Curator
The Curator of the Latin American Collection is responsible for planning and carrying out the effective development of Yale's collection of Latin American materials. The Curator selects and acquires materials in various formats chiefly in the social sciences and the humanities, published in Mexico, Central and South America and the Caribbean. In addition to assisting in the management and preservation of the collection, the curator also provides advance reference services to students and faculty, assists in the use of information sources including printed and online materials, and provides orientation and bibliographic instruction.
To suggest additional library materials appropriate for the collection, contact the Curator of the Latin American Collection, César Rodríguez. Other library selectors also collect materials in support of Latin American studies published in countries outside of Latin America. To suggest these materials, please check the Subject Specialists directory for the appropriate subject specialist and fill out the online book request form .
Introduction
- The Latin American Collection of the Yale University Library is one of the largest collections of its kind in the United States, containing a wealth of research material and offering a variety of research opportunities for Latin American studies. Scholars, researchers, and students specializing in Latin American studies have extensive resources available to them for academic research and discovery. The collection comprises approximately 512,000 printed volumes, including monographs, serials, newspapers, and government documents, and is growing at a rate of 10,000 volumes a year.It has subscriptions to more than 3,500 Latin American periodicals and monographic series. In addition to printed matter, the collection is rich in manuscript material for the study of Latin American history, offering research opportunities unavailable elsewhere. It also contains a newspaper microfilm collection of 14,000 reels, as well as such non-book materials as photographs, documentary film, sound recordings, and maps.
Although Yale's concentration of Latin American research material is housed in Sterling Memorial Library, sizeable Latin American holdings are also found in the Economic Growth Center Collection, and the Divinity, Law, Social Science and Beinecke Libraries. Latin American materials are also found in the Music, Art, Medical and Kline Science Libraries and the Peabody Museum.The Economic Growth Center Collection is unique among collections of its kind in the United States.The collection contains extensive holdings of statistical publications issued by government agencies, private institutions and central banks from every country in Latin America.
Subject Guide |
Links: Profile & Guides Subjects: Latin America |


Loading...
