, and Paul Nitze, expert on United States foreign policy.

David Andrew Hunter Papers (MS 1486) [Manuscripts and Archives, Sterling Memorial Library]

  • Correspondence, topical files and photographs. As an Intelligence Officer in the Office of Strategic Services, Hunter served in Burma, India, China and Thailand. Hunter received an honorable discharge on April 6, 1946, and returned to New Orleans. Thereafter, he became ill with dysentery and malaria. Correspondence and topical files document David Hunter's attempts to prove that his post-war illnesses were service-related and to gain compensation. The photographs are of the Far East during World War II.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip