Skip to main content
Banner Image

Faculty Guide to the Yale University Library: Home

Database/Resource of the Month

Hathi Trust: 13 million+ fully digitized books, from the collections of Yale, Harvard, Columbia, the University of California system, the University of Michigan, the New York Public Library and many others.

Library services and collections for faculty

This guide will serve as an introduction to the Yale University Library system for faculty. It includes an overview of services for you and your students, major collections, staff contacts and research tools.  We welcome your feedback; please contact us at AskYale.

Using objects in teaching

Two professors examine the oldest known peace treaty in the world, a 4000-year old clay document shaped like a football, from the Yale Library's Babylonian CollectionImage from Manuscripts & Archives, Yale University.

The Yale University Library

The Yale University Library system consists of 15 separate collections, which together house 15 million print volumes as well as world-class archival and manuscript collections, papyri, photographs, data, maps, musical scores, video and audio collections and ephemera. Our mission is to support and enhance research, teaching and learning at Yale and for the worldwide scholarly community through our expertise, collections, facilities and services.

Service to the Yale community is our top priority, and forms the core of the Library's guiding principles.  Every staff member is ambassador for the Library and, by extension, for the University. We look forward to working with you.

You can discover more about the Library, its collections, services and staff on our website.

Connect with us

The Yale University Library, including many of its constituent libraries, makes extensive use of social media to communicate with our users.  Through our Facebook page, our Twitter feed and other channels we announce new services and programs, upcoming events and other timely reminders throughout the year. You can also sign up for the Library's email newsletter.

Many individual libraries, such as the Bass, Beinecke, CSSSI, Lewis Walpole, Medical, and Music Libraries, have their own social channels. Check the website of your favorite libraries for more details